We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian Masterclass was an all round great day out we cooked, we ate and we tasted wine.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tennent's Training Academy

Tennent's Training Academy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hidden behind the gates of the famous Wellpark Brewery in Glasgow’s East End sits Scotland's only purpose built cook school. Wide range of classes available from an afternoon cocktail-making class to a full professional chef qualification. Scottish cooking and whisky tastings available.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Italian Masterclass was an all round great day out we cooked, we ate and we tasted wine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

We arrived to be welcomed by staff who offered us refreshments then transported us to the cook school where we met our chef, John Quinn.

We were taught to bake bread, make tortellini from scratch, prepare and cook chicken with fresh passata & veg woth tiramisu to finish. All the while we were given tips and encouraged to ask questions. The atmosphere was very relaxed and comfortable.

We then sat at a table to eat what we had produced. It was simply delicious. To accompany our meal we tried 2 white, 2 red & 1 rose whilst we chatted & enjoyed.

Thoroughly enjoyable day. Can't think of a better way to spend a rainy day in Glasgow.

We will return. Thoroughly recommend it!

Helpful?
Thank HolidayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme W, Sales and Marketing Exec at Tennent's Training Academy, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Hi,

Thank you very much for your great review of the Italian Masterclass. It is always great to hear feedback on the courses and I hope that you have been using your recipes and apron at home. We have plenty of rainy days in Glasgow so I look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    10
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hen Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Used an itison voucher for 10 of us to go along for a hastily arranged Hen Night(don't ask). A bit out of the way, but fine with taxis and a great night was had by all. Ashleigh (I think)was helping us mix the cocktails, tenants lager free at source too. For £15 we had 4 cocktails and as nuch lager as we could consume! Good fun start to our evening!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank weekendwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme W, Sales & Marketing Exec at Tennent's Training Academy, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Hi,

Thank you very much for your review of our cocktail masterclass, I am glad that everyone had a good time and i hope the Hen had a great evening. We also do xmas parties and gift vouchers so make sure to mention us to your friends and get your Xmas night out arranged in advance.

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Night Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Just been on my third visit to the Academy where I went to the wine tasting event. Previous visits were for Cook, Cocktails & Corinthian. Both experiences were very well organised and really relaxed and informal. All the staff are friendly and everyone is made to feel most welcome and encouraged to ask questions. The chefs and tutors are all extremely knowledgeable. Alcohol is free flowing on both experiences, so make sure you are not planning to drive! A really great way to spend a fun evening with friends and to try something different. You leave with recipes for the Cook & Cocktails and can take notes on the wines tasted, so you can try to make the food and cocktails at home and hopefully the notes on the wine will improve the quality of the wine you might buy and drink in the future. There is absolutely no sales pressure to buy any wine. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme W, Sales & Marketing Exec at Tennent's Training Academy, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your great reviews on the courses and the team at TTA, It is always good to see people returning for courses and trying new things with us. We are adding in different types of courses all the time so make sure to keep an eye on our website and we look forward to seeing you back again soon!

We also do xmas parties and gift vouchers so make sure to mention us to your friends.

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cook with Gas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Fantastic experience and well worth a visit! Great opportunity to learn from an expert in convivial surroundings. Had a wonderful time making pasta and risotto not to mention the wine tasting!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme W, Sales & Marketing Exec at Tennent's Training Academy, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Hi Michele,

Thank you for your review of our Italian Masterclass and Wine Tasting. This is a fairly new course for us and we are constantly trying to develop this and try new wines and flavours in the dishes. I hope you have been getting your Apron on at home and recreted your dishes.

We look forward to seeing you for your next culinary adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“What a Fantastic Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Went with a friend as we are both interested in wine and fancied a night with a difference. We had a great time. The wines got better as the night progressed, and not just because we'd been drinking, the 'hostess' made a bottle do all all 18 of us!

There were cheese, biscuits and grapes to help it all down and we met some very interesting people from all walks of life. So much so I don't think any of us wanted to go home and we all managed to spin the night out for a lot longer that it was supposed to last.

We met other people from Glasow, the West of Scotland and torousits from much futher afield and it all helped to enrich our evening.

To top it all off we were given the opportunity to purchase portions of curry from the cooking class next door and it was so good that'll be our next adventure!

Let your hair down and do something different - you never know, you may enjoy it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Foodie50XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme W, Sales & Marketing Exec at Tennent's Training Academy, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for your great feedback with regards to the wine tasting evening. We always love to hear that people have had a good time with us and i hope you enjoyed the Curry, we have only recently started to make this available to others while the class is on so I am glad its going down well. It is always great when the everyone interacts during the sessions and makes it that bit more fun.

We cant wait to see you back for your next class!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tennent's Training Academy also viewed

 

Been to Tennent's Training Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing