We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #47 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Scotland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Really nice hotel. Not in the best looking of areas but once you are inside it is lovely & it is only a 5 min walk from Argyle Street. Our check in was very efficient, Russell who checked us in was very pleasant, asked if we needed a hand with our bags, what was the purpose of our stay etc.
The rooms are lovely, nice & big with really comfy beds & a mini fridge... always handy!! Pool area, sauna & steam room are all also very nice. Good idea having a seperate lane in the pool solely for people who want to do lengths, without finding children splashing around in your way.
There was plenty choice at breakfast, cereal, pastries & fruit along with usual hot buffet selection.
Only criticism (but one that wont put us off coming back), is that drinks prices in the bar are waaaaaaay too expensive!!! Bar area again is nice & well kept & the staff were very friendly.
Enjoyed our stay here & will be back to stay when we next visit Glasgow.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahkScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 21 August 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review, I much appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.
I have passed on your great comments to our team with particular mention to Russell. Thanks also for the comments on breakfast we try hard to consistently get things right and I have also noted your comments on our bar prices which we review regularly with our competitors, I am glad this will not put you off coming back.
I am delighted that you like the seperate lane in the pool as it is a new idea we have been trying and it seems popular so far.
I hope to get to meet you on your next visit. Thanks again.

sincerely


Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    738
    284
    103
    74
See reviews for
361
879
68
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Arrived quite early (11:00am) and was able to check into room. Receptionist was very pleasant and helpful giving us full description of hotel and facilities. Requested room on high floor & was not disappointed. Room was a good size and was cleaned to a very high standard. We managed to get our times mixed up and arrived at the leisure facilities with only 20-mins remaining. The staff were more than happy we used the facilities (which incidentally are excellent) and never once hurried us despite our late arrival. The bar staff were also very friendly & made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was tip-top with a great choice of quality food and as I have come to expect - A1 service. Checkout was a breeze & concierge took bags away for secure storage, again both staff members only willing to accommodate. The hotel is obviously very well managed with a huge emphasis placed on delivering great customer service & a high level of cleanliness, both get top marks. Every member of staff we encountered could not do any more to make our stay a more pleasurable one, nothing was too much to ask. The hotel is only a 5-minute walk from the central station and is ideally placed for shopping & leisure. When we visit Glasgow again, I know exactly where we will be staying, Menzies - without question.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 13 August 2009
Dear Guest,

What an excellent review.
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. I was particularly pleased to read your comments regarding our team delivering great customer service and your comments on cleanliness, which we take great pride in. I will be passing on to all of the team.
Thank you once again, and I hope to get the opportunity to meet you on your next visit to Glasgow.

kind regards


Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, England
Level Contributor
412 reviews
294 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

The room was large and had a settee plus workdesk. Sadly, this is one of the misguided hotel chains which doesn't provide free wi-fi, so you have to log on to BT Openzone at £10 for 24 hrs continuous use.
The bed was hard and likewise the pillows, so I didn't sleep too well.
Breakfast was fine, being a buffet with a decent choice. I felt sorry for the sole waitress who was trying to clear tables, check on diners, and serve tea and toast all at the same time.
At the side of the hotel is a large area of waste scrubland, beyond which is the river and associated nightlife.
Surprisingly, the room had a large old tv with only 12 stations - for a hotel this size, you'd expect a plasma plus the full freeview range at least !

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 28 August 2009
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your
review and your kind comments regarding breakfast. I was concerned however regarding your comments on one waitress, and as you see from our previous reviews that this is certainly not our normal standard. With reference to your comments on Wi-Fi access , as a company it is something that we are aware of and are currently investigating. I am delighted that overall you have given us a favourable rating and thank you once again for taking the time to submit your feedback. I hope to be able to welcome you back sometime in the future.

kind regards


Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Great price considering the location which was surprisingly quiet, looks a lot nicer aesthetically than the marriott. very clean and welcoming throughout. all the staff very friendly particularly russell on reception and nicola in the restaurant. room clean and comfortable, great to find a smoking room! incredibly powerful shower, bath filled very quickly, toilettries were nice. suchard hot chocolate and biscuits in the room... say no more. food in restaurant was of a high standard with helpful staff, plenty of choice at the buffet restaurant. only downside was that the wi-fi wasnt free. overall a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen-sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 12 August 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted you had a great stay. Your review and comments on Russell and Nicola have been passed on to all of the team. Executive Chef, Richard Lyth was very happy with your feedback and wanted me to pass on his thanks also.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

kind regards


Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands, Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We stayed here for my 40th birthday and on arrival found we had been given an upgrade to one of the loft appartments which was a lovely surprise and that hotel staff had left me a birthday card. I wasn't blinkered by that but we did find that the hotel location was excellent, everywhere was clean and the health suite was worth a visit. We booked a deal whereby we had an eveing meal for one of the nights and found this to be excellent quality. This is Glasgow city centre after all so and not a travel lodge, so it is going to be slightly expensive but all in all we found it good value and helped make our visit brilliant

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimuk530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 7 August 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review. I am delighted you you had great 40th birthday with us. I will be passing your feedback on to the team here with particular mention to Richard Lyth and his kitchen brigade.
I am glad you had a "brilliant" visit to Glasgow and we hope to welcome you back again sometime soon.

kind regards


Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Our first time in Glasgow and pleasantly surprised with all we saw. Hotel good position - easy to walk to centre (Argyl Street) and sightseeing bus stops outside hotel - hop on and off . Staff extremely helpful and very efficient service in restaurant. For large chain this is an excellent hotel. Only snag is driving instructions provided on website. For those of us without sat nav it wasn't easy to find!!! However once there carparking is very secure and well managed by reception staff. We travelled from Ayr and were not able to exit the motorway at Junction 19 as advised - however a very helpful bus driver directed us to the hotel!! Good pool and gym facilities and excellent opening hours.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 1 August 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the excellent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your first visit to our great city of Glasgow. Sincere apologies that you could not exit at Junction 19 as normal, we had not been informed of its closure over that weekend but I am very glad it did not spoil your stay. Thank you for your great comments on my team and I was also very pleased to read your comments on our restaurant service, this is something we have been working hard on to get right.

We hope and look forward to welcoming you back for your second visit to Glasgow. Thanks again.

sincerely


Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Poor experience all round and even worse than that of our last stay 3 years ago, especially considering the price has risen to an exhorbitant 123 quid per room! Arrived just after 1pm last saturday and informed that rooms would not be ready til 2pm. We had an expensive drink whilst waiting at the bar and returned to reception at 2 pm where we were informed by the same very grumpy and unhelpful receptionist that the rooms were not ready and were only designated as available "from" 2pm. A helpful and informative attitude at the outset would have avoided an unnecessary wait.
After a meal out we booked in and the first thing i noted was the stained and worn carpet. The drinks in the mini bar fridge were warmer than those sitting on the sideboard, despite the room feeling like a sauna. It was actually cooler in the hotel corridor and you know how stiffling they usually are.
I raised this with reception who said they would send up an engineer to fix it.
When we returned at midnight there was a fan in the room. The heat was unbearable. The hotel did not even have a window that could be opened to let in the cool evening air. The fan was so noisy that it felt like a pneumatic drill in my ear.
To top it all the seemingly large double bed turned out to be 2 singles with a sheet thrown over and a very uncomfortable hard ridge down the centre.
The only saving grace was a working icemachine in the corridor- much appreciated for cooling down!
On checking out the duty manager said that because the hotel was full the air-conditioning was overwhelmed! We were, after asking to complain formally, only offered a 10% reduction in our bill and only if we didn't take it further. We opted to complain further and are still waiting for the manager to call back!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duane66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 13 July 2009
Dear Guest,

I have just returned from holiday today and was very saddened to read that your party did not have a great stay with us.
Please accept my sincere apologies, as this is certainly not our normal standard.
I do know that David Comerford-Hotel Operations manager has tried to contact your party several times last week to discuss the problems you had.
Can I please ask that you contact me directly
on 0141 270 2319 or at lenny.hughes@menzieshotels.co.uk at your earliest convenience.


sincerely


Lenny Hughes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 95 in Glasgow
1,896 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,246 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#31 of 95 in Glasgow
3,296 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#32 of 95 in Glasgow
3,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Property: Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Glasgow Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms, leisure facilities and on-site parking. The health and leisure club at the Hallmark Hotel Glasgow offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing