We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #45 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for a night and were so pleased with the apartment we were given it was huge, spotless, cosy and comfortable! 10 minute walk from town centre but quiet in room, we had dinner in the brasserie and it was amazing, their salted sticky toffee pudding is the best I've tasted! The complimentary stocked mini bar was an added bonus we were not expecting, we didn't use the leisure facilities although they looked nice, had a comfortable nights sleep and then had a buffet style breakfast the next morning with a huge range of food and drink cooked, continental, pastries,tea,coffee and fresh juices! Would definitely recommend this hotel and will hopefully be visiting again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,146 - 1,152 of 2,202 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great hotel rooms are very spacious and ultra clean. The bar is good also the dining room. Food excellent and buffet breakfast great. There is a spa and pool there too and well worth the visit.
There is car parking too and a great location just 5 mins walk from town centre Lots of bars, resturants and clubs nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for larger room at no extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had an overnight stay through one of the deal websites and it was one of the best experiences we've had! This was mainly due to the fantastic service of the staff; not just one particular member, but every staff member we interacted with really made an effort to make our stay brilliant. Very, very impressed and will be contacting head office to say so.
The hotel itself was just what we needed, nice pool and the evening meal in the restaurant was lovely (especially the homemade bread!) The room was comfortable, with air con which was FANTASTIC, and a complimentary mini bar. Great situation, just off the M8 ( although you couldn't tell from the noise level in the room) and a nice stroll into the city centre of about 10 mins. All in all, a great break. Thanks!!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, great views over the Clyde
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on a couple of occasions and never been disappointed, it is clean, excellent breakfast and close to main attractions.
Added bonus it has secure parking at only £4 per day, it's only a short walk to train station and shops.
Well worth a visit and we will definitely be returning :)

Room Tip: Ask to be housed in the apartments within the hotel.... Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Walking distance to the centre of town, free parking, free WIFI, and spa amenities. Just what we needed after a day tripping around. The desk staff were helpful and friendly, the room was large, and well-appointed. Breakfast was good, with excellent wait staff.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I opted for this hotel after looking at the photos and star ratings.

Wish i had stayed with my friends recommendations.

The hotel is in what looks like a rundown area even though its only a few blocks from the station. The street behind is called Balaclava Street. That pretty much sums that bit up.

The room was dirty. Mould on the white sealant around the entire bath. The fresh towels on day1 had long black hairs on them so i put them on the floor and use spares. Then the next day it had reappeared on the towel rail!!!

The rooms are pretty poorly looked after. Almost like a DIY dad is looking after the place and squirting white sealant weekly in all the gaps in the skirting and sink area.

My advice for a room thats 100 quid + is to Stay around the corner at the Hilton Garden Inn and enjoy higher quality experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRHYD56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We spent 15 days in Scotland, and this was by far the worst hotel experience I have ever had (short of a stay in an old student hostel 30 years ago). We booked 3 rooms for family. Our room had no air-conditioning working, a cracked sink and dirty carpets. My son and his wife had a room that had dirty linens and stained ceiling tiles. My other son had a single room, and his was OK.
Staff seemed down-trodden and unhappy, breakfast was just tolerable. When items were out, they were not replaced.

We stayed out as late as we could, and I only slept on top of bed with a blanket I bought.

When we arrived, the first thing we did was look for another hotel, but were unable to find one that could accommodate parking for a minivan we were driving at even a reasonable price.

Lobby was very shabby and the front windows were very dirty and the carpeting in the halls was frayed down the center. Not a good first impression when we arrived. YIKES! Avoind like the plague.

Room Tip: Avoid the 5th floor where we stayed. I wish we had taken photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MariaLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipMellor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Mar......

Thank you for placing your review on Tripadviser, I was very concerned to read your comments and the headline.

In relation to comment in relation to housekeeping and dirty carpets, I am at a loss to explain this as I am sure you have seen the excellent feedback that hotel receives in relation to housekeeping, but please do accept my sincere apologies if your rooms were affected.

In regard to the look of the hotel, the hotel is very traditional in it appearance and we have an ongoing maintenance program and I am sorry you felt that hotel was shabby.

Breakfast again is an area we get much praise and certainly the buffets are kept well maintained and top up - but if we failed to do this during your stay I am very sorry and I have spoken to the team to check back on our training records and ensure no further repeat.

I am really sorry that you did not speak to my management team about your concerns as I am sure had we been made aware of this we would have done all we could to rectify your points to your total satisfaction.

I do hope you had a great tour of Scotland and thank you again for your feedback

Sincerely

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
2,019 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#29 of 93 in Glasgow
3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,690 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Glasgow Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £64 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms, leisure facilities and on-site parking. The health and leisure club at the Hallmark Hotel Glasgow offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing