We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander Thomson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Ranked #68 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely budget hotel in the centre of Glasgow. The rooms are really spacious & have everything you need for a very comfortable stay. The beds are amazingly comfortable. The breakfast is self service & has a really good selection.

The rooms have lovely thick curtains which keep out the light & rooms are really quiet. Overall it's a really good hotel & excellent value for money (£44 per night for 2 with breakfast )

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ny20005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    639
    450
    190
    168
See reviews for
201
679
161
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

My husband and I booked on a website on the morning of 27th, we decided to head to Glasgow for a bit of shopping and few drinks we arrived at the hotel check in was quick and on to our room, basic but had everything you need, attention to detail in the cleanliness of bathroom could have been better.
The breakfast was ok, however although check out was 10.30 we received a knock on our door 10.25 to ensure we were leaving, we were actually on way out. Good for a one night stay and at a deal of £44 for the 2 of us was worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_borst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

Don't judge a book by its cover. This is a perfectly adequate hotel in terms of bedroom facilities. The location is ideal, very near to Central Station and in he heart of the Financial Services District.

Room Tip: Front rooms noisier as facing busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klette0147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

This place was relatively cheap - about £80per night online, however it is in dire need of a makeover, it looks like a seventies style hotel , fine if you like retro but it really is years out of date. Breakfast is the same every single day, without variation, the staff were rather ignorant in that the breakfast area was cleared whilst we were still eating.
There is nothing in the least 'Scottish' about the place and facilities were minimal to say the least. We had the luxury of a hairdryer in our room, although it was about forty years old!
.

Room Tip: there aren't any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomnGerryDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Isle of skye
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

I stayed here for one night, my Parents and Daughter and her partner for 2 nights, all the rooms were clean and modern, my P arents had a sofa in there one all were refurbished, it was cheap through Booking.com, so cheap i wondered what We would be getting so was pleasently surprised.Staff freindly enough, location perfect, the only let down was breakfast not a big fan of help yourself buffets, I like a teapot and a rack of toast on my table! but would definatley stay again.

Room Tip: Book a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahIsleofskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERKHAMSTED
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

In a bit of rundown area but no 500 bus from airport stops nearby. Also Tesco Metro few doors away. Twin room clean and good size, we were on 5th floor and lift a bit slow, but never mind. Hot water tank on floor one so need to run for 10 mins. Very good value with lots of budget travellers like us. Breakfast buffet but what a great selection on hot and cold food. Could have done with hot or at least warm plates. I would stay again, no problem.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordonberkhamsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Stayed here for one night. Breakfast hot and cold with a good selection. Free WiFi, and clean rooms. The room I was in had a high toilet. If I was any shorter, I would have needed ladders? I had a room facing on to the main road, no noise. Good for the business traveller. Nice lounge, but reception area could do with a face lift. Toiletries are provided e.g. shampoo etc. Easy to check in and out.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amia_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#75 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#85 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Property: Alexander Thomson Hotel
Address: 320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing