We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city break location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #45 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We enjoyed our two night stay at the Menzies. The hotel was undergoing some refurbishment, but this caused no disruption and staff were quick to alert us to the work on arrival. A new carpet with a really deep pile was fitted on our floor during our stay. The hotel was very clean throughout and the staff were on the whole very friendly and helpful. One receptionist in particular was exceptionally good - nothing was too much trouble, she remembered our room number (and us) and made us feel valued. The restaurant staff could probably learn a thing or two about customer service from the reception team, as they were less friendly but they were efficient so couldn't really complain. The leisure club is a great facilty, nice to have a swim after a day working at the SECC. The food in the restaurant was good, although the evening menu isn't that inspiring. Overall we had a good stay and wouldn't hesitate to return in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helana3179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,715 - 1,721 of 2,203 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

Absolutely rubbish free wi-fi. Constantly crashing. Was in the process of writing a 15 min review of restaurant and lost everything. Problems with video calling home: screen freezes; lost connection, etc. That aside hotel and facilities really good. Food to a high standard but despite advertising a set menu you have to pay for extras such as veg or potatoes at a cost of £3+ per dish.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipMellor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Sarah

Thank you for taking the time to submit your great review and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback and also thank you for talking to me.

I was however saddened to read that wifi connection via BT Openzone has being problematic and thank you for your assistance in speaking with BT to help us resolve this and be assured that this is not indicative as we discussed our costs to offer this service are substantial and therefore we take this very seriously as with all customer service.

I am also sorry that you did not call down to reception and report it, as I am sure had we being given the opportunity we would have done all we could to resolve this to your total satisfaction

I was pleased to hear you are with us throughout a April and I hope to meet you at some point during your stay.

Thank you again for submitting your great review.

Sincerely

Philip
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The Menzies Hotel has everything you will need when visiting Glasgow. It is very conveniently located, has lovely ensuite rooms, an excellent gym and spa facility and super dining and drinking areas. During our stay (in Apr 12) we found the staff to be incredibly courteous and polite. Would we visit again? Hell yes!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlnLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I loved the swimming pool, jacousie,and spa facilities, so nice to be integral so you dont get cold going back to your room afterwards, and they'd even included a machine to dry your swimming costume which I'd never come across before. I swam three times in the two days! Food was excellant (had a bar snack and two breakfasts).
Room was luxurious and the drink supply topped up with hot choclates as well as tea and coffees. Room was nice and warm despite being cold December, and bathroom all clean and working well. The only negatives I could say was that it was next to the door for the cleaning staff to go through so staff chatter could be heard first thing; and there was a slight damp smell at the room entrance which seemed to linger. I would go back evry time!

Room Tip: cant compare prices as work paid..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel from10 - 15 April 2012. Excellent breakfast, clean and spacy twin room (room 417). All the rooms have free access to Internet (Wifi).
The staff is very efficient, helpfull and friendly. The hotel is close enough to walk to the citycentre and the central train station (8 minutes) and has the perfect distance to make the hotel quiet without the noise of a citycentre. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel, you can take at this stop the regular bus of the public transport or the "hop on hop off" sight seeing bus (a 2-day ticket for the hop on hop off bus costs only 11 Pounds). This is very convienient and makes exploring Glasgow very easy. A taxi from or to the airport will cost you between 20 and 30 Pounds.
We didn't use the spa, swimming pool or sauna of the hotel, but it is all there to please the guests. Filling the bathtub with hot and cold water only takes a few minutes, I have never had this before, such a high pressure on the watertaps!
If there is anything the hotel could improve it would be the menu of the dinner in their restaurant. Eating a dinner in hotel Menzies is pretty expensive and the choice of courses is limited. You always have to take a combination of 2 or 3 courses with a fixed price. An Angus beef brings you to a supplement of 15 Pounds on the price of the 2 or 3 course. The quality of the food is excellent what goes for the staff of the restaurant too.
The breakfastbuffet was as I mentioned excellent, the staff takes care that the food is topped up all the the time and also keeps looking tasty. A large choice of cereals, followed by bacon, poached eggs, sausages, black pudding, mushrooms, beans, tomatoes and pancakes. For those who want a continental breakfast there are rolls or brown/white toast with Chedar cheese, ham and 3 kinds of marmelade/jams. On request they can frie the eggs to your liking. Of course a choice of juices.
The healthy choice offers you fruit and yoghurt.
When you enter the breakfastroom the staff brings you to a table and asks you or you want tea or coffee. This is all well organized and gives you the guarantee of fresh tea and coffee (in a cafetiere, so hot and tasty coffee).
Resuming we were very satisfied about Menzies hotel and can recommend this hotel for both pleasure and business. They are also very child friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing Argyle street because of the traffic noise when you sleep with the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank volvoMalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Apart from the surly receptionist, I couldn't fault this hotel. Good value for money, not bad location, comfy clean room and a decent breakfast spread. Would use again for a trip to Glasgow.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sazzaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have just returned from weekend stay at Menzies. Great stay, hotel clean, easy to get too off 8. Secure car park opposite Hotel for bargain price of £3 each day. Our room was large, clean and well equipped with hairdryer, iron and board, fridge, tv and tea and coffee facilities. Bathroom had the most powerful shower I have ever experienced - fantastic. Bed huge- 2 single beds pushed together but made up as a double with enormous duvet - very comfy. We slept well, the hotel was very quiet and the black out curtains very efficient! The staff were excellent, always helpful, cheerful and polite. We used the pool and gym which were good and also ate twice in the bar area. The food was good and served with a smile. We only ate breakfast one morning and didn't arrive till 9.30a and did find some food was running out, there was no bacon left and the scrambled eggs looked a bit ropey however the haggis was delicious. We couldn't see nay cereal but it may have been there somewhere. Overall we would definitely stay at Menzies again but i think i would just book a room only rate as there are lots of places to eat and the hotel is only a 15 min max walk into town or a fiver in a cab. Highly recommended and well done to excellent staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eviepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
2,021 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,691 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Glasgow Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £64 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms, leisure facilities and on-site parking. The health and leisure club at the Hallmark Hotel Glasgow offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing