We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and Last”
Review of Pesto Italian Restaurant - CLOSED

Pesto Italian Restaurant
Price range: US$0 - US$32
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Joint winner of People's Choice Award, Scottish Italian Awards 2013. Finalist for Most Romantic Restaurant and Best Wine List.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“First and Last”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

On arrival for our first visit to Pesto all seemed good , Nice welcome - lovely decor - good staff - great wines (important) average menu ! then unfortunately it started to go down hill, the standard of food was no less than poor . Sorry but no matter how good the place looks and how hard the waitress works to make your stay enjoyable, it is the food that you go for and it was the worst I have had in any Glasgow restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MattoScozzese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    140
    43
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tapas Style Italian Food”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Although it doesnt saw anywhere on the sign we were pleasantly surprised to find that this was a tapas style italian restaurant. Although the service wasnt the best - it was quite busy - the food was good and I will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexpinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilmarnock
1 review
“First class & It does not cost the earth”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We recently tried this restaurant based on the reviews we have read in trip advisor and in the papers. It is italian tapas, but the portions are great sized and quality, service is friendly, decor is very nice which lends to the atmosphere.The prices for the food and wine are second to none in the city centre.!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good - great place for lunch!”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I had not read any reviews on here before I went, but my friends had and suggested we tried it. To be honest I was a bit dubious... but pleasantly surprised.

They serve tapas-type italian dishes, so for an Italian food lover you can have a bit of everything! We ordered pizzete and a pasta each which for lunch was ample, though they do suggest that you order three dishes. We thought we'd try two each and we could always get more if it wasn't sufficient. All the dishes we tried were delicious, I especially liked the lasagne and the gnocchi was good too. The pizzete were good with delicious toppings and thin and crispy bases.

We didn't have dessert as the desserts didn't seen as good as the rest of the menu, though there was a selection of different types of dessert to choose from.

The only reason I haven't score this 5/5 is that whilst the service was ok, it was just 'ok'. At one point one server was trying to take our order and another was trying to get our attention to place down the drinks we had ordered - really the drinks server should have waited but she was desperate to fight for out attention from the food-ordering waitress. In addition all the servers were sullen and only displayed basic customer service skills, and one of the dishes they brought to us was wrong so we had to wait a few more minutes for that to be rectified... however the quality of the food outweighs the 'ok' service we experienced.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaimie_McG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
“First try, won't be the last!”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We decided to try this restaurant on the back of the great review it recieved in a national newspaper. On our experience this review was spot on, service was warm & friendly, food was great ( small dishes but dont be fooled loads of eating) and the prices were something Glasgow really needs. too many false italian restaurants in glasgow who charge over the top prices for bland food. Not PESTO great value, great place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pesto Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing