We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Ranked #68 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, great location. Brill value as we only paid about £40 for the night for the two of us, including breakfast. Nice big room had complimentary bottles of water and a flat screen tv with freeview. The cooked breakfast was good and the waiting staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Floppy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,940)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,034 - 1,040 of 1,940 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

First impressions we arrived before the check in time, got a very unfriendly welcome, told no rooms ready, no welcome to the hotel, no smile nothing. We asked if could leave our bag which we could. We re-checked in that evening to a much friendlier staff member who did the usual welcome greeting etc. Got to our room which was tiny, there was a chair and desk at end of bed but room so small you couldn't actually pull the chair out as the bed in the way.

The bed was lumpy with one pillow each with hardly any stuffing, found another in the cupboard which was also useless. The room was freezing that evening, neither of us slept due to the noise from other guests outside our door, twice someone pulled at our handle to try open our room and constant chatting/shouting to each other as people seemed to be staying both sides of our room who knew each other.

The bathroom was just odd, the toilet was up on a block meaning you had to step onto this to sit on the toilet and your legs dangled as so high off the ground, the shower we could not use as was stinking like sewage, we mentioned this to the hotel staff when we went down to check out but she shrugged her shoulders and said we could have asked for a diff room, we told her we didn't need to shower until the morning and then were due to check out. The breakfast room was nice, food average and again full of groups who seem to stay there often and shouted over from one table to another while helping themselves to plate after plate of food.

The only reason I have given this hotel anything at all is due to the location which his great, otherwise it is an odd hotel, a little tlc it could be good but I would never stay or recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I can only comment on the room we had, front of building, noisy, tiny, smelly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Click-Ex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here last year for 3 nts stayed for 2nts tue &wed this week Realy good hotel will stay here every time we go to Glasgow.Very good value for money.Would recommend to everyone.Breakfasts are very good you must be very fussy if you come out hungry.
Tigerti

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigerti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great old hotel close to Glasgow Central railway. Huge room but very comfortable, easily adjusted heater for comfort. Has a small lift which is great. Breakfast was excellent and served in a wonderfully decorated dining room.

Room Tip: You may need ear plugs if you have a room fronting the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seekerof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We really liked this hotel - came out of Glasgow Central station - took Hope Street exit (quickest way) - just a few yards away opposite the Radisson Blu (you can see it on exit from station) is this old victorian hotel. Reception staff were very nice and friendly - we had room 401 (smoking room) on the fourth floor facing the main road. Unfortunately not double glazed but not bad for our mid-week break of four nights. Our room was extremely spacious, bed not as comfortable as I would have liked but I compensated by using the single duvet on the spare bed (had double and a single in our room) by lying on it. Nice size TV with freeview. Tea/coffee, iron and ironing board, bathroom with shower (plenty of hot water), wardrobe and drawers. Breakfast buffet had everything you could want - cooked items, cereals, croissants, muffins, fruit juice, tea and coffee.
I dare anyone to moan really because the price we paid you would not even get without breakfast at a budget hotel. We would definitely stay here again. They also have a beautiful suite room (seperate bedroom and lounge, both with TV's) which we saw and was really nice for only 99.00 per night. A few doors along was The Sir John Moore - Wetherspoons - we ate there every day and the food we had was lovely.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel quieter. They have smoking rooms if wanted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wellie4Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel a while back and as usual some of the reviews on here were enough to cause slight anxiety. However, as with every hotel I have stayed in, these proved to be unfounded. I honestly do not know why some people find the need to complain about minutae. We were allocated a refurbished room on the fourth floor which was spacious and spotless. There was no noise, no dirt and no smell. Staff were brilliant and everything in their adverts was true. A self service breakfast which was good but I personally didn't like the way the bacon was cooked. That and the fact that the key was a swipe card ( a personal bugbear of mine, they always go wrong for me) is the only reason I did not give it 5 points.For the location and price I paid it was great value. Anyone reading the negative reviews should take them with a pinch of salt, this is a great hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tetley98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as it was handy for Central Station (but isn't far from Queen Street either).The room was very clean and well laid out with everything you'd need including tea/coffee facilities and complementary shampoo/soap/body wash. Some of the fittings had seen better days but everything worked and the shower was lovely and hot! Bed was comfortable and the room wasn't too noisy, although there was some road noise through the night. Had breakfast included with the price which was a buffet style cooked breakfast with tea, coffee, toast, juice and cereal as well. Food was well cooked and tasty! Overall, a good room with good facilities and at good value. Will recommend this place to friends.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,260 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
861 reviews
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Address: 320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £39 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing