We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC SERVICE IN AWSOME HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Ranked #69 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 28 December 2009

I stayed at this hotel with my partner. The staff were absolutely fantastic, they would do everything they could to help, including giving us taxi numbers and directions for local attractions and recommending places to eat! they would have done anything in their ability to keep customers happy. The room was also lovely, no noise when i was there! also got tea/coffee/hair-dryer, ironing board etc. Ive already booked up to go again in march. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickySalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Area-General-Manager, Are General Manager at Alexander Thomson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2010

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your encouraging reviews. Looking forward to seeing you again in March.

Kind Regards,

Management

NEW: We have introduced free wi fi in all Rooms now, earlier it was only in the lounge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,550 - 1,556 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2009

Hotel is in an ideal location for all the attractions and shopping areas of Glasgow. Very convenient for train and airport connections.
Hotel is in the process of being upgraded and some areas are a little shabby.We had a standard room which was more than adequate except for the poorly comstructed shower area, we flooded the floor on two occaisions. Breakfast was substantial with loads of choice. Staff everywhere were friendly and helpful.
Do not read too much into previous reports, if you want somewhere reasonably priced,central location in Glasgow you will be pleasantly suprised.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LTNJET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Area-General-Manager, Area General Manger at Alexander Thomson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2010

Dear Guest,
What you have mentioned is quite true, we would like people to atleast come and stay with us once and see the changes after the renovation. We offer very competetive prices for the product that we have and the service that we offer.

Kind regards,

Management

NEW: We have introduced free wi fi in all Rooms now, earlier it was only in the lounge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

Room very clean, great value for money would rather stay here than The Buchanan hotel although a little out of the way had a fab time said on the net continental breakfast but we got a full buffet style what a bargain break would recommend !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MammyArbroath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Area-General-Manager, Area General Manager at Alexander Thomson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2010

Dear Guest,
We are quite proud of our Breakfast, considering the price that we charge for the Room the Breakfast is quite sumptous and we source all raw materials from the best suppliers available.

Kind regards and many thansk for your excellent reviews,

Management

NEW: We have introduced free wi fi in all Rooms now, earlier it was only in the lounge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

I have to say I was a little concerned at some of the previous posts, and this actually set me up to expect the worst. Luckily my fears were unfounded.

On arrival at the hotel, check in was swift easy, the front reception was clean & tidy, the decor a little old and patchy, but who cares.

The rooms (we had two) were very roomy, very clean, modern and trendy. There was complimentary bottles of water, toiletries, tea & coffee, and biscuits. Large flat screen TV, hairdryer, lovely large bathroom, and comfortable clean beds. What more could you want?

Breakfast was spot on, hungry teenagers and a help your-self buffet goes very well. A nice selection of both hot and cold food, potato scones, hash browns, plus the usual breakfast fayre. Couldn't fault it.

And the price? Superb - £114 for a night, two rooms, 5 people, what a bargain.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soozintheshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Travelled in from packing up my house for removers, just a bit tired!. Assigned to toom 604. Crashed out about 7pm, awakened a short time later by banging and hammering in the room above which went on loudly, ALL NIGHT. Be aware the 'renovations' are not complete, new carpet/dirty paintwork, lousy shower did eventually get lukewarm. Dim light. Bedside light not working. Impossib;e to get water from tap to kettle. Even for a Scottish hotel this was an appalling experience. No sleep possible. Beware!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyke31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Area-General-Manager, Area General Manager at Alexander Thomson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2010

Dear Sir,
We would like to apologise for the discomfort caused to you during your stay at our Hotel.
We were in the process of replacing the roof during those days and the noise that you heard was due to that and unfortunately we could only do it during the day time. Now everything is fixed and we have a new roof and the renovation has finished as well.
We would like to invite you to stay with us again and see the difference for yourself.

Kind regards,

Management

NEW: We have introduced free wi fi in all Rooms now, erlier it was only in the lounge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

I was a bit concerned about staying in this hotel. Although it has recently been renovated it has been renovated cheaply. The bathroom, while large, was still tatty, tiles on floor broken, bath chipped, old fittings still on wall and painted over, no towel rails, glass shower screen could not be moved easily. Bedroom was clean. Breakfast was good, although they did close at 9.30am sharp. Check-out was very early - 10.30am! All in all the room rate wasn't expensive and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VisitorT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Area-General-Manager, Area general Manager at Alexander Thomson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2010

Dear Guest,
We are now getting quite positive reviews and your observation has got us thinking. We would review your comments and try to rectify any small issues that you have raised.
The material that we have used is of quite high standard and has been provided by top UK companies, I understand that the work was still ongoing during your stay and bits and bobs needed being fixed.
I hope you will visit us again and give a chance to show you the product now.

We think we surely offer more than what we charge.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Great service - very pleasant and helpful staff.
Room was fine. Bottles of water appreciated.
Location very central - good for shopping and reaching the SECC
Staff were the best thing here. Went out of their way to answer questions and be helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badarou5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Area-General-Manager, Manager at Alexander Thomson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2009

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate you taking time out and leaving such positive reviews. We are very happy that you liked our staff and our Hotel.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#73 of 93 in Glasgow
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
1,175 reviews
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Address: 320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £46 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing