We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, room not great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Ranked #68 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice staff, room not great!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The reception staff were nice and the public areas were clean and tidy, but our rooms bathroom was a little shoddy which was a shame, but it was clean and the water was nice and hot. The rooms are in need of a make over, although we were with friends and their room was nice, so we might have just golf a duff one!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    665
    472
    203
    169
See reviews for
209
714
169
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Peterhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed here 25th 26th august really pleased with location if needed could pop back within minutes from main shops if wanted to dump bags etc.staff were lovely all of them I encountered anyway.we were in room 408 originally 414 but bed way broken which I didnt notice till I lay on it and slid of side but to there credit I told them and was moved right away to a nicer room but just along corridor from where we were.went to bar at night lovely area but very dissapointed with selection no tins cola diet cola 3 alcopops on there list but had none of them barman was never at bar had to wait fir him all the time as he just served people then went .got ok sleep but I dont sleep well anyway so not hotels fault but we were in high floor so noise was a minimum wouldnt have liked lower.lift is a nightmare so slow its unreal we walked up 4 floors by time lift had reached 2nd breakfast was a great selection but hot food was more warm than hot I was tempted to put it back or ask to put it in microwave eggs already made so no choice of runny or not actually now im writing this and looking back I mabey wont go back actually but location staff and rooms were perfect suppose could just go out for breakfast and buy own alcohol for nights

Room Tip: High floor would be better for noise but there are smokers room up there which is good for me but ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bingodabberlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Staying in this hotel made our trip to Glasgow terrible. That was the most dreadful experience of stay in the hotel in my entire life. Although my parents and I stayed there just for one night, it managed to ruin the impressions from trip to Scotland.
Dirty, with holes from cigarettes and/or knives curtains on the dust-laden windows, smelly room, tiny beds, a receptionist barely speaking English. No concierge, no parking nearby.
Gloomy, grey, dirty and overall awful - thats the hotel. Please, stay away from it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yeliel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

It looks like the hotel from hell from outside. The service may not be the Hilton but the price is great. Stayed during Commonwealth Games where every other hotel was £200+ per night, but mine was £99 (although they normally sell from £49 on normal days). My room was very spacious and cosy - bottle water is always good to have as a welcome along with biscuits. Breakfast was great in the morning. 2 minutes from the train station so perfect location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darkwingduck82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Hi all, just stayed here for one night as a stop over for work , was abit concerned about this hotel as I've heard a few strange reports in the past, got to say I had a lovely stay, my room was on the second floor, it was a twin room with three single beds lots of space to move around in, the bathroom was huge very clean and to a high standard.had a hot bath the water was hot hot and with the ginseng bubble bath it was great after an 18 hour work day. Breakfast was included and realy tasty, only disappointing thing was no wifi but at times it can be good that it dosnt work as work can wait. So off to bed which was clean ,comfortable and slept soundly. Would recommend this hotel, just one wee issue, staff could be a wee bit more welcoming on reception, on arrival felt as it I was disturbing them buy checking in.

Room Tip: I had a room to the front of the hotel which was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuarthendry22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I enjoyed my o/night stay at the ATH and found :-
1 The location being central in the city was beneficial for my needs
2 The suite was bigger than required for one person
3 The lift was very slow and I found it easier for my fitness to climb the stairs
4 Two complaints in room 510 big dirty mark on b/room carpet and shower door not fitted properly

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Dugald.a. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
162 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Charged over 200 pounds per night during the Commonwealth Games for a room that you couldn't swing a cat in! The bedroom furniture was minimal due to the size of the room and the wardrobe was very small. The bathroom needed refurbishing and was also very small. There was no air conditioning in the room, so we had to sleep with the window open. The noise from the nearby karaoke pub was unbearable. Had we not paid in advance some months before our stay(as demanded by the hotel) and accommodation in Glasgow being unavailable, we would have checked out! Even at the normal room rate I would not recommend staying at this hotel - it is in need of a serious update!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DGK1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,075 reviews
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#74 of 95 in Glasgow
530 reviews
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 95 in Glasgow
3,293 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#39 of 95 in Glasgow
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Property: Alexander Thomson Hotel
Address: 320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing