We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dicey location, dated room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #48 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Laguna Beach, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dicey location, dated room”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This hotel is listed as four stars, but it is in a dicey location -- an industrial area near the river. It did not feel like it would be safe to walk from it to other locations. The rdom I had d was fairly spacious, but the furnishings were rather dated. The desk and dresser was under-sized and not comfortable for sitting at with a laptop. The bathroom was also dated. The public rooms look better.

Room Tip: Try to avoid one with a connecting door. "Sounds" from the adjoining room came through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hung F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipMellor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Hung F,

Thank you for your review, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback in relation to your room. I would advise that the décor and furniture is very traditional and your comments in relation to this look will be rectified in our capital plans.

In relation to your "tip about noise" I will have this room inspected as even through your room was interconnecting we do not normally experience any noise transfers due to the insulation and sound proofing of the adjourning doors. Thank you for pointing this out in your review.

Your comments in relation to the area that the hotel sits in - I would just advise that the area is earmarked for development, but would just say that the industrial look is all part of the charm of our location and you I am sure will have noticed that many other hotel brands are at the same end of the City. Glasgow is a very warm and friendly city and certainly not what you describe in your review.

I do hope you enjoyed your stay in Glasgow and that we may welcome you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    729
    275
    100
    74
See reviews for
355
864
68
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stay here a lot as my home office is quite close by, and it is perfect for me, very close (5 minute walk) to the city centre, it has an excellent restaurant, with a very good breakfast in the morning.
The staff are always friendly & polite, I haven't had a chance to try the pool yet, but will soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy8116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

It was my first time staying here and my partner booked a night away for us here. We are used to staying in the nearby Hilton but we decided on a change this time. The staff are welcoming and pleasant and it was easy to find our room once check in was dealt with. The beds are huge and very comfortable. They are not too soft so sinking into them are avoided - they are firm and just right for us. The room is also very spacious and enough room to laze about without having to sit on your bed. Our room was spotless and everything looked new - not worn carpets and fresh wallpaper. The rooms are very well sound proof as we arrived on a busy weekend but did not hear anyone else.

The hotel is close to the centre and we walked there and back as it was pleasant and we felt safe at night to walk around by the hotel.

The swimming pool is lovely and we got it all to ourselves which was a bonus. The coffee at the bar is lovely too with a nice big cup.

I would stay again and had an brilliant time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJF_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

close to central station, comfortable rooms and beds. very helpful staff. excellent breakfast choices for hot and cold. good sound proofed windows. nice dark curtains. only let down, maid comes really early!
would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 39nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Not cheap - Robbie Williams was performing, students were graduating and 5000 doctors were conferring, so rooms were at a premium - but the twin room was pleasingly spacious, with two double beds and a nice bathroom, in which everything worked! Hurrah. Very quiet, thanks to double-glazing and good, heavy doors. You can't open the window, but you can adjust the air conditioning.

Staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Take your swimming costumes for the spa! We forgot.

The location is a bit lifeless, but you are fifteen minutes' walk from the subway and less from Central Station.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and the one we were given certainly was. So just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We booked a standard room here for one night, the room was very large and so was the bed!
The staff were very friendly and helpful, our tv wasn't working due to a missing start lead one phone call to reception and there was someone there within 5min great service.
Breakfast was excellent lots of choice and very well presented one of the best breakfast we had in a long time. We would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorri1262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#43 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,177 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Property: Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Glasgow Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms, leisure facilities and on-site parking. The health and leisure club at the Hallmark Hotel Glasgow offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing