We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'd definately stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Ranked #69 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I'd definately stay again”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed in a twin and the room was clean, we had bottled water each day and the beds were big - like mini doubles. The bathroom was clean too.
The staff were lovely, the breakfast is a decent buffet spread and whilst you have no parking, you get reduced rates of £6 per 24 hours in Jamaca Street Q Park.
I would absolutely stay here again without hesitation and it was very quiet when we stayed (St. Patricks!) so would reccommened to all.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HazelFarrelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    656
    463
    197
    169
See reviews for
208
699
165
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Breakfast cook could not even boil water!!!!!!
WIFI only available in corridors and at a couple of tables in dining area, and ofcourse in the "managers" office so whats the problem!
Watresses exellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed at Alexander Thomson with a friend on a shopping trip. Food excellent and bathroom absolutely spotless. Plenty of tea making facilities. Will definately be back. This.was my second visit, enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We chose this hotel as it was very central and within walking distance of the O2 Academy where we were attending a concert. The room was large, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was fine. The entrance lobby and reception desk seemed a bit dark and claustrophobic but the staff were friendly enough. Overall a pleasant enough stay, if nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank aobri01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My room was on the top floor but the lift did not go that far so had to walk up a flight of stairs. When it rained the rain ran down one of the walls. However, for the price I will be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank denis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

There was plenty of hot water and good pressure.
Good provisions of tea & coffees with plenty of sugar sachets. Bottled water a bonus. Breakfast was good, plenty of it. My room was at the back and so it was quiet. Very spacious with all that was needed.
Location excellent close to Central Station and the shopping areas.

Not deal breakers but they do need attention.
1. Shower curtain absolutely filthy, either clean it or get rid of it. Room 108
2. Dust on the toilet roll bracket.
3. Blacken windows outside hotel makes it look seedy, you could brighten this up by having a local artist paint it (maybe from a local art college) or put details outlining the facilities of the hotel. This will make it more pleasing to the eye.
4. Double glazing is a must. The room was cold, no extra blankets available.
5. Internet was non existent, could not connect at all, for business travellers this would be unexceptable.

Room Tip: The room I was in was at the back, it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham Kent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights and think it was a very good hotel. The only thing that spoilt it was the noise of the traffic and inconsiderate people talking at the tops of their voices at silly o clock. Also the walls were very thin. Found it very clean good breakfast apart from the bacon a bit rubbery. I think if I go again I would chose a room at the back of the hotel. Nice touches are plenty of tea and coffee in your room toiletries and bottles of water which I've never seen before. Nice staff also. I would return here for another visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#76 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#36 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Property: Alexander Thomson Hotel
Address: 320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing