We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cafe, great food”
Review of Eat Cafe - CLOSED

Eat Cafe
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South Side
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Been here a few times and it is close to where I live. I love coming here, has great tasting and delicious food, lots of variety and coffees and soft drinks. I am never disappointed. I will continue to come here and highly recommend this cafe. Not easy to miss as is on main road - Kilmarnock road, u won't miss it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank naz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathryn113, Owner at Eat Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thankyou very much. Glad you like the cafe & make it a regular haunt. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

On a busy street with an amount of bars and restaurants it would be easy to walk past this chic little eaterie but don't.
Small but with a nice busy vibe the staff are friendly and the food is great.
I would recommend the crab linguine with hazelnuts a combination I'd never met before but which was delicious.
A fairly basic wines/ drinks list but the menu is lovely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank m h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathryn113, Owner at Eat Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thankyou. Glad you enjoyed eat cafe & hope you will be back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went today (28th May) for my birthday lunch with my mother. The place was relatively full and we were served within ten minutes and had two amazing courses finished well within an hour. We both had the smoked haddock chowder - maw complained that it was bit thin but I thought it was perfect. Not over-seasoned which can happen very easily, it was delicious and the haddock wasn't over-powering. Maw had the focaccia and I had the burger with the pulled pork. We both agreed that the portions were good-sized, the burger with pork was absolutely stunning, I had the pulled pork ragu on a previous visit and I was still not disappointed. Maw took home a doggy bag with the remains of the sandwich she couldn't finish.
I'm looking forward to the next excuse to go, as if I'd need one.
Excellent value, good service, well-balanced menu and superb food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathryn113, Owner at Eat Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thankyou so much. Lovely feedback & really glad you enjoyed eat cafe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We were looking for something to eat in Shawlands and stumbled across this cafe, adding to the atmosphere was live music ,although it was busy we managed to get a table, the meal was superb, I had the most delicious curried butternut soup, followed by an exquisite smoked haddock risotto with a softly cooked poached egg on top, it was truly delicious, a lovely glass of red merlot and a coffee to finish off the meal, it was a nice surprise to have a meal that was completely faultless, definitely well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank fifitrixibelle62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathryn113, Owner at Eat Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

thankyou so much for a fantastic review. really glad you enjoyed the food and the ambience of eat cafe. we had live music as part of the southside festival - atmosphere was great and musicians were excellent. hope to see you again soon, and thanks again for a glowing review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

A small but very welcoming place to eat.... always busy and people coming and going... very popular place to eat in Shawlands.... Service always with a smile... with freshly made food served all day long... Most , if not all made on the premises.... HIGHLY recommend this for healthy OR not so healthy home made food..!!! Wine also available....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathryn113, Owner at Eat Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

a big thankyou. glad you liked the cafe, and thanks for positive feedback. always appreciated. look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eat Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing