We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #48 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Stayed here for one night based on the favourable revies on TA. Booked through hotelconnexions.com so got a decent deal of £79 for one night B&B in a standard room.

The hotel is in a none too attractive area of Glasgow, surrounded by what seem like derelict buildings and waste ground. On approaching the area, the Menzies itself appears like an oasis amid the dereliction and neglect. The carpark is none to obvious, as the big carpark behind the hotel is not it! It's actually across the road from the main entrance, in the grounds of an old derelict school. A large fence and gate surrounds it, so it's secure and its only £3 for the night, a bargain for Glasgow. As has been mentioned in other reviews, its a 10 minute walk along a fairly busy road to Central station and the bars and restaurants in that area.

Check-in was swift and efficient, a large room on the 5th floor being the result. The room had a giant (superking) bed, very comfortable. The TV was an old, small CRT one. Most hotels of this class now have large LCD screens, they're much more modern looking and the sooner Menzies upgrades, the better. Only the TV channels worked on ours, none of the other function and 'guest services' worked (despite there being a large leaflet, describing the many other functions of the TV in detail (internet, check bill, messages, payTV etc). Anyway, the room was very comfortable and quiet although maybe a little too warm, the AirCon being inneffective.

Breakfast was served until 11am and was average. A decent choice of hot and cold fare. Although the toast arrived stone cold and the milk jug was empty. Minor complaints.

We did not use the health club or spa so can't comment though they looked lovely. The concierge was most helpful, calling us a taxi, (even though someone then stole it from outside the hotel meaning we ended up waiting around 20 minutes for a taxi, causing us to be late for an appointment).

Only thing I really didn't like about Menzies was the 11am check-out. Most places nowadays, its a 12 noon check-out, and for a leisure break, this is an altogether more relaxed and convenient time.

A couple of (very) minor hiccups but I would stay here again without hesitation.

** RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dougie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 21 November 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review, but my sincere apologies for the "hiccups" with your TV and breakfast. I have passed on your great feedback to the team here along with the other points you have made. Further training has now taken place to try and ensure we avoid these type of situations in future.
I am delighted you will be returning and I hope to get a chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you for recommending us.

kind regards


Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    737
    283
    102
    74
See reviews for
361
875
68
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South of England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for five nights earlier this month. We chose The Menzies partly due to its apparent close location to the city centre, but also due to the obvious attention Lenny Hughes, the General Manager, pays to feedback provided by other customers via TA. Any hotel that takes time for this sort of thing has to be given a chance !
We were not disappointed. Room 318 was large, comfortable, located at the front so away from any road noise (such that we would not have known we were so close to central Glasgow). Waves, the leisure centre was also excellent....don't forget to take your £1 coin for the lockers (refundable) and I have already suggested the bathrobes are replaced with more "generous" sizes to cater for a wider range of guests.
Staff friendly and breakfasts ample.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormSouthofEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 13 November 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such an excellent review, I am delighted you had a great stay with us. I have now passed on all of your feedback to my team.
I have also noted your comments regarding the lockers and the more "generous" robe size.

Thank you for reading Tripadvisor and giving Menzies Glasgow a chance, much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back very soon.


kind regards


Lenny

ps Sincere apologies for delay in responding, I have just returned from holiday today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYRSHIRE, SCOTLAND
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

We stayed here on Saturday 24th October 2009. Our room was perfect and we had a very nice stay. The staff are all friendly and very helpful. The only thing I would say is that the carpark isn't very nice however the charge of £3 per night is great and is a secure carpark so you know your car is safe. The only other thing we occured was that the room wasn't ready for us when we arrived at around 2.30pm. Would recommend to friends and family and we are hoping to stay again on the 21st November 2009 if gran and papa have our son. Its nice to get you time and have a break from your home house. We never had dinner so couldn't comment on that however the breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fee&Del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 6 November 2009
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to submit your great review. I am delighted you found our team to be friendly and helpful. I am really sorry we did not have your room ready at normal check-in time of 2pm, but I am very glad that it did not spoil your stay. Thank you for recommending us and I hope to be able to welcome you if you get a chance to return on the 21st November.

kind regards


Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

We booked our 2 night stay at this hotel on the basis of its very good reviews on Trip Advisor but we were generally disappointed with our studio room. The bed was comfortable and the hotel was perfectly adequate but it is not the number 2 hotel in Glasgow as TP would suggest. Our specific reasons for our disappointment were the layout of the room where you could not watch tv comfortably from the sofa as it was situated at a right angle and you could not watch tv from the bed because the connecting cables did not stretch far enough. The sofa and chairs were covered with a hard nylon fabric and the sofa and one chair each had a disconcerting stain on a cushion. When in bed your eye was drawn to a foot long coffee stain low down on the wall where a previous guest had been careless.
On our first night we called reception to advise that two light bulbs were fused (making it difficult to read when sitting on the sofa) and that the fridge was dead giving off an acrid smell when the door was opened. We were advised that these faults would be rectified that evening while we were at dinner but unfortunately no one appeared during our stay.
Dinner itself was again adequate if a bit pretentious and one was left with a similar feeling that it didn't really come up to expectation.
My wife and I thought that a standard room may have been less disappointing but we are unlikely to make a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aonghas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 4 November 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time time to submit a review and please accept my very sincere apologies that we did not live up to your expectations. I am very sorry that you were not happy with the layout of your room, and we would have been delighted to have the chance to offer you an alternative. We have a 10 minute guest satisfaction call back system in place, which means after the guest checks in to their room, we call to check that they are happy. We do this to ensure we always do live up to guest expectations.
Please contact me on 0141 270 2319 or at lenny.hughes@menzieshotels.co.uk if I can be of any further assistance.

sincerely


Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

The two night bed and breakfast deal with one night evening meal had been recommended to me by a friend and so I duly booked it and hoped for the best. It was fantastic, from the moment we arrived we were warmly greeted and booked in very quickly and efficiently. I treated myself to a Hot Stone Massage in the Beauty Salon and again the staff were just so lovely. The food was really well cooked and presented with plenty of options (my partner doesnt eat meat) and all I can say is I would have no reservations in recommending this to anyone - I have already told all my friends and colleagues and will definately be returning ( in fact I cant wait!) Well done Menzies Hotel Glasgow.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyquine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 31 October 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such an excellent review. I am delighted that you came to us on your friends recommendation and we lived up to your expectations. I have already passed your great feedback on to my team in the hotel and Brenda and the team in Savannah Spa.
Thank you so much for telling your friends and I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

kind regards


Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Location:

The hotel is easily accessible from the train station/main shopping area, being a 5-10 minute walk along a fairly busy road (Argyll Street). If driving, the hotel is just off the M8, far enough that noise isn't a problem though, and has secure car parking beside the hotel. While the hotel is not in the most attractive of areas, it is convenient, especially if you are driving as the car park wasn't the daylight robbery that more central locations are guilty off!

Rooms:

The rooms where a good size with comfortable beds and a decent sized bathroom.They are also in good decorative order and clean. The original room we were allocated was a twin room after having booked a double, however, when we contacted reception they where able to rectify this promptly.

Food:

We just had breakfast in the hotel, and found it to be the standard selection of cooked and continental offering which was perfectly acceptable. Service was prompt, although we were down early on Sunday morning to beat the rush.

Value for money:

Overall, this hotel compares favorably to the Marriott Hotel just across the road, which I've stayed in before. However, we booked this hotel via Alpha Rooms after recommendations on Trip Advisor and got a bed and breakfast rate of just over £90, beating the rates offered by the Marriott for the dates we were interested in. Overall we had a pleasant stay and I would return here again, if the rates were favorable.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laughingsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 23 October 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such an excellent and comprehensive review. You have covered many aspects of your stay, and I was particularly pleased to read that you saw the benefits of our location. With us not being far from the city centre but just far enough to avoid any late night noise, many guests feel this is a bonus. I am delighted that you enjoyed staying with us and I hope to be able to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

kind regards


Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanarkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Went to the Spa for hot stone massage.My friend and I had the most relaxing time,before we went to have our massage we had the use of the steamroom the sauna and the jaccuzie also had swim before and had a nice glass of wine at the side of the pool.The staff in the hotel and the Spa were excellent. The rooms were really nice and spacious with a keyboard to link up your laptop if you needed to, coffee and tea making , hairdryer and even an iron and ironing board. There was even a sofa to sit and relax. We were even given bathrobes and slippers to go down to the spa.
I had thought had lost my camera but remebered had left it in the bathrobe pocket. when I phoned the hotel the next day they had put it into lost property and when went to collect they had also had other items we had left in the room Was really pleased to get back my camera as I was ging on holiday 2days later and picked up my camera before went to the airport.Would definately recommend this hotel and will make a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avpav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 15 October 2009
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to give us such an excellent review, I am delighted you enjoyed your experience with us. I will be passing on your great feedback to my team and the team at Savannah Spa, who will all be delighted that they helped you have a great weekend with your friend.
I am also very glad that we managed to find your camera for you and I hope you went on to have a great holiday.
Thank you for recommending us and we hope to get the chance to welcome you back when you next return to our Great City.

kind regards


Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 95 in Glasgow
1,894 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 95 in Glasgow
3,285 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 95 in Glasgow
3,210 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Property: Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Glasgow Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms, leisure facilities and on-site parking. The health and leisure club at the Hallmark Hotel Glasgow offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing