We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #47 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was the 2nd time I stayed here with my boyfriend. The room was really lovely! Has an excellent time and was sad to leave. Would definitely return here. Nothing is too much trouble for staff. It's also amazingly peaceful and quiet in the rooms! :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floppy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    748
    287
    103
    75
See reviews for
365
887
68
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galloway, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Nothing is any bother in Menzies. We arrived early from the airport and having explained this early check-in was not a problem. A sauna and steam was just what was needed and the temperature was perfect. The room was clean and the breakfast as good as always with its home-made bread and good selection of cooked breakfast and fruit. Coffee and juice are also good. Check out was quick and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newgallowaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights over the new year period. On arrival we were invited to have complimentary drinks at the bar. The rooms were excellent and the superking sized bed was so comfortable.
The staff were efficient and courteous, nothing was too much trouble, even the hotel manager assisted the staff by helping out in the restuarant!
Three card trick trio entertained us on new years eve and they had everyone up dancing and singing, the only disappointment was the lack of a tradional Hogmany it would have been nice to have had a piper at midnight.
We travelled as a coach party and all had a good time.

Room Tip: Our party stayed over 3 floors all were pleased with their rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonerow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Having stayed at this hotel with the same package deal last year, we were expecting the same fantastic stay that we had got the previous year. We were checked in by Lisa, and found her manner to be very bubbly and cheery, just what we wanted for our Xmas stay, we were given rooms on the 7th floor which we thought was a bit out of the way considering the hotel wasn't at all fully booked, but the rooms were great, although for a 76year old, a room not so far away would have been better, but we certainly couldn't complain about the rooms, they were both lovely.
The staff were very helpful, some more than others, Stuart who is assistant manager really needs recognition for the job he does, he really is a credit to the Menzies chain, his hard work and manner is second to none, and it's down to him that we would return to the hotel. Attention to detail really needs to be addressed with the staff that were on over Xmas, no lemon in the gin and tonic, the cocktails served in a standard coke glass hardly what you would expect when paying £7.95 for a cocktail !!!!,
The food was faultless, although a wee bit slow at coming out, but Stuart soon sorted that out too !!! A massive thanks to the chefs for there hard work.
The entertainment by Donnie was just fab.... I danced the nights away, he's a great entertainer, who was always happy to play what you requested !!!!
I must say I was surprised to see a dog roaming about the hotel, I'm petrified of them so felt a bit uneasy at times, think I was just surprised to see one there.
On a whole the Xmas package is well worth the money and like I said, made by the hard work of the staff especially Stuart.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are a lot lighter as more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Having stayed many times at this hotel over the last ten years and after having such a good time on last years New Years Package we returned for this years New Year Package, All the staff as per usual were very friendly, courteous, efficient and helpful. The entertainment was once again excellent, the organist playing and singing on first night was very good and welcomed requests and the trio on New Years Eve were also good.Unfortunately the night came to a slightly earlier finish than we would have liked as my wife had an accident. I would like to thank both managers David and Paulene who showed such professionalism, concern and helpfulness whilst dealing with the problem and special thanks to Brian who organised the transport to and from the hospital.Hope to see you all if not before then next New Year

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baabaa186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at Menzies for a new year break! Our room was so disappointing the beds were like sleeping on concrete and we had rain water pouring and dripping all night through our window and hence why our shades all had water marks all over them.We ate dinner at the hotel the first evening and the meal was fine apart from having to return my potatoes as they were raw and we also got charged for asking for bread as i was having soup as my starter and expected it to come with a bread roll or sliced bread! The staff were very unpleasent and grunted when we asked for anything! I tried to arrange an appointment for a facial or treatment but was told by several confused members of staff that it was nothing to do with the hotel? They could not tell me anything as it was nothing to do with the hotel and it was a franchaise which was not there concern.The beauty shop did open the morning we were leaving so i didnt get my facial as yet! Overall we will not be returning to this hotel and are disappointed the standards were so poor for a 4 star hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1annemaree1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipMellor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear 1Annmarie,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls, I have since you stay had all rooms checked and it would appear that a seal around the window had failed and due to the heavy rain that we experienced it allowed water through the window on to the sill. I am at a loss as to why the shades had water marks as they are some distance from the window and can assure you this is not indicative and I am sorry you did not highlight this to the team so we could have taken appropriate action.

I was very concerned to read your comment in relation to the Brasserie not only in relation to the cuisine but also the team members as the comment that our team been grumpy and unhelpful is certainly not reflective of the service we offer and please accept my sincere apologies for these shortfalls.

I am sorry that your experience was disappointing and I can assure you that this is certainly not the norm as I am sure you can see with regard to other reviewers that stay during the Hogmanay celebrations. As I mentioned I am very sorry that you did not speak to my management team about your concerns as I am sure that given the opportunity we could have resolved the issues to your satisfaction.

I do hope that we may at some point in the future welcome you back and when you next have a requirement please contact me directly

Sincerely

Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Had a 3 day stay inc. Hogmanay. Very comfortable stay, food good, breakfasts self service excellent choice. Staff very friendly, courteous and efficient. Only disappointment was the lack of traditional Scottish entertainment which the folk from south of the border would have liked, however the group were enjoyable. Would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 95 in Glasgow
1,917 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 95 in Glasgow
3,357 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#32 of 95 in Glasgow
3,251 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Property: Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Glasgow Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms, leisure facilities and on-site parking. The health and leisure club at the Hallmark Hotel Glasgow offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing