We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge by the outside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #45 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The outside of this hotel is very old and depressing. However, the inside was a delight to see. Great staff, clean and large rooms! We had a great two nights here and would stay again if returning to Glasgow.

Room Tip: There is at least one room on each floor which does not have common walls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,100 - 1,106 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Inside the hotel is fine but the filthy, derelict parking lots all around the hotel are awful. IF I hadn't been forced to pay ahead, I would have changed hotels.
................................................

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed with friends for an overnighter. Our room was really big and clean with comfy bed, however, a bit dated and wallpaper etc quite badly marked. Pool area looked lovely, but didn't have chance to use. Breakfast in the morning was great. All you could ask for to eat and the breakfast staff really pleasant and welcoming. Wouldn't rush back. Other more modern central hotels of similar price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed here on business for three nights and was quite pleased with the hotel. The staff were helpful and service was generally quick and efficient. The hotel communal areas were busy and possibly a little on the small side but not too bad. Food was good although menus are typical unvaried dishes to be found the length and breadth of the country. My room was large and in reasonable condition. Facilities were as to be expected but no extra effort had been gone to. Given the location of the hotel, parking was surprisingly easy and free which was a bonus (Hilton might want to take notice). The gym was good and well equipped and the pool looked nice though I didn't use it. Overall, a comfortable if slightly uninspiring stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fozzibeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My partner and I stayed in through the Itison deal for £80 for one night stay in Executive room, three course dinner, use of swimming pool etc and full Scottish breakfast. Once we found the hotel - not that well signed we didn't think!

I had forgotten to print off voucher and the man at check in was very helpful and let me use the computer to print it off.

The room was huge and very clean and complimentary soft drinks and snacks in the room is a nice wee touch.

The pool area isn't that big but its fine and wasn't too busy for us.

We had lunch at the hotel which was good.

Dinner at night was really good.

All in all excellent value through the deal.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andie-19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Enjoyed the atmosphere and attentiveness of the staff. It's old, but very clean. Food was great and beds very comfortable. A nice accommodation a a great old city. We were part of Royal Scottish Tours....service was excellent & bags were brought to the room quickly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank harry a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I liked everything about this hotel, except the exterior appearance.

The room was spacious, the bed firm, the water pressure great, the water temp perfect, the room temp perfect, and there was no noise coming from the street. The breakfast was outstanding.

The room was spotless, as were the common areas of the hotel. But the exterior facade is dated and faded, and the main steps have broken riser tiles. Not a good first impression, but mostly forgotten once you get inside.

My advice is fix the exterior and get the fifth star.

DG

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DenGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
2,008 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,414 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Glasgow Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £75 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms, leisure facilities and on-site parking. The health and leisure club at the Hallmark Hotel Glasgow offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing