We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Ranked #68 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Do not book this hotel if you want to sleep at night. There is someone who likes to play drums from 9:30 to 11:30pm every night. Hotel says there is nothing they can do cuz he has a 'license.' Wish I had known that before booking this room.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Anonymous967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,913)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

997 - 1,003 of 1,913 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel is well located close to Glasgow Central station and the room is adequate, has what you need and seems clean enough. The shower was hot. . .

That's probably all I can say in the positive. Hotel looks pretty run down, poor service in the bar, breakfast was terrible, all the hot food was overcooked and cheap tinned value products. No fresh fruit, just a tinned fruit salad.

At £71 a night it's not cheap enough to make this acceptable. I'd stay elsewhere, especially if you regularly stay in hotels and expect more.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank SamP789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Labels still on white goods in bathroom and looked like had been for a while - not new!! Toilet was badly fitted!! Drawer of dressing table opened on its own and had to leave chair in front to keep it closed. Whole room was very very tired and needed renovating. Could see where previous furniture had obviously been !!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timslouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just returned from a group stay at this hotel . Lovely room , nice breakfast . Staff not too friendly but on whole I would defiantly recommend this hotel .Great location next to train station and in Central Glasgow.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank S88lmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We syated here as a party of 12. The service, accommodation, food and staff were very good. Nothing was too much trouble. I had to go to a shop in the early hours to get some medication for my husband, as I was longer than expected, the night porter/manager came outside to see where I was, I thought this was very thoughtful of him ti think of my safety. Would definately stay here againb anbd would highly recommend. The drinks at the bar were cheaper than some of the pubs we visited!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellykev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed here as I had to go to Glasgow on business, I wont be re-booking when I return in a few weeks.

The hotel is on the main road into the city centre as are many of the other hotels so you would expect a bit of noise and it to be busy in the evening. The room was not bad although it could of been cleaner and with a better mattress. Trying to get a decent sleep is near impossible as the amount of noise you can hear in the rooms is ridiculous!!

The windows let every bit of noise through and a draft, even when the street has quietened down you still hear each and every vehicle or person in the street and I am not a light sleeper.

I asked for a change of room for the second night but it was not much better. Breakfast is ok and the all the staff friendly apart from the front desk. The hotel advertises that a reduced parking rate is available for Jamaica street car park but according to the front desk it is not.

It is clearly stated on the website and on the guest information sheet Jamaica street so when I continued to press the matter with he lady on the front desk as if by magic she passes me a ticket for Jamaica street car park after telling me I was wrong.

Wi-Fi is a waste of time and unreliable.

The hotel is probably ok for a group of lads on a night out or those on a budget etc but for business and families stay somewhere else as there are plenty to choose from for not a lot more money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AOKDIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Combined pleasure trip with conference at nearby hotel. This hotel Close to the rail station,close to main shopping streets.
Excellent value. Comfortable beds and resident lounge if required.unload luggage at door,parking nearby.Red tour bus gives a good overview of city. Lots of interesting places to visit. Looked at the Kelpies in Falkirk on the way here. Awesome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snoopyleics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 93 in Glasgow
848 reviews
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,218 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Address: 320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £40 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing