We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't recommend ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Ranked #69 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I wouldn't recommend ”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel is well located close to Glasgow Central station and the room is adequate, has what you need and seems clean enough. The shower was hot. . .

That's probably all I can say in the positive. Hotel looks pretty run down, poor service in the bar, breakfast was terrible, all the hot food was overcooked and cheap tinned value products. No fresh fruit, just a tinned fruit salad.

At £71 a night it's not cheap enough to make this acceptable. I'd stay elsewhere, especially if you regularly stay in hotels and expect more.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SamP789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    674
    480
    210
    174
See reviews for
215
732
170
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Labels still on white goods in bathroom and looked like had been for a while - not new!! Toilet was badly fitted!! Drawer of dressing table opened on its own and had to leave chair in front to keep it closed. Whole room was very very tired and needed renovating. Could see where previous furniture had obviously been !!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timslouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a group stay at this hotel . Lovely room , nice breakfast . Staff not too friendly but on whole I would defiantly recommend this hotel .Great location next to train station and in Central Glasgow.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank S88lmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steeton
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We syated here as a party of 12. The service, accommodation, food and staff were very good. Nothing was too much trouble. I had to go to a shop in the early hours to get some medication for my husband, as I was longer than expected, the night porter/manager came outside to see where I was, I thought this was very thoughtful of him ti think of my safety. Would definately stay here againb anbd would highly recommend. The drinks at the bar were cheaper than some of the pubs we visited!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellykev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed here as I had to go to Glasgow on business, I wont be re-booking when I return in a few weeks.

The hotel is on the main road into the city centre as are many of the other hotels so you would expect a bit of noise and it to be busy in the evening. The room was not bad although it could of been cleaner and with a better mattress. Trying to get a decent sleep is near impossible as the amount of noise you can hear in the rooms is ridiculous!!

The windows let every bit of noise through and a draft, even when the street has quietened down you still hear each and every vehicle or person in the street and I am not a light sleeper.

I asked for a change of room for the second night but it was not much better. Breakfast is ok and the all the staff friendly apart from the front desk. The hotel advertises that a reduced parking rate is available for Jamaica street car park but according to the front desk it is not.

It is clearly stated on the website and on the guest information sheet Jamaica street so when I continued to press the matter with he lady on the front desk as if by magic she passes me a ticket for Jamaica street car park after telling me I was wrong.

Wi-Fi is a waste of time and unreliable.

The hotel is probably ok for a group of lads on a night out or those on a budget etc but for business and families stay somewhere else as there are plenty to choose from for not a lot more money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AOKDIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

leics
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Combined pleasure trip with conference at nearby hotel. This hotel Close to the rail station,close to main shopping streets.
Excellent value. Comfortable beds and resident lounge if required.unload luggage at door,parking nearby.Red tour bus gives a good overview of city. Lots of interesting places to visit. Looked at the Kelpies in Falkirk on the way here. Awesome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopyleics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed as a single person in a double room so paid the same as a couple would pay. I had to reject a room on the second floor as it smelled of smoke and requires refurbishment. The room I was then allocated was much better. The pillows are typical hotel issue so I was glad I had taken my own pillow. The breakfast was plentiful but is not for anyone on any kind of diet. The hotel is full of character and is in the process or refurbishment. Staff were helpful and I had no problem getting a better room. Just ask for first floor at the back of the hotel which is quiet.

Room Tip: See above.ask for 1st floor at the back of the hotel. There is no swimming pool. I did not intend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,128 reviews
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#71 of 93 in Glasgow
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#32 of 93 in Glasgow
3,423 reviews
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Property: Alexander Thomson Hotel
Address: 320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing