We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wellpark Brewery Tour”

Tennent's Training Academy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hidden behind the gates of the famous Wellpark Brewery in Glasgow’s East End sits Scotland's only purpose built cook school. Wide range of classes available from an afternoon cocktail-making class to a full professional chef qualification. Scottish cooking and whisky tastings available.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wellpark Brewery Tour”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A great day out on a Sunday. We toured all around the brewery and learned about the history of Tennent's. I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the place and all of the different things they do in the Tennent's Training Academy.

We had fun at the end in the T Bar. The tour guide was fantastic.

A fun day had by all!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LT262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team T T A, Guest Relations Manager at Tennent's Training Academy, responded to this review, 27 January 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Tennent’s Visitor Centre!

We’re really glad you enjoyed the tour, and we’re elated to know that you appreciated all aspects of the tour including the history, as we pride ourselves on offering a tour that is jam packed with Glasgow culture as well as brewing production. We hope to see you next time you come back to Glasgow.

Kind Regards

The Tennent's Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    10
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Christmas Night”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The staff at the Tennent's Academy where fantastic to work with in organizing our xmas party. They catered to our every need without hesitation and where a great help on the night. The food was fantastic !! and I would highly recommend the cocktail masterclass it was great fun.I would very highly recommend this venue and look forward to our next visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Sales & Marketing Exec at Tennent's Training Academy at Tennent's Training Academy, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hi there Karen,

Thanks for your wonderful feedback on your Christmas night with us last year.

I'm glad to hear you and your team enjoyed the evening so much. Here at Tennent's Training Academy we also love the Cocktail Masterclass as it gets everyone up and having a laugh together!

We hope to welcome you back soon and would be happy to arrange another party for your group. We can tailor any packages to suit your party.

Many thanks,

Laura McNaughton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cooking, Cocktails & Corinthian.”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic night out! Went on the cooking & cocktail masterclass for our staff Christmas night out before being transported to the Corinthian for a night of partying. Staff were knowledgable, engaging & great fun with head chef Michael helping us to cook up a storm before Laura shared her expertise on cocktails & got everyone up making their own. Would throughly recommend this to anyone- 1st class night out for any occasion.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Sales & Marketing Exec at Tennent's Training Academy at Tennent's Training Academy, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi there Sean,

Thanks for your recent review of your time at the Tennent's Training Academy.

I'm so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your Christmas night out with us. The Cook, Cocktail & The Corinthian package is a favourite with group bookings and it's lovely to hear how you thought the evening was knowledgeable as well as fun! Michael, Ally, Laura and the team were thrilled to hear your wonderful comments.

If your group would like to join us again we also arrange specially tailored packages for group bookings so we can have a new package just for you!

Hope to welcome you again soon,

Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Super night out”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was a really enjoyable night out, informative, fun and the food we made was fab. Michael Kilkie is an excellent instructor, he had the perfect balance between serious and fun, lots of good recipes and cooking tips: The Thai food we learned to make was great and really tasty.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Iris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Sales & Marketing Exec at Tennent's Training Academy at Tennent's Training Academy, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hi there,

Thanks very much for taking the time to review your recent time at The Academy. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our Thai Masterclass so much.

I have passed your comments onto Michael and his team and they were delighted to hear how you feel that you learnt so much during the class whilst having fun! We hope you take some time out to recreate the dishes at home using the recipe book provided on the day.

We hope to welcome you back soon - you can keep up to date with whats on at The Academy using our website or any of our social media outlets. Facebook is often updated with our latest deals too!

Many thanks,

Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brewery visitor centre and guided visit”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Had a great visit guided by the lovely Linda, she certainly knows her subject and put it across professionally with a hint of good old Glasgow humour, very much appreciated by "The Grumpy Slumpers", a group of seven retired concrete technologists.
The brewery is automation on a big scale but history showed what an important service it paid to its employees in the early days. It comes across as one of Glasgows great success stories.
We intend to return and spend more time as we only allocated ourselves just over the hour when two hours would have been more appropriate.
Would recommend a visit but give yourselves ample time and arrive early to have a coffee and a bacon roll in the cafe.
Well done Linda. We went away feeling a lot less grumpy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GrumpySlumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Sales & Marketing Exec at Tennent's Training Academy at Tennent's Training Academy, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear The Grumpy Slumpers,

Thanks very much for taking the time to review your recent tour of Wellpark Brewery. We have recently updated our tours and take pride in showing off one of Glasgow's leading attractions.

It's lovely to hear your great impressions on the brewery, the history and of course Linda! I have passed over your comments so she been able to have a read and I'm sure she will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us so much.

We will look forward to welcoming you all again soon and will make sure the kettle is warm for the second visit!

Many thanks,

Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tennent's Training Academy also viewed

 

Been to Tennent's Training Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing