We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #45 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just had an overnight stay in this hotel. Excellent stay,large bedroom well presented and a king size bed,great sleep. Dinner was one of the best I've ever had,excellent food,service and setting,the staff were first class. We used the fitness centre for a swim and steam room and thought it was really good.,I can't find anything to complain about and we will return.

Room Tip: Can't really say,we stayed on first floor facing the river Clyde
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank busman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,123 - 1,129 of 2,171 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as we were watching the Athletics at Hampden Park. The location is ideal as only 5 minutes walk from Central Station.
The room was large and the shower excellent (really powerful). The bathroom decor was a bit tired however.
We didn't stay for breakfast so I can't comment on the food. We got a good deal so wasn't expensive. Would definitely recommend if you're not paying full price.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walsined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Interestingly, hotels are grouped in Glasgow as many are located in re-purposed buildings, The rooms here are a tad bigger than usual in Scotland. Lots of countertops in the lavs for stuff. Well appointed public spaces and a spa. The breakfast is first class with the best mushrooms I have had in eons. Loved the various fresh breads to spread with honey or preserves. Staff is very helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid streeside inasmuch as adjacent buildings use intense spotlights...safety?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DianneWheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Booked a 2 night stay B&B last weekend & at check in upgraded to an Apartment which was well worth the upgrade, had a kitchen & full size fridge, microwave, hob & separate sleeping & lounge area, made use of the fridge for our drinks. Great night sleep very quiet as apartments are situated near the back of hotel in the Old Mill Section.We always go to different hotels when visiting Glasgow but its difficult to beat the Menzies. Parking is also secure & inexpensive compared to other places.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W333JUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is a tiny bit out of the way - about a 10/15 minute walk to Argyle Street, but worth it for the room. We booked a standard double and not sure if it may have been upgraded but the room was huge, really lovely. Can be a bit pricey but we got a good deal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Please don't anyone stay at this hotel it's the worst hotel I've ever came across we booked a superior room with a separate living room it is like something from the ammitiville horror the room stinks of dampness the walls are grubby, I walked straight to reception for a refund where the manager gladly refunded me no questions asked

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank smcScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipMellor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear ....sms Scot..

I was hugely concerned to read you comments my apologies for my delayed response having just returned to the hotel.

I will investigate your feedback and I am sorry that the room you entered was affected by a strange smell that we are trying to get the bottom of as we don't suffer from this issue.

I can assure you that your experience is not indicative and hope that we may restore you faith in the near future and please do contact me directly when return to Glasgow

Sincerely

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

wasnt expecting much from a hotel £70 saturday night but was delighted. its budget prices but feels like proper old fashioned well run hotel. nothinbg too much trouble , they brought champagne flutes to room, called cabs, good wifi in rooms, when my hairdryer didnt work another appeared within minutes. only criticism rooms very hot and no opening window. will stay again .

Room Tip: great for a girls night out . use air con before sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missmodus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
2,006 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,411 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Glasgow Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £74 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms, leisure facilities and on-site parking. The health and leisure club at the Hallmark Hotel Glasgow offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing