We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Walk From Glasgow Central” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander Thomson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Ranked #68 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Short Walk From Glasgow Central”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great old hotel close to Glasgow Central railway. Huge room but very comfortable, easily adjusted heater for comfort. Has a small lift which is great. Breakfast was excellent and served in a wonderfully decorated dining room.

Room Tip: You may need ear plugs if you have a room fronting the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seekerof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    641
    450
    190
    168
See reviews for
201
680
161
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We really liked this hotel - came out of Glasgow Central station - took Hope Street exit (quickest way) - just a few yards away opposite the Radisson Blu (you can see it on exit from station) is this old victorian hotel. Reception staff were very nice and friendly - we had room 401 (smoking room) on the fourth floor facing the main road. Unfortunately not double glazed but not bad for our mid-week break of four nights. Our room was extremely spacious, bed not as comfortable as I would have liked but I compensated by using the single duvet on the spare bed (had double and a single in our room) by lying on it. Nice size TV with freeview. Tea/coffee, iron and ironing board, bathroom with shower (plenty of hot water), wardrobe and drawers. Breakfast buffet had everything you could want - cooked items, cereals, croissants, muffins, fruit juice, tea and coffee.
I dare anyone to moan really because the price we paid you would not even get without breakfast at a budget hotel. We would definitely stay here again. They also have a beautiful suite room (seperate bedroom and lounge, both with TV's) which we saw and was really nice for only 99.00 per night. A few doors along was The Sir John Moore - Wetherspoons - we ate there every day and the food we had was lovely.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel quieter. They have smoking rooms if wanted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wellie4Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel a while back and as usual some of the reviews on here were enough to cause slight anxiety. However, as with every hotel I have stayed in, these proved to be unfounded. I honestly do not know why some people find the need to complain about minutae. We were allocated a refurbished room on the fourth floor which was spacious and spotless. There was no noise, no dirt and no smell. Staff were brilliant and everything in their adverts was true. A self service breakfast which was good but I personally didn't like the way the bacon was cooked. That and the fact that the key was a swipe card ( a personal bugbear of mine, they always go wrong for me) is the only reason I did not give it 5 points.For the location and price I paid it was great value. Anyone reading the negative reviews should take them with a pinch of salt, this is a great hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tetley98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ullapool, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as it was handy for Central Station (but isn't far from Queen Street either).The room was very clean and well laid out with everything you'd need including tea/coffee facilities and complementary shampoo/soap/body wash. Some of the fittings had seen better days but everything worked and the shower was lovely and hot! Bed was comfortable and the room wasn't too noisy, although there was some road noise through the night. Had breakfast included with the price which was a buffet style cooked breakfast with tea, coffee, toast, juice and cereal as well. Food was well cooked and tasty! Overall, a good room with good facilities and at good value. Will recommend this place to friends.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here for a ladies Saturday over night shopping / fun night. The price was less than £50 per room and that included breakfast so we were not expecting much, just a place to shower and sleep off our cocktails! However, the rooms are actually OK but some are better than others (we had booked 5). One of our party was allocated a suite and it was a very large room with sitting area with a huge gorgeous bathroom. The other rooms were smaller and standard with modern bathrooms. One of the party however, was allocated a tiny room on 3rd floor which basically just had enough space for a double bed with virtually no room to walk around it; this room also had a very outdated and dingy bathroom (I believe that the hotel is in midst of modernisation). So some you win......
The breakfast is good and its an eat all you can buffet. So we did! There is something for all tastes and you wont go hungry. We loved the little muffins!
The staff are all friendly and helpful, we could not fault them and they are a credit to the hotel.
I would have no issue with using this hotel again but would make sure I was allocated a revamped room as an older one would not make for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brambles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel is in the centre of Glasgow and was great value - the room was clean and comfortable, with a great shower. This staff were friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was included, and although the cooked food was a little dry there was plenty of it. I was surprised to find bottles of complimentary water in the room - much appreciated. My only bug bear was a lack of mattress and pillow protectors. The room was a little noisey, but it is in the centre of town. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyloolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh. Scotland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I have stayed on St Patrick's day for the last three years. We stay here as we meet up with other people. I cancelled my first booking as I made an error - took 3 months to get a refund - I had to chase constantly for it too. Not impressed. Booked a twin room - as staying with a friend. Out of the 3 prev years this is the worst room I've had. It had two single beds - the room was tiny. Very little room to move far less put our cases on the floor. Bed wasn't comfy - woke with a sore back. Luckily it was only for a nite. Didn't hear any traffic or other guests. Shower ok but towels poor. No hand towel - just a small bath towel. Although I wouldn't even call it that. Prob won't book here next year. Good for central station. Breakfast is good. Early check out too - 10.30am.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Cate019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#75 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,051 reviews
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#85 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Property: Alexander Thomson Hotel
Address: 320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing