We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort for the Budget Traveller ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Ranked #68 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This was my fourth visit to this hotel. The room is very well appointed with coffee making facilities and free bottles of water. There is good soap and shampoo in the bathroom. Good and frequently changed towels. The bed is comfortable and the pleasantly decorated room has lots of power points for this age of charging electronic devices and an iron and ironing board are provided. The location is amazingly convenient being so close to Central Station. The only (very small) drawback is there being only one lift and it can take a bit of time to ascend! Breakfast is very good and provides unlimited food! Travelodge needs to watch out with such good competition.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank savoybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,015 - 1,021 of 1,941 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

We booked in to this hotel as it was close to the station. The rooms were smallish but still ok. My bed was a bit springy but the other twin bed was fine. The staff we dealt with were friendly and pleasant. Breakfast is on level 1 and has a selection of items with a lot of places to sit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macca74Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is cheap and cheerful. The rooms were very large for a budget hotel. There doesn't seem to be a lot of staff but the staff that where about was lovely.

The is a huge underused bar and restaurant. Marketing needed for this hotel for it to have more use as it's splendid

Nicest of the cheap hotels

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getmetothehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Checked in here last thursday (May 15) on arrival at our room, we noticed that the curtain rail had come away from its fixing and that the curtains were on the floor. On ringing the reception, they sent up a member of staff, who informed us that the maintenance staff had gone home and that he would have us moved to another room. On doing so, we were surprised to find that we had an up-grade room,which was twice the size of the original room that we had just left. (A very nice touch!)
The buffet breakfast in the morning was just superb! Eat as much as you like!! Their was a beautiful large lounge just off the breakfast area, which was just so relaxing! The hotel is in a great location to the Central Train Station and City Centre! Would stop here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear and side of hotel are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TyroneBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The front of the hotel is a little hard to find, as it looks more like a dodgy nightclub entrance, but the bedrooms were clean and airy, although as with many cheaper hotels, the pillows were like concrete. The breakfast was OK - but they don't seem to do an evening meal, so you have to go out for that.
Overall it is nothing special, and I won't rush to return there, but at £54 B&B it is of reasonable value - but the one lift is horribly slow
I know some respondents have cited it being noisy - but I have found most hotels in Glasgow centre either overlook a main road or a railway station, so nothing is really quiet.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Best thing about this hotel was its location. Close to city centre and central station. Staff were mostly friendly and helpful but would agree with others that reception could have been more attentive. No problem with the noise even though we were at the front (on 3rd floor). Slight traffic buzz but only to be expected on a main road. Our room was small and we could have done with a bedside table and lamp on each side of the bed! Also more towels needed and shower door didn't shut all the way. However, breakfast was more than adequate and for a 2-night stay for less than £100 we were happy with what we got.

Very interesting, if somewhat confused, decor. Renee macintosh meets something

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Superb hot buffet-breakfast, less than five minutes walk to Glasgow Central station. Friendly staff. Hard but comfortable bed. Short walk to the city centre. This was my fourth visit, hope to return in 2015.
In certain areas the hotel could do with a coat of paint. Very slow single lift.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be noisy, especially on Friday and Saturday nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALANMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
862 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,261 reviews
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#34 of 93 in Glasgow
3,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Address: 320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £39 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing