We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Ranked #68 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for my Dad's 80th on the 24th and 25th January. There were 16 family members and everyone enjoyed themselves and the accommodation. Would recommend. Good central location. Very keenly priced.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,054 - 1,060 of 1,910 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

I have now stayed at this hotel three times. Twice with a friend and last time with a friend and my partner. We paid £162 for three of us for 2 nights stay in a family room which included breakfast. Though a little worn around the edges I found our rooms each time to be clean and comfortable. We visit Glasgow regularly for concerts and shows and have found this hotel to be in a perfect location. Near to Glasgow Central Station, a few doors down is a Wetherspoons Pub and a Brazilian restaurant 'Tropeiro' that is incredible. The cooked breakfast served in the hotel is not amazing in quality however it is served buffet style so you can have as much or as little as you like. Though I must say the idea of boiled garlic mushrooms on a breakfast confused me a little. They also have a selection of cereals pastries and fruit if you prefer as well as tea coffee and fruit juices. Overall for the price you'll pay it is definitely worth it. If you're looking for somewhere clean, comfortable and central give this hotel a try. I am going back next month for another 2 night stay.

Room Tip: They have some rooms that just have a shower cubicle, no bath so if you have limited mobility I sugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a perfect location for our 1 night stay we booked the executive suite huge room and lovley ensuite . Room was spotless plenty of towels ect but could of done with a extra pillow . All staff were very helpful and friendly , breakfast was lovley plenty of choice will definetley be returning to this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilly000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Great location. Great price. £56 for a couple, 1 night, 2 breakfasts. Nice decor. Friendly staff.

My girlfriend and I came to Glasgow for a weekend in may 2013, from the North East of England.
We walked out the train station and proceeded to the first hotel we seen, as we didnt book in advance, was to expencive the first we tried, and just out of the corner of my eye I seen this building so walked closer and noticed it was a hotel.
Managed to get a room for the night at only £56 pound I think it was....it was one of the only ones they had left though so it was in the top floor where the receptionist told us it wasnt the best rooms so she let us check the room out before buying... its was still a nice room, clean, cosy, free tv, buiscuits, water bottles, tea, iron. No kettle for tea bags though. Toiliteries also in the en suite, we were amazed with the price to be honest. View from the room was terrible but we didnt mind.

Deffinatle recommend

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NewToReview2338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The Alexander Thomson has been,by far, the best hotel I have stayed at in Glasgow. The breakfast facility is second to none,absolutely fantastic!Buffet breakfast that never seems to run out!The bar was great and the staff were very friendly!Would definitely stay there again!As long as I got the cheaper rate again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeDawn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Do not judge this hotel from the outside or the street area, although a little dated it is a really old building but is so comfortable and really good value, tea coffee facilities, water, biscuits in room, toiletries etc, clean towels daily- excellent well stocked cooked breakfast as well as cereal, toast, croissants etc. The reception is a little unwelcoming but the lady on duty was very friendly and when we asked to change rooms as there was music playing somewhere she could not have been more accomodating, we had a slightly smaller room than before but was a good sized twin and it looks as if the bathrooms have all been renewed. The corridor carpets are a little worn but we are so impressed with the value and location of this hotel that we are visiting again next january,blame Mr Barrowman in Panto. Keep up the good work, your staff have always been more than helpful

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simmo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We chose this hotel mainly for its location and the price. Rooms are dated and need some tlc but our one was of a good size. The good points were the cooked breakfast (quality not the best), staff restocked bottles of water in room, hotel location near Central station. Negative points were the unfriendly reception staff, room wasn't made up one night and the wifi was very poor. Don't expect luxury remember you get what you pay for!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DDNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
846 reviews
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,216 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Address: 320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £41 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing