We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Ranked #68 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“poor”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This hotel is very outdated and run down. the room had a horrible smell, we requested to be moved and the next room was the same it smelt old and stale. The lift is very slow, the wifi was awful kept stopping and not working. The only thing that was good was the buffet breakfast there was lots of choice and it was hot. Definately would not go back here its too grubby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    665
    471
    203
    169
See reviews for
209
714
169
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
648 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed one night, third visit to Glasgow but will not stay here again. Location only 2 minutes from station which is good, but opposite rundown building and next too a sex shop and seedy pub.
Blackened out windows on arrival do not inspire and reception not very appealing. Have to say all staff we interacted with friendly and efficient. The common rooms upstairs are large and with some TLC could be a lot more appealing. Lift areas very dated and old pictures down the bedroom corridors give impression of better times.
Room was large and clean, bathroom also large and clean but both gave impression of better days with peeling plaster and some broken fixtures. Bedroom window was open on arrival and would not close (old sash type). Tea/coffee and biscuits in room and a good freeview TV.
Being Saturday night quite a lot of noise in hotel corridors in the early hours with groups of girls returning from night out.
Breakfast was ok in a café sort of way but not the best presented and found the sliced bread very dry.
As said room clean but I got what I paid.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAN O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed here on a business trip to test out the hotel for my company who frequently visit Glasgow and always end up booking premier inn. I found the hotel staff friendly and helpful, and the room clean and HUGE. I was travelling alone and in my room i had a double bed, single bed, a sofa, a work station and still had enough room to "swing a cat". The furniture was a little dated and didn't completely match but i wasnt there to judge the feng shui. I found the mattress comfortable and the sheets clean and crisp. The bathroom too was clean and you are provided with shampoo, soap and body lotion as well as enough loo roll to last your booking. All in all for the price i was incredibly pleased and have recommended this hotel for my companies future trips.

Please note i think the building may be listed and so the windows are single glazed to could be a little noisy (wasnt during my stay and my room faced the main road).

The Breakfast by the way was SUPERB.

Room Tip: My room was 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMTKAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Nice stay but the internet is very slow and was not working all the time!!! We like the breakfast, but the bed was very small for 2 !!! The street is very noisy!! But anyway we love this hotel and the price is good!!! I hope we will go again there!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Hotel gives an overall impression of squeezing tourists and paying a minimum to keep the place running:
-Very old elevator which was not functional during parts of our stay
-Not noiseproof walls, we could hear noise from the hallway as well as neighbours
-Sewer smell coming from the pipes in the bathroom
-Overall feel of rundown old building
-WIFI was totally not functional during our stay, very inconvenient when you need internet connection to work and end up having to pay 50€ roaming fee with your mobile plan as workaround.
+Breakfast was OK for the price

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My.husband and i.and our friends stayed here a.one night stay.for four of us , .room was.lovely ,good sized room ,very.clean.,and hotel was quiet considering size.of.hotel ! Buffet breakfast was outstanding ! Will defo.be staying again ,also five.mins walk.to city centre a great one night stay.!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizhunter_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Spent 2 nights in the Alexander Thomson hotel recently and found it to be spotlessly clean, although some of the décor could do with updating. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We couldn't believe that breakfast was included in the price we paid as it was so cheap. The hotel is situated in a great location to explore the city .If you are having any doubts about booking this hotel I would say go for it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granniespice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,073 reviews
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#74 of 95 in Glasgow
530 reviews
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#31 of 95 in Glasgow
3,293 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#38 of 95 in Glasgow
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Property: Alexander Thomson Hotel
Address: 320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing