We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #48 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
tyaside
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Weekend stay”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Having stayed at Menzies in the past and had good service we booked again as we were attending The Good Food Show at the SECC.
I cannot praise this hotel and its staff enough. A smiling friendly welcome. a superb room, excellent dining and a leisure complex complete with pool, sauna, steam room and of course gym if you are that way inclined.
Secure car parking at a very reasonable cost (£4.00 per day)
An excellent self service breakfast and if its not there ask and they will provide.
Roll on our next stay

Room Tip: I have never had a bad or noisy room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    727
    273
    100
    74
See reviews for
353
859
68
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I can't rate this hotel and staff any better. the staff were one of the most helpful group I have had in all my stays t hotels. the rooms were comfortable and clean. The food at dinner, unlike your average hotel food, was absolutely top restaurant standard - just excellent. particular praise must go to Kirsteen, the Reception Manager and Paul Mackie at reception also who went out of their way to be helpful and to exceed our expectations. It made my birthday weekend away very special. I have already booked this hotel for our trip in November. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank innes0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a night and really enjoyed it.
The hotel is easy to find in the centre of Glasgow and there is hotel parking right across from the hotel which is secured.
The staff make u feel very welcome and keep informed on what's going on at the hotel. The hotel is very clean and is nicely decorated. The rooms are very spacious and clean, slightly outdated.
The staff are very attentive, at spa and reception. At breakfast they seem really robotic and uninterested. Breakfast isn't great, it's a buffet but the quality isn't there. Got room service for dinner, and the food is great.
The spa is amazing. Clean and fresh, jacuzzi, steam and spa that you can continue using after check out at no extra charge.
Only 5 minute walk from central station
Worth a visit!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ktdrumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Visited for a one night stay, nice welcome + was well informed about breakfast/parking/ etc. Room was nice nothing to complain about. Furniture maybe outdated. Spent a lovely time at the pool, jacuzzi etc, very relaxing and enjoyable. You are given towels and robes at pool reception so very handy. If you don't want to eat in the hotel the shops/restaurants are a 5 minute walk so therefore can chose from anything you like. Had breakfast in the morning, wasn't great quality of food but edible. Can tell they must use cheap products. Anyway, big selection so had some croissants and fruit etc. Overall decent stay but just wouldn't opt in for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayegadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel last Thursday and Friday 17th & 18th October whilst visiting the Good Food Show. The hotel is very well placed for the Scottish Exhibition Centre and also the Town Centre. Our room (an excecutive) was lovely, spacious and spotlessly clean, very comfy bed and a good size flat screen tv. Nice touches were the complimentary water and soft drinks in the fridge which were replenished daily, something that is not always done. The reception staff are very welcoming and helpful as were all the staff. The only blight on our stay was that on our last evening a bottle in our fridge broke when I opened it and I received a nasty cut, we called the reception and immediately a first aider was sent up but unfortunately it turned out that I needed stitches, the Operations Manager David Cornerford also arrived promptly and immediately called a taxi to take us to the A&E department of the nearest hospital and back. I can only thank Mr Cornerford for his concern and help, our room had also been tidied up and fresh towels left upon our return. The attitude of the hotel and their customer service is excellent and surprisingly not always found even in 4 star hotels these days. It was a pity that we were not able to fully enjoy our last evening but cannot fault our treatment in the circumstances.

Room Tip: We booked an Excecutive room and would highly recommend them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noreen_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goettingen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was by far the worst hotel we have seen so far. We´ve got no idea how they got the 4 stars.
The room was dark, the windows gave the feeling of being in a prison.
The staff was unfriendly and didn´t find our booking. They forgot to tell us that there is a charge for the car park. otherwise we would have parked somewhere else. We also think that a 4 star hotel should offer a free car park.
There was dirty glasses in a lift, no decent signs to actually find the lift so that we had to ask twice.
The breakfast room was in a terrible state with broken light bulbs, a broken cupboard. The staff only filled up things after asking and wasn´t friendly at all. About half of the bowls were dirty.
We have been to lots of hotels but never seen a hotel that was in such a bad state. Don´t go there!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed in Menzies in July on the occasion of our daughter's wedding, and returned there in October for 4 nights. On both occasions we were very happy with the accommodation and service. Our room was big, comfortable and very clean. The staff are friendly and efficient and very happy to deal with any issues that arise - for example, we had a problem with the safe in our room on arrival and it was dealt with speedily by one of the reception staff. One morning there was no hot water, but that turned out to be a boiler problem that was rectified later that morning. The hotel is centrally located - within walking distance of the city centre - and, although quite near to the M8 motorway, we were never aware of any traffic noise. There is a secure car park across the street which costs £4 a night. Some of the paintwork - both external and internal - could do with a refresh, but overall, this is a comfortable hotel offering great service and good value for money, with a homely atmosphere. We didn't get a chance to use the gym or the sauna - maybe next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelfastTraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#43 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,867 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Property: Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Glasgow Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms, leisure facilities and on-site parking. The health and leisure club at the Hallmark Hotel Glasgow offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Lastminute, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing