We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some highs, some lows”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #47 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Some highs, some lows”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Had high hopes after an absence of two weeks. All problems relating to Internet access resolved on last stay but major problems yesterday. Had extremely slow service for 25 mins and then lost connection all together @ 7.45pm until 8.10 am this morning. Raised matter with reception; had personal visit from duty manager @ 8pm who advised this happened regularly on a Monday (the day they change their password). He said he would ring Internet team and I would be kept updated; last I heard.
Whilst the hotel has many things that puts it top of my list as a place to stay, as a person who regularly works away reliable Internet access for keeping in touch with friends and family. Even now I can only get a low wifi signal from my room. If I want any thing better I need to go down to reception, where I really don't want people hearing my conversations.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipMellor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for talking to me yesterday and for all your help. I really do appreciate you letting me know the issues that you experienced with your wifi connection, which as we discussed was very frustrating to learn about as we have no reported issues and you yourself even mentioned your colleague stayed on the same floor the last time.

I have being in contact with BT Openzone and I have been assured that they will investigate that particular floor and device to ensure that we do not experience any further issues - once again please accept my apologies for this and be assured we will continue to work with BT to eradicate this issue.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and look forward to returning in September and I do hope that I have opportunity to meet up with you then.

Kind regards

Philip

Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    751
    287
    103
    75
See reviews for
365
890
68
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I have been to the Menzies Hotel in Glasgow four times now this year alone whilst Ive been studying my Diploma.I initially chose the Menzies hotel due to the Health Spa and swimming pool available.
Since my first trip I knew I would be back for my business trips and have even been on 2 family trips aswell.I find the staff very friendly and helpful,they seem to take the busy times in their stride and still provide a professional service.Facilities in this hotel are second to none,Sauna,Spa,Gym,Parking,Swimming Pool the list goes on.Theres good traets for the Ladies in the Spa with various treatments on offer.Food is good and its always nice to have a good choice in the Bar area

Room Tip: I choose the executive rooms as they are great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablobhoy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

Nice size and very clean rooms.breakfast buffet very nice. Light meals available in the evening at the lobby bar. If seeking SPA services, be sure to make advanced reservations. Friendly and hard working staff. The stop for the hop on hop off tour is nearby

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rdi2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2012

As part of a fleeting trip to Glasgow I stayed at the Menzies Glasgow. The hotel was well located to Glasgow Central Station and apart from the weather it is within easy walking distance.

The one minor downside was that the room smelled dusty even though it was very clean. On detailed inspection the heating/cooling system vent above the door looked like it hadn't been cleaned for months. But I stress this was a minor issue

Room Tip: The area where the hotel is situated is very quiet so there doesn't seem to be any issues with r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipMellor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Andrew

Thank you for taking the time to submit your great review and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback.

I was however saddened to read that you room felt musty and that the air-conditioning vent was dusty and could have contributed to this – I have asked my Head Housekeeper to have all the rooms inspected and add the vents to our daily task to ensure this does not re-occur.

I am also sorry that you did not call down to reception and report it, as I am sure had we being given the opportunity we would have done all we could to resolve this to your total satisfaction


Thank you again for submitting your great review.

Sincerely

Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

A well situated hotel with good facilities, however for the second time running the toilet in the room malfunctioned (flush jammed on). Also bar menu is limited and overpriced, otherwise a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody3376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at the hotel and would highly recommend it. I enjoyed the health and fitness facilities especially. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. Will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 5 weeks whilst on business. During this time I only had one problem with free wi-fi but for rest of my stay it was perfect. The staff are extremely helpful and courteous. The food in the restaurant is of a very good standard and the chef has to be commended for the quality and presentation of his food. The rooms are serviced to a high standard and are very large and comfy and although a main road nearby I could not hear any noise. I was there during my birthday and dining alone and the staff made my day by a rendition of happy birthday and a birthday cake. Little touches like that show the attention to detail which is reflected in all aspects of the hotel
One point needing addressing is that every Sunday they did have large groups staying and so the evening meal was not available until 08:00pm although it is advertised in hotel services as 07:00pm

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 95 in Glasgow
1,920 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 95 in Glasgow
3,364 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Property: Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Glasgow Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms, leisure facilities and on-site parking. The health and leisure club at the Hallmark Hotel Glasgow offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing