We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Argyll Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
US$113
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,985)
Filter reviews
1,985 results
Traveller rating
321
735
523
221
185
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
735
523
221
185
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral stationluggage roombottled waterbuffet stylecity centreiron and ironing boardfifth floorbreakfast was includedtea and coffeeflat screen tvcooked breakfastself servicebreakfast roomroom was largewould stay againmain shoppingyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,127 - 1,132 of 1,985 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Have stayed here three times now. Twice with my partner and once with a friend. It's a very reasonably priced hotel in a good location, two minutes from Central Station. It's a bit shabby round the edges, but the rooms I've had have always been clean. The breakfast buffet is very well stocked, although the uncooked tomatoes and the crisps are a bit of a mystery to me ;)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for two nights from 17 December 2013. To be truthful, I was very concerned on arrival as the outside of the hotel was a little run down. The interior is extremely old and I would assume this hotel itself was built a very long time ago. There is a very strange layout to the rooms but the rooms themselves were fine, not great but for the price we paid we were happy with what we got. Unfortunately the bathroom had a very strange smell, like cooking cabbage. We asked at reception if it could be looked into and if we could change rooms if it persisted. When we returned it smell seemed to have gone and we were quite pleased, but the next day it was back. We chose not to go through the effort of changes rooms for one night’s stay. The breakfast was very good and the staff were friendly. I would stay here again if it was financially the better choice but that would be my only reason.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyTravelBugSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

On arrival looked a bit run done staff friendly, when we got to room it was dark run down and not very clean. Further expection our bed covers had stains on them and bathroom had lots of curly hairs and shower was cleaned with a smelly cloth. We got our sheets changed, bed so uncomfy springs poking into back, breakfast not up to much, please believe the bad reviews on this places, it's a great location but that's about it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

A very well located hotel in Central Glasgow. Just 2 mins walk from Central Station which must be handy if you have luggage. Friendly staff and reasonable room size but the whole place is a little tired but was value for money

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

stayed here over a very rainy weekend in early December. The atmosphere is Old World Charm and for price don't expect shiny new rooms. Mine was very large - complete with a couch and table. (my friend's was not but I reserved well ahead of time) I don't think I have ever had not only the bottled water replaced over 1 night but the biscuits as well! the Staff were superbly helpful and knowledgeable. internet faultless. breakfast full and filling. heat and hot water fine. one block from the Central Station. Pub in the vicinity is Wetherspoon - packed with Scots of all ages and of course - great fish and chips. can walk to all sights in the center. Due the charm of this hotel, and its people, I ended up preferring Glasgow to Edinburgh. Will happily stay here again. Big room could have been 411 but not certain.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatinRzeszow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews