We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location and great views!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
53 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Glasgow, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
joanne m
1 review
“Excellent location and great views!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just returned after a great weekend. The location of the apartment could not be any better. It was clean and had everything we needed. Will definitely book here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire...
Thatcham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great apartment, excellent position”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My wife and I stayed here whilst I was on business. We have stayed in many apartments but this was definitely one of the better ones: clean and modern but with some homely touches. The position was great, overlooking the Clyde but an easy walk to the city centre. Will stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATPY
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great views, highly reliable service”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Traveled as a party of 4 for two weeks across a number of major cities beginning with Glasgow (Edinburgh, Dundee, Belfast & Dublin being the others). We voted this apartment the best of all the accommodation we had on the trip for the following reasons:-

(1) Location - it was right behind St. Enoch's (spanking new shopping centre) at the end of Buchanan Street (main shopping street in Glasgow), together with St. Enoch's subway station.

(2) Fully functional kitchen stocked with essential condiments (e.g. salt, cooking oil, sugar). Together with a Tescos anchored at St. Encoh's that stays open till midnight, this really boosted the apartment's live-ability index.

(3) Beautiful day & night views of Glasgow city.

(4) Very helpful and highly reliable service from our host. For the one or two difficulties we encountered during our 3-night stay, Gerry was always contactable, and provided swift and effective resolution to the issue (e.g. how to get the boiler restarted in the morning for some hot water).

(5) Wi-Fi was consistently available and served at good data transmission speed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alasdair...
Aberdeenshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value accommodation”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We travelled to glasgow with our good friends for a weekend. We were going to book a hotel but having seen reviews for the riverview apartments we thought we would try the self catering option for the weekend. I called once our train arrived in glasgow and Gerry met us at the apartments and showed us round and explained how the tv, heating etc worked. The apartment is quite nice we were on the 12th floor room 4. Great views of the Clyde. The en suite is quite small but the shower worked well. Nice toiletries included for your use. They supplied plenty towels for our weekend stay. Had read we would get a breakfast pack on arrival. We had cereal but no milk so had to pop round the local tesco. They did include orange juice and some cookies. The apartment was quite clean but has some wear and tear. One of the windows in the main bedroom was gaffer taped up and the blinds were broken but this did not stop us enjoying our stay. The fridge was big but as per another reviewer the freezer section was completely frozen and the drawers would not come out. The tv had virgin media and there was wifi too which was great as we took our iPad with us. The flat was always really nice and cosy. The apartment is only a few minutes walk from Buchanan street. We were slightly concerned when we arrived back from our shopping day to find the main security door was open and would not lock. Not sure what had happened to it but it remained open all weekend. Think someone had burst the lock. There was also what looked like sick in the one lift which we found off putting. This again was there the whole weekend which wasnt very pleasant. Not sure who is responsible for the cleaning out with the apartments. Our train was leaving at 1.45pm and we had to check out of the apartment at 11am but I texted Gerry and were able to leave our bags until we were ready to leave which was good. All in all a good place to stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin G
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“fantastic experience”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

buy theatre tickets (check), ask gran and granda to babysit (check), get excited about the first evening doing something selfish without baby (check) ... somewhere to stay for all four plus baby ... (angst)....
Then we find the Glasgow Riverview Apartments on booking.com and within minutes we have stress-free elation....
we were met by the owners who directed us in to the private parking bay in the basement and then to the apartment itself.
The apartment overlooks the river and to the south of the city beyond. contemporary and clean with lots of space and (as it turns out) three bedrooms with one ensuite. Fab corner window and lift access. shiny floors in the communal areas and thick-carpeted bedrooms. terrifically central right behind the St Enoch Centre....
Happy mum and dad at theatre (check), happily snoozing baby (check), happy doting gran and granda (check), happy stay... (CHECK)....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views, the parking and the ease of it all.
Liked least: the sharp square door handles (which caused some injury) these would be better changed to rounded style especially for family stays.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diner030
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Riverview Apartment”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We were so looking forward to our stay at Riverview Apartments, however on arrival we were told that we were to stay around the corner in another apartment block which was called Pacific View. First impressions were ok, nice enough, large open plan lounge/kitchen, 2 bedrooms one en suite. No balcony and certainly no lovely view of the river. In fact the immediate view was of dilapidated buildings, in the middle of which was waste land with a limited view of the river. We decided not to be disappointed. We settled down for evening but found the apartment very cold and couldn't work out the heating system, the woman on arrival wasn't much help as she didn't know either, so was pretty uncomfortable. The real disappointment came with the showers...neither worked very well. Water was freezing in the en suite shower, and one in main bathroom although an electric shower was the same, freezing or scorching hot. The cleanliness was good enough, although things like oven door, kitchen units, windows, skirting boards needed a good clean, the laminate floors looked like they hadn't seen a wet mop for months. This apartment had good points, was very spacious, beds very comfortable, loads of towels left, complimentary toiletries, nice welcome pack with cereal, biscuits, milk , tea and coffee. We would consider staying again but would make sure we were in the actual "Riverview Apartments"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large apartment, central location.
Liked least: Difficult to work out heating system, showers dreadful.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
designmat...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Could have been great but sadly disappointed”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Yes we read the TA reviews before booking for three nights in Glasgow. We had been traveling as a couple for quite some weeks and yearned for a self-catered apartment for some home cooking.
Alas, due to a missed email en route, our hosts told us on arrival, that our booked apartment had been flooded from the apartment above. Our hosts helpfully met us and we commiserated with these events including an incorrect assumption that we were a larger party than two. They assisted us to a nearby hotel (of equivalent tariff cost) with an assurance we could occupy the booked apartment at 2pm tomorrow. Our car could be parked in the assigned apartment parking area. Now here I wish to say, that unfortunate as this event had been, our hosts had done their best to assist in what might have been described as 'bad luck' for them and for us, and we obliged with understanding. We do exhibit goodwill and courtesy by nature, though lost time and inconvenience was our lot. The hotel experience was not comparable with what we had hoped for.
Sure enough, our hosts met us at 2pm, the following day, and introduced us to our 11th floor apartment, unit 4.
River view promises the river views implied by name, and pleasant they are (whereas, the hotel offered a grand view of Glasgow's central hub rail system from our room).
The river view apartment is furnished with modern furnishings, two bedrooms and one bathroom and an en suite. Kitchen has a full compliment of 'mod cons' including oven, range hood, hotplates, washer, fridge freezer and dryer. An ironing board is supplied along with iron. All seemed appropriate and appealing.
Unfortunately, by day's end, the double bed supporting frame had collapsed, (and we had to retreat to the second bedroom's single beds) the fridge freezer was unusable having badly iced upper time and the oven timer was faulty, even as our host demonstrated it. These faults were apparently known to the hosts even before our subsequent well intended communication but we adapted to do without. We were told the freezer had iced up due to guest bookings and it would not be defrosted for another couple of weeks. The double bed was acknowledged to be faulty due to an ill - fitting frame. Fully operational oven, freezer, and bedding are not inconsequential items to the self catering traveller, and not inconsequential when a full tariff is paid for such amenities.
Add to this, minor oversights that can impair convenience in the simplest if tasks. These included a missing sink plug, stainless steel range hood and other items revealing grime, the absence of a clock, a hairdryer and toilet roll holders.The sink plug was supplied on request. Minor items to be sure but not commensurate with four star rating.
Riverview Apartments has the potential to be great with improved attention to detail. It is ideally located to suit the tourist/ traveller.
But . . .This was a less than satisfying stay that commenced with disappointment that could not be avoided and concluded with disappointments that could. We were charged for three nights accommodation at the full rate and received no concession for any goodwill or inconvenience.
I hope for better experiences for other guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: State of property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$186
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing