We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tasty dish”

Tennent's Training Academy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hidden behind the gates of the famous Wellpark Brewery in Glasgow’s East End sits Scotland's only purpose built cook school. Wide range of classes available from an afternoon cocktail-making class to a full professional chef qualification. Scottish cooking and whisky tastings available.
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Was given a gift of the Italian cooking evening at the Tennents Training Academy. Had no idea what to expect. It turned out to be a really great evening. The chef was very welcoming in a relaxed understated way. The evening started with a glass of wine and then the cooking demonstration started. Having made foccacia bread we moved on to a starter. After the chef's demonstration we moved to our work station to make our own starter. Once completed we sat down to eat it and it tasted very good. Then it was back for the demonstration of the main dish then our turn to make it. Again this dish was delicious. I really liked the way the chef allowed us to prepare and cook our dishes without hanging over us to see if we were doing it properly but was readily on hand to answer questions or offer a helping hand. It made for a very relaxed and fun night. I would certainly recommend it to anyone wanting a different type of evening and you don't need to be a cook! However the best bit was the man in the background who produced all our ingredients and very quietly and efficiently tidied and washed up after us! Now even I could produce something passable with that kind of support. Thank you kind sir!

1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Sales & Marketing Exec at Tennent's Training Academy at Tennent's Training Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Hi there Linda,

Thanks for your wonderful feedback of our 'Essential Italian Cookery' class. This has always been a favourite of our customers and were very glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us at The Academy too.

I will be sure to pass your comments onto Michael the chef and Ally our kitchen porter.

We hope to welcome you to The Academy again soon. Do keep an eye on our website as we are always adding new dates and classes!

Thanks again,

Laura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 133 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

Without a doubt, this was a birthday gift that was good for the birthday girl, and the other 9 of us who attended the recent Cook, Cocktails and Corinthian event ... What a combination. Chef Michael put us all at ease straight away as he demonstrated how all of us could cook a dish that could easily appear on a Top Class Restaurant menu. The kitchen was well laid out and the atmosphere was brilliant. After cooking, eating and enjoying our own chicken dishes we moved to the training Lounge Bar where we learned the secrets of good cocktails. Three cocktails later ... All very, very nice ... Private taxis drove us to the Corinthian Club where we enjoyed the fun of the casino and some further drinks in very smart surroundings. A brilliant night that we'll talk about for many years to come.

Thank Jaunters_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme W, Sales & Marketing Exec at Tennent's Training Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for your great review of our "Cook, Cocktails & Corinthian Club" package. I will be certain to pass on your feedback to Michael the chef. This is always a popular event especially for groups on a night out so I am glad the birthday girl had fun. I hope that you have a go at recreating your dish at home and that we will be seeing you again in the near future, whether on this on another one of our leisure activities.

We will be running events all through the year and are constantly adding new treats to our leisure events so be sure to keep in touch.

Thank you again,

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The Tennent's Training Academy is tucked away at the very back of the major brewery complex. You would think that this fact alone would give this facility a difficulty not experienced by other cook schools where you simply park up, and sign in. Not the case - the process of getting you from the gates of the brewery to the academy is seamless with a little shuttle bus running up and down every few minutes.

The place itself is well laid out and ideally suited to large and small group sessions. The welcome was warm, and a summer glass of sangria was in our hands almost before our feet touched the ground.

Our cocktail class and pizza making class were fun. The staff are keen to please and everything is done in the most professional of ways.

Highly recommended for a great night out.

Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme W, Sales & Marketing Exec at Tennent's Training Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review of your Corporate Cookery Master class. I will be certain to pass on your feedback to the whole team. I know that Michael enjoyed the event too and I hope that you have taken away the recipes and you have been recreating your dishes at home.

We always aim to provide exceptional experiences and will have a whole host of new ideas coming in for the second half of 2013 so make sure to get in touch for your next event and we will also be running throughout December our Alternative Xmas party ideas if you wish to come back with your friends or colleagues.

Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Great night with curry making course followed by comedy at Jongleurs. Really well organised, great value, entertaining and with a focus on having fun. Recommended whether you're a local or visiting Glasgow

Thank Grahame S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme W, Sales & Marketing Exec at Tennent's Training Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Hi Grahame,

Thank you for your great review of our "Cook, Curry & Comedy Club" package. I will be certain to pass on your feedback to the whole team. This is always a popular event and our Fridays book up fast. I hope that you have a go at recreating your curry at home and that we will be seeing you again in the near future.

We always aim to provide exceptional experiences and will have a whole host of new ideas released shortly for Xmas 2013 so make sure to get in touch for your next event and it would be great to see you all again for "Xmas with a Twist".

Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My dad and I had a fantastic Fathers Day experience at Tennent's Training Academy yesterday with a private masterclass with Chef, Michael Kilkie who shared with us the top tips on cooking steak which my dad absolutely loved and getting to cook AND eat the steaks after was a real treat!

We were then taken to the training bar with Steph to learn how to pull a pint and cocktail shaking which was lots of fun - not only that the service provided over-exceeded expectation and we will definitely both be back for some masterclasses - trade and leisure! Thanks again to both Steph and Michael for making the day so special!!!

Thank Lover_of_food89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme W, Sales & Marketing Exec at Tennent's Training Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review of your Fathers Day. I will be certain to pass on your feedback to the Steph and Michael. I hope you have been recreating your sauces and cooking up some delicious steaks (and cocktails) at home.

We always aim to provide exceptional experiences and will have a whole host of new ideas throughout 2013 so make sure to get in touch for your next day out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tennent's Training Academy also viewed

 

Been to Tennent's Training Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing