We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #46 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab Hotel”
Reviewed 25 February 2009

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Menzies Hotel & couldn't fault a thing. We got a great rate for B & B with Dinner on the 1st night & although the very helpful receptionist wasn't able to offer us an upgrade she allocated us a huge corner room which was fantastic. It has a great Leisure Club & the food was excellent. Position wise it is very close to the main shopping area, theatre etc. All in all I would recommend this Hotel to anyone & with our aniversary later in the year, we hope to return (fingers crossed it'll prove to be just as good an experience as this visit !).

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 3 March 2009
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your excellent review, which I have already passed on to the team. I much appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back on the special occassion of your anniversary.
Please contact me at lenny.hughes@menzieshotels.co.uk if I can be of any further assistance.

kind regards


Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    755
    293
    105
    76
See reviews for
373
898
69
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2009

Spent 3 wonderful nights in January at Glasgow Menzies. Staff very friendly and efficient - in particular Brian, the concierge -so helpful - the Italian restaurant he recommended was superb.
We were upgraded to an apartment and WOW what a wonderful room. So much space - a huge bathroom and a handy kitchenette all meticulously clean. We used the leisure facilities each day - the pool was probably one of the best we've been in as was the steam room and jacuzzi. Location great - within walking distance of shops and train station. Hotel food also excellent. All in all great value for money. Will definitely be returning.

  • Liked — Ambience
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexxxxx2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 23 February 2009
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great review and in particular your comments about Brian and the rest of the team.

I have passed on all your great feedback and Richard Lyth our Executive Chef, wanted me to thank you also for your great comments on the food.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards


Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2009

I think of you get the right tarif this is a pretty good hotel. The positives are the consistantly friendly staff, the very nice pool and steam and jaccuzi facilities, also a very decent gym as hotels go, lots of cardio and enough free weights if you are a serious exerciser. The general decor of the hotel was very nice, the bed was good and the room was fine, nice biscuits!

Down side

I was very disappointed in breakfast, I had breakfast on the 17th Jan, the staff were nice but as compared to other hotels there was a limited range of food, the hot food ran out often and many people had to wait, this is probably due to the small area they have to display the cooked breakfast, for example there were no suasages put out whilst I was at breakfast, the fried eggs kept running out, the orange juice kept running out and the staff member would just fill it up with one jug and it would run out again 5 mins later which means many people could not access the juice when they wanted it. There was no porridge available as you migt expect as part of a scottish breakfast. I would recommend that they get a hotel toaster so that guests can toast their own bread as it seems very wasteful to put 6 halves of toast on my table when I only need one slice and will only eat wholemeal, and i would like it toasted for a longer period as my toast was soft.. I wasn't aware that there was a selection of whole fruit available as it was displayed very high and the fruit hardly reached the edge of the high basket. I didn't enjoy the selection of pastries as mine was too dry. On the 18th it was much better controlled and someone seemed to be keeping a close eye on the food. I think if they really put some emphasis on the quality of their breakfast, it would be an excellent hotel, it makes a big difference to your day if you feel that you have enjoyed the experience. Minor downside is the external look of the hotel and entering it on foot, it does look a bit dark but inside is lovely and it possiblt means they have to offer more competitive prices, I would rather good inside than than hotels with great lobbies and horrible rooms.

Overall I would stay again at the right price but if another hotel of the same standard with similar leisure facility was offering a similar price it might try it for the chance a better breakfast

  • Liked — Leisure facilities
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lemondrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 4 February 2009
Dear Tripadvisor,

Many thanks for your good review and your great comments on the team. I have also noted your comments regarding breakfast and we have now taken action to try and ensure we get things more consistently right every day. It's so important to get a great start to your day.
Please contact me directly the next time you plan on visiting Glasgow or if I can be of any further assistance.

kindest regards


Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G and rach in the frew
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

Having never heard of this hotel before I decided to take advantage of a great january deal and treat my girlfriend to an overnight stay including dinner, b&b. After some confusion over Laterooms pricing of the stay as opposed to the price being quoted by reservations at the hotel itself, I was delighted to be upgraded to a deluxe double room for what worked out at £45 per person. Reservations staff were very friendly & courteous and booking was made without any problems over the phone.

After a few detours we found the hotel based directly opposite Glasgow's Marriott hotel and were met by friendly & helpful staff at reception which itself is situated next to a lovely lounge bar. We were given directions to the facilities and restaurant before being given key to room 223 which on first inspection seemed perfect - however…..

If it weren't for this room I'd have given my stay a perfect 5 stars. The bedroom window facing the private hotel car park appeared to have a faulty closing mechanism and wouldn't close correctly, meaning the room was cold unless the air con was switched on and the noise of nearby motorway traffic was multiplied somewhat. The air con itself posed its own problems as it was very noisy and meant a restless night ahead. I expected the rooms might have had LCD tv's installed however our room had an old TV which was not tuned in correctly and volume varied from quiet to very loud on certain channels. The room however was very nice and the bed was soooooooo amazing in both comfort and size. Bathroom also very nice with fantastic power shower situated in bath. As we were just staying the 1 night I felt it would be silly of me to mention these small gripes to reception but I anticipate that these matters will be easily rectified by the management.

We spent the afternoon relaxing in the lovely heated pool and sauna/jacuzzi and were very impressed by the leisure and changing facilities. The dinner on offer afterwards was just mouthwatering and the restaurant was worthy of its high rating with friendly staff to cater for you. Breakfast too was very satisfying and we took advantage yet again of the facilities as well as booking into the spa for lunchtime which my girlfriend cant recommend highly enough!

We had an excellent stay at the Menzies and will definately be recommending it to family and friends, just a pity a few small things in the room let down what would've been a perfect stay.

  • Liked — whole experience
  • Disliked — a few small problems/faults with our room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trueblue2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 27 January 2009
Dear Tripadvisor,

Many thanks for your great review, I am delighted you had a great stay.
My sincere apologies for the minor problems you had with your room, which I have since visited with my Housekeeper and Maintenance manager, and we are now resolving the points you made.
Thanks also for your other great comments regarding food and service which I have passed on to my Head Chef- Richard Lyth and the Food & Beverage team.
We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

kind regards


Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polmont
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

stayed at the milton hotel on Satuarday night. The staff are excelllent especially the concierge who was extremely helpful on this and previous trips. The family rooms are spacious and the kids have a bed rather than a sofa bed.

The pool is warm and big, the sauna, steam room and gym also look great. We were in a very quiet area of the hotel level5.

2nd time we've stayed at hotel and would definately stay there again.

Also close to the Bon Accord ale house which must be the best pub in glasgow. Satuarday had a great live band on along with 10 well kept real ales and one real cider.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — car park
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alibabaPolmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 27 January 2009
Dear Tripadvisor,

Many thanks for your excellent review which I have passed on to my team, with particular mention to our Concierge.
I am delighted you had a second great stay with us and we look forward to weloming you back soon.

Please contact me directly, if I can be of any further assistance.

kind regards


Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Menzies for two nights over the New Year period. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from Central Station and is very convenient for the M8. Before arrival, we were advised that parking was limited and arrived around 1130am. The car park is in the grounds of an empty building opposite the hotel, which is very secure (access is via your room card and you need to obtain a coin from reception to exit the car park). Later in the day the car park was busier, but there is limited expensive pay and display parking outside the hotel.

Although we arrived early, our room was ready and we were given Room 204. If you have the chance to select your room, this is a fantastic choice on the corner of the hotel. This room had a corridor from the door into the main room which was very spacious, with an excellent bathroom (see pictures) mini fridge, and individual room heating controls.

The reception staff were very helpful providing us with a map of Glasgow to get us into the city centre.

The room had a HUGE bed (it must have been 6ft by 6ft) but did not look out of place. The hotel had BTOpenzone wireless access (approx £10 for 24hours) or cabled broadband through the hotel which is more expensive.

We chose room service on New Year's Eve which was excellent and dinner in the restaurant on New Year's Day (total cost was £90 for the two nights's meals).

The leisure club was excellent with a very powerful steam room, a sauna, jacuzzi and large pool along with shower, solarium and a beauty treatment room.

The only disappointment was the restaurant. Although the food was very good, the staff serving breakfast on both days were very slow and clearly unmanaged. Similarly the staff on New Year's Day evening needed some training in proper service. As a table of two, our meals were served promptly but other tables with more customers were served much more slowly.

We would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to others without hesitation. Our advice would be to buy some wine, leave this in your room fridge and pay the surcharge for room service if you wished to eat in the hotel. It would also be best to carefully choose when to go to breakfast. However, as the hotel is close to an arterial route into Glasgow, the typical city centre restaurants are close by.

  • Liked — Rooms, leisure club and service (except restaurant)
  • Disliked — Restaurant service
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ash_Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 14 January 2009
Dear Tripadvisor,

Many thanks for the great review and photo. I am delighted you had a great stay but please accept my sincere apologies for the problems with restaurant service.
I have now discussed your comments with all of my team, and further training has been carried out with the restaurant team to ensure we get things right more consistently. However, I am delighted you enjoyed the food and will be definitely returning.

Thanks again for the great feedback and please contact me the next time you plan on visiting us.

kind regards


Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK Various
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Myself and my wife have just spent two nights at the Menzies hotel in Glasgow, after finding a good rate on Laterooms, which included a two night Bed & Breakfast with one evening meal.
On arrival the receptionist was extremely helpful and gave me an upgrade to a suite when I asked.
The room was vey good, and very spacious, and a luxury with a bath and a separate shower.
Food was very good and the restaurant quiet.
Gym although not used looked very well equipped, and it's the longest I have stayed in a pool for ages, due to the warmth. The steam room as well was the best I have been in for ages.
The hotel is around 10 mins walk to the first main shops/pubs which are within easy walking distance
In all a very relaxing two day break, and would definitely stay again in the future.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of the Hotel and room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanrphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 10 January 2009
Dear Tripadvisor,

Thank you for your excellent review and comments, which I have circulated to the team here. I have discussed your great feedback with the receptionist who checked you in and I will make sure they are rewarded.
I was also delighted that you enjoyed our leisure facilities as we carefully monitor the temperature of the pool and I am glad we got it just right for you.
Please contact me at lenny.hughes@menzieshotels.co.uk when you plan on returning to Glasgow.

kind regards


Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
1,943 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,417 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Property: Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Glasgow Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms, leisure facilities and on-site parking. The health and leisure club at the Hallmark Hotel Glasgow offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing