We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #47 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Spent 2 nights at the Menzies Hotel with my friend, attending a concert at the Hydro. Great location for town centre and also for the Hydro. Taxi to either location only £5! Great rooms, breakfast and we used the pool & sauna. We also treated ourselves to a deep heat massage and it was wonderful after a day's shopping! Would stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Loved that the room came with a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,261 - 1,267 of 2,275 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

The outside of this hotel isn't very impressive, but inside is a whole lot better. There is secure parking just across the road, although it is not obvious at first. You drive up to the metal gates and they open automatically and you are given a code to get back in via a keypad. There is a charge for parking. The staff are all very efficient and impressive, they are obviously trained to a very high standard. The food in the restaurant for evening meal is excellent and of good quality, although the menu does not seem to change, so if you are staying for more than a couple of days you may find the choice limited. Breakfast is the usual buffet style, which is a shame because as in most hotels which offer buffet style breakfast, it means that the food is not very hot. The choice however is very good. They could do with a new toaster, as I do like toast to be toasted and not just warm bread. Our room and bathroom were spacious and clean, although we were not impressed by the shower curtain, rather than a screen. The extractor in the bathroom was timed for a very long time (still on when we got back from dinner). There was a fridge in our room.

We did not use the leisure facilities, so cannot comment on the pool etc. We did find that the extractor system for the leisure club was not switched off and unfortunately meant that we had to change rooms after a disturbed sleep on the first night, because we could hear it all night.

The hotel is just a short stroll to the city centre shops and we managed it in a brisk walk of about 15 minutes. Wifi is available.

Room Tip: Check that you cannot hear the extractor system for the leisure club before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a good hotel. it isn`t too expensive. The building is located next to the city centre. The is
Wi Fi in rooms. The rooms are clean. The breakfast is good: porridge, sosiages, eggs, bacon.......

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A2230NV_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very friendly staff. Thank you.This hotel may be classified as being a budget hotel but visitors will be pleasantly surprised by the staff, rooms, cleanliness and the excellent attitude of each and every member of staff .UI believe that one would be hard pushed to get better value for your money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Hans F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Would highly recommend the Menzies hotel, were just home after out visit truly amazing staff so welcoming and friendly and eager to help in anyway, even my 8 year old daughter was mentioning how nice the staff were. On arrival while checking in the kiddys got there own wee check in sheet with a bracelet to access unlimited fruit juice at reception and a free ice cream lovely wee touch to include kids in the fun. The pool was fun for us all, dinner in the dining room was delish for everyone all needs meet as my daughter is fuzzy! My son was very impressed with all his course. We stayed in room 508 was lovely and clean, plenty of space for the 4 and bath was amazing the water was so hot which I love room was nice and cozy plenty of towels for us all. Breakfast was super my partner had the works and we couldn't fault a thing plenty of variety will all give this Menzies a huge thumps up and can't wait too come back xxx

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Looks a bit bleak from the outside with a security fence almost encircling it completely BUT,
So much nicer when you get inside, the staff are as nice and helpful as any 5 star hotel.
The bedroom was a good size and the bath filled in no time with a good water pressure.
The dining room was good with plenty of room around ones table and the meal was excellent.
I would have no problem going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here last night on a business trip. The hotel is bright and airy with a lovely spa area. Food was excellent and all the staff extremely friendly. Close to the city centre and motorway network. Will definitely stay here again when we are next up in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
2,058 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#28 of 93 in Glasgow
3,526 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Glasgow Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £58 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms, leisure facilities and on-site parking. The health and leisure club at the Hallmark Hotel Glasgow offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing