We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with minor flaws”

Epicures of Hyndland
Reserve with OpenTable
Epicures of Hyndland is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #776 of 2,411 Restaurants in Glasgow
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
115 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice place with minor flaws”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We went for lunch (3 of us) and it was overall a good experience. It was busy and we had to wait a while for a table but we were advised of this as soon as we came in. The service was attentive and friendly. The cakes were really good and so were the coffees and the house wine. The epicurean cheeseburgers, however, were disappointing: Too dry, tough and overcooked. Considering that we did not wait that long for them and that they were well done (which requires normally 20+ minutes), I wonder whether instead of being grilled they were oven-cooked which may explain their dryness/toughness. A shame really as for £ 10 each you would expect a really nice burger.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 013757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarpowGlas, Social Media Consultant at Epicures of Hyndland, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Firstly thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit to Epicures. I am glad you found the service to be attentive and that you enjoyed the cakes, coffee and house wine. I am sorry that the burgers were not up to standard. I appreciate your feedback so that we can improve your experience next time. I do hope this does not deter you from returning at a later date.

Kind Regards,

Karen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    112
    120
    71
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“used to be good,”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Been coming here for a few years, live in east kilbride and made the effort to travel because it was so good. Not been in awhile and visited today for lunch, on arrival no staff to show us to a table so seated ourselves. Looking around felt like the restaurant was grubby and in need of a good clean. Service very poor and slow. Would still go back as the food is good as is the atmosphere but i feel more people need to make the management aware that their restaurant is in need of some TLC.
Also think the management should take on board the comments about service on trip adviser and reply to some of them. P.S Nicks across the road has glowing reviews (take heed).

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food, Service well below par”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We go to Epicures regularly for coffee/lunch and can't fault the food which is really good.

The downside of the Epicures Experience is the poor service one can receive at times and other reviewers have highlighted this as well.

Today's service was the poorest to date in our experience though and here is why:

We had late lunch, when it came to getting the bill we were informed that their card machine was not working and that cash payment was the only option. Apparently we should have been told this before we ordered.

Unfortunately that was not the case and a trip to the cash machine on Clarence Drive was unexpectedly added to today's menu. We don't carry a lot of cash with us, if we were informed about the card machine before we ordered then our bill would only have been for coffee/tea.

Service and communication should be a lot better folks!


Helpful?
2 Thank JSS4078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place but slow service ”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

I have been in epicures a couple of times last year and had a great time but having visited at the weekend I was disappointed in the service. It was very slow for drinks despite being after 10pm & not very busy. I don't knowing they are tying to give off a laid back feel but it doesn't work.

Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy81burns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

25 mins to make 3 coffee and 1 hot chocolate all then served cold plenty of staff just slow and unorganised won't be back

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Bluetam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Epicures of Hyndland also viewed

 

Been to Epicures of Hyndland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing