We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Ranked #69 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Very centrally located near the railway station this hotel has large, clean rooms excellent for families or groups of friends. Don't be put off by the small reception area, the lounges and breakfast rooms are on the first floor and have been recently re-furnished. Our room had 2 large double beds, a sitting area and the biggest bathroom I've ever seen in a hotel. The breakfast is included in the price and there is plenty of choice.

Room Tip: There is some street noise in rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penrithperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

The hotel is situated in the city centre and is ideal for a visit to Glasgow, with a very good shopping area and plenty of restaurants and pubs.
The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The hotel is quite large and very ornate, with lots of corridors each with paintings and photo`s.
The reception has a large staircase with paintings hung all the way up.
The bar (no draft beer) and adjoining rooms includes the breakfast area with a excellent buffet breakfast.
These area`s are very plush with lots of leather chesterfield style furniture with great decoration
to the walls, with paintings. The hotel was very clean and well maintained.
The room i had was excellent with good decoration and a good bathroom with good shower ect.
There was tea and coffee in the room along with a tv and hair dryer and plenty of liturature for
Glasgow.
The room had seating and the bed was very comfortable.
Overall i would recommend this hotel as a great place to stay for a trip to Glasgow and look for good prices on booking sites which will bring the room price down even though the normal prices are good for a hotel of this standard.

Room Tip: I would choose a room at the front there is very little noise. Check for photos on trip advisor as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEVIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Was looking for a 2 night stay in Glasgow and found this hotel on late rooms. The staff were friendly and breakfast was good and no complaints about our room. We were that pleased with this hotel we are using it again for our next trip to Glasgow in October.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindaandiancarnoustie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just enjoyed a long weekend staying there. Have stayed at more expensive hotels and this is on a par if not better. Excellent location two minutes from the station. Very large spotlessly clean rooms comfy bed and great breakfast will be returning

Room Tip: Try if possible to get room facing away from main street less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for my Dad's 80th on the 24th and 25th January. There were 16 family members and everyone enjoyed themselves and the accommodation. Would recommend. Good central location. Very keenly priced.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I have now stayed at this hotel three times. Twice with a friend and last time with a friend and my partner. We paid £162 for three of us for 2 nights stay in a family room which included breakfast. Though a little worn around the edges I found our rooms each time to be clean and comfortable. We visit Glasgow regularly for concerts and shows and have found this hotel to be in a perfect location. Near to Glasgow Central Station, a few doors down is a Wetherspoons Pub and a Brazilian restaurant 'Tropeiro' that is incredible. The cooked breakfast served in the hotel is not amazing in quality however it is served buffet style so you can have as much or as little as you like. Though I must say the idea of boiled garlic mushrooms on a breakfast confused me a little. They also have a selection of cereals pastries and fruit if you prefer as well as tea coffee and fruit juices. Overall for the price you'll pay it is definitely worth it. If you're looking for somewhere clean, comfortable and central give this hotel a try. I am going back next month for another 2 night stay.

Room Tip: They have some rooms that just have a shower cubicle, no bath so if you have limited mobility I sugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a perfect location for our 1 night stay we booked the executive suite huge room and lovley ensuite . Room was spotless plenty of towels ect but could of done with a extra pillow . All staff were very helpful and friendly , breakfast was lovley plenty of choice will definetley be returning to this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilly000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#71 of 93 in Glasgow
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,178 reviews
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Address: 320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £46 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing