We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Menzies Glasgow OVEN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #47 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A very uncomfortable, clammy, sticky stay at this supposed four star hotel, in a roasting room on the incredibly stuff fifth floor;

- windows were not allowed to be opened. Something we were only informed of the day after arrival.

- our air-conditioning was not working properly. When someone came to 'fix' it they reset it, said 'that should be better now' [it wasn't!] and promptly returned 10 minutes later with a huge fan. No apology, no room change but an industrial sized fan, for our four star hotel room.

A thoroughly disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the side facing the MOD building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derrycitybhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,241 - 1,247 of 2,277 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

This purely was a luxury four night say for a mid priced hotel. The room was fantastic, clean, spacious and more than you would expect. I stayed for four nights and do not normally sleep well at hotels but the high standard of bed made sure I did. Service in the hotel is of a high standard and exceptionally friendly and helpful. the leisure area was clean and well maintained. I did not eat in the hotel. If I was to criticise anything it would have to be the poor standard of internet which frequently dropped connection. I understood from previous reviews and also speaking to others there this is a common occurance.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Daddymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here on business. Great location for business and pleasure. Large room with very comfy bed and space to work. The parking is extra but not an issue as its a good price for secure city centre parking. Spaces and access to the car park can be tight though so mind your doors! Good service from all staff. A definite return location.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed overnight on business. Despite the reception being busy one of the two receptionists disappeared leaving the other to deal with a group of demanding tourists as well as answer the phone. Waited over ten minutes to check in.

Room on 6th floor spacious and clean. Bed was very comfortable but could do with better quality pillows. Bathroom very clean.

Ate in restaurant. Staff very well trained, polite and unobtrusive. Food very good, I had a perfectly cooked sirloin steak. Good selection of wines. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishLady38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is our fourth stay at the Menzies Hotel Glasgow, however the first time we've dined in the Brasserie for Dinner. We have dined in many high end restaurants and feel compelled to do our very first review on Trip Advisor, primarily due to the 5 star service delivered by a gentleman named Ervin (we think!). Despite the restaurant being busy with a large tour, he was very attentive, knowledgable and enthusiastic about the menu and enhanced our dining experience with his courteous, but not over zealous, manner. The food was delicious and we would certainly recommend The Brasserie. Thanks a million!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyB1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Hotel very close to main city streets, only a 5min walk and you are in the centre, Hotel very clean and the staff very polite and helpful, rooms are spacious, clean and airy. Hotel car park just across the road in a secure locked site. Hotel food was very good, full English was great on both days we stayed with plenty of fresh food always available, we ate in in the evening and the restraint was very nice and the food very good, would stay there again.

Room Tip: the whole area is quiet in the evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kwakers1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed one night and booked with an online company for a single room for 1/2 price I could get anywhere else. I was a little worried about having a tiny room but my worries were totally unfounded. I had a large corner room on the 6th (top floor), a large super king size bed, sofa/lounge area. Shower was wonderful and powerful.... The food was good in the brasserie restaurant and the staff were lovely and friendly when I requested a starter as a main course, they were totally unfazed. The bar was very quiet but this was mid-week and most people were there for work. The swimming pool was great, with all the facilities you would expect, sauna, steam room and loungers to lie in the sun. The hotel is handy for the SECC - 10 minute walk if that and handy for the M8 and M77. City centre is not far away and you can walk or taxi in 5 mins. Walking along the Clyde past the Secc is nice in such a big city.

Room Tip: 6th floor corner room (615) was sunny and bright with views of the river (and the M8 out of the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
2,059 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#28 of 93 in Glasgow
3,526 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Glasgow Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £58 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms, leisure facilities and on-site parking. The health and leisure club at the Hallmark Hotel Glasgow offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Easy Market Spa, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing