We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #48 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Only had a one night stay but really enjoyed it. Huge room, with superking bed ,sofa and 2 chairs. Nice touch was the complimentary bottles of coke, chocolate and popcorn in the fridge.
Staff were lovely, very friendly and approachable. Breakfast was good, could have been a better choice of fresh fruit salad, not very imaginative.
One negative which we found a bit surprising was children in the bar area at 10.45 pm. My husband and I came down for a night cap to find children still in bar.
This hotel is well situated for the shops and restuarants and offers good value for money.
Thank you everyone .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipMellor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Margaret...

Thank you for placing your review on tripadvisor and for your great feedback. I was pleased to read you very kind comments and that you saw how close the hotel was to the great shopping districts that Glasgow has to offer.

I was concerned to read your comments about children running around at 10.45pm and will certainly pick this up with my Management team. However as a very family friend hotel we do pride ourselves in looking after not just the adults but our little friends with "Menzies Important Kids" and with it been School holidays it is very difficult to police this.

I do hope we can welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    710
    265
    93
    67
See reviews for
341
823
64
320
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
199 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Close to downtown and easily walkable to pubs and restaurants. In a
warehouse area, but that gives it some character. Rooms clean and pub
area open, restaurant good. Lots of tour buses use this hotel, so that
is a caution when booking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mar w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipMellor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Mar W

Thank you for your great review on the site, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. In relation to your comment re tours, yes the hotel does like all hotels in the city take a higher percentage of groups during the summer season. We do do all we can to ensure our individual travellers experience is not impacted in anyway.

I do hope we may welcome you back in the future

Kind regards

Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just back from staying in this hotel, lovely hotel, quite good location at the further end of Argyle Street, but ony a short walk from the shops, bars and nightclubs. Hotel was clean, staff were very friendly, and the food was nice, definitely worth paying that little bit extra from a travelodge.

We booked this as we wanted to be in the town during the Commonwealth games and to be among the many visitors to the city. We headed to Merchant City where we had booked a flat earlier and the place was buzzing.

Good hotel, great city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Varnaandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for a night and were so pleased with the apartment we were given it was huge, spotless, cosy and comfortable! 10 minute walk from town centre but quiet in room, we had dinner in the brasserie and it was amazing, their salted sticky toffee pudding is the best I've tasted! The complimentary stocked mini bar was an added bonus we were not expecting, we didn't use the leisure facilities although they looked nice, had a comfortable nights sleep and then had a buffet style breakfast the next morning with a huge range of food and drink cooked, continental, pastries,tea,coffee and fresh juices! Would definitely recommend this hotel and will hopefully be visiting again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great hotel rooms are very spacious and ultra clean. The bar is good also the dining room. Food excellent and buffet breakfast great. There is a spa and pool there too and well worth the visit.
There is car parking too and a great location just 5 mins walk from town centre Lots of bars, resturants and clubs nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for larger room at no extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had an overnight stay through one of the deal websites and it was one of the best experiences we've had! This was mainly due to the fantastic service of the staff; not just one particular member, but every staff member we interacted with really made an effort to make our stay brilliant. Very, very impressed and will be contacting head office to say so.
The hotel itself was just what we needed, nice pool and the evening meal in the restaurant was lovely (especially the homemade bread!) The room was comfortable, with air con which was FANTASTIC, and a complimentary mini bar. Great situation, just off the M8 ( although you couldn't tell from the noise level in the room) and a nice stroll into the city centre of about 10 mins. All in all, a great break. Thanks!!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, great views over the Clyde
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on a couple of occasions and never been disappointed, it is clean, excellent breakfast and close to main attractions.
Added bonus it has secure parking at only £4 per day, it's only a short walk to train station and shops.
Well worth a visit and we will definitely be returning :)

Room Tip: Ask to be housed in the apartments within the hotel.... Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#42 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Property: Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Glasgow Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms, leisure facilities and on-site parking. The "Waves" health and leisure club offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Booking.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing