We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, friendly restaurant!”
Review of Amalfi

Amalfi
Ranked #54 of 2,428 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Wine Bar
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cosy, friendly restaurant!”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I was there last week with friends and the food was lovely, the staff very attentive and friendly and efficient! Booking to go back with a party of friends in February!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jintzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    113
    18
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Let down”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Always a must eat when in Glasgow, looks like new management and sadly has gone right downhill. Very average steak poorly presented . Will giv it 1 more try next time in town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trigger131186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelonnette, France
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I highly recommend it, at certain times.”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Visited in the past and had a great experience of service and quality of food is great. I would describe this place excellent but we recently visited here at ten past two in the afternoon and were very disapointed by the visit, food not as good as before and think at this time we never felt as welcome, we will try to keep the next visit before two o'clock or after five to hopefully get the amazing feel of this place back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BarcaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehouse, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, lovely food, definitely recommend.”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My sister and I were in Glasgow yesterday and wanted something nice a fresh to eat. We were served and welcomed by friendly staff who did not over power us, forget about us or rush us. Our food was exquisite with home-made warm bread and warm soup followed by our different mains. I will be definitely going back to this restaurant when I'm in Glasgow over the next coming weeks. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone as it's classy with a nice cosy atmosphere. Even though you are in the centre of town you feel as if you are in a wee restaurant in Sicily.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent value lunch”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I recently visited the Amalfi with a friend for lunch - its my first visit there in a few years, though it used to be a real favourite.
The interior has been updated since my last visit, very nice and relaxing atmosphere - and the waiting staff were excellent - attentive and friendly when you needed them, but not to invasive.
The lunch menu (£8.50 per person) had a great variety, without being so big it makes it difficult to make a choice.
for starters my friend had the Chicken Liver Pate, which was served with toast and chutney - she had no complaints about it at all, very generous portions. I opted for the Cozze Livornese - lots of fresh plump mussells, in a tomato, garlic and chilli sauce. And i was glad to be given a spoon with the dish to finish up the delicious sauce. top notch.
for Mains my friend had Spagetti Salciccia - spagetti with sausage, red wine, onion and tomato - again a good portion, well flavoured and nicely presented. I had the Risotto Alla Milanzane - risotto with onion, aubergine and tomato. Again good portion, well presented, full of flavour, not claggy or too dense.
Overall it was an excellent lunch in a well situated wee place that gives you a real taste of Italy. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elscodobermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amalfi also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing