We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great cheap hotel...unfair reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Ranked #69 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
belfast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great cheap hotel...unfair reviews”
Reviewed 4 March 2010

nice welcome,girl told us everything we needed 2 know times etc..family room was big,warm and comfortable..shower was good also(they need 2 leave more wash stuff for 3 guests though)breakfast the next morning was great..plenty of selection of everything.alround this hotel did exactly what it says on the tin..will be back no probs..some of the reviews i seen on here made me want 2 write this cause they're not being fair on this wee place,all i will say is check it out for yourselves..

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Area-General-Manager, Area General Manager at Alexander Thomson Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2010
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking your time out and leaving encouraging reviews.
Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    674
    480
    210
    174
See reviews for
215
732
170
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Good value budget hotel. Rooms where good size, with everything you need, tv, tea and coffee making facilities and bottle water!

Breakfast was great, plenty of choice and included in the price, what more could you ask for.

Location was great, right beside train station, but i dont think i would have felt as comfortable on my own or with a group of girls! Area around the hotel seemed ran down and you didnt have to show your card to gain entry to the hotel, but apart from that i would def stay again, cheap affordable rooms in a great city!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityGirl_2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

I was surprised how good this hotel was, all the staff were very helpful with a variety of requests with all their help and recommendations they were spot on. The room was nice and modern with a lovely bathroom. The location is prefect for getting around town, everything is in walking distance, i got the bus from the airport to central station which is a 2min walk. Great value and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Area-General-Manager, Area General Manager at Alexander Thomson Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2010
Dear Guest,

You are right, the location is prime and you don't have to drag your suitcases endlessly to your destination.

Kind Regards,
Management

NEW: We have introduced free wi fi in all Rooms now, erlier it was only in the lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

I stayed at this hotel with my partner. The staff were absolutely fantastic, they would do everything they could to help, including giving us taxi numbers and directions for local attractions and recommending places to eat! they would have done anything in their ability to keep customers happy. The room was also lovely, no noise when i was there! also got tea/coffee/hair-dryer, ironing board etc. Ive already booked up to go again in march. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickySalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Area-General-Manager, Are General Manager at Alexander Thomson Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2010
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your encouraging reviews. Looking forward to seeing you again in March.

Kind Regards,

Management

NEW: We have introduced free wi fi in all Rooms now, earlier it was only in the lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LTNJET
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Hotel is in an ideal location for all the attractions and shopping areas of Glasgow. Very convenient for train and airport connections.
Hotel is in the process of being upgraded and some areas are a little shabby.We had a standard room which was more than adequate except for the poorly comstructed shower area, we flooded the floor on two occaisions. Breakfast was substantial with loads of choice. Staff everywhere were friendly and helpful.
Do not read too much into previous reports, if you want somewhere reasonably priced,central location in Glasgow you will be pleasantly suprised.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTNJET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Area-General-Manager, Area General Manger at Alexander Thomson Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2010
Dear Guest,
What you have mentioned is quite true, we would like people to atleast come and stay with us once and see the changes after the renovation. We offer very competetive prices for the product that we have and the service that we offer.

Kind regards,

Management

NEW: We have introduced free wi fi in all Rooms now, earlier it was only in the lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2009

Room very clean, great value for money would rather stay here than The Buchanan hotel although a little out of the way had a fab time said on the net continental breakfast but we got a full buffet style what a bargain break would recommend !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MammyArbroath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Area-General-Manager, Area General Manager at Alexander Thomson Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2010
Dear Guest,
We are quite proud of our Breakfast, considering the price that we charge for the Room the Breakfast is quite sumptous and we source all raw materials from the best suppliers available.

Kind regards and many thansk for your excellent reviews,

Management

NEW: We have introduced free wi fi in all Rooms now, earlier it was only in the lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

I have to say I was a little concerned at some of the previous posts, and this actually set me up to expect the worst. Luckily my fears were unfounded.

On arrival at the hotel, check in was swift easy, the front reception was clean & tidy, the decor a little old and patchy, but who cares.

The rooms (we had two) were very roomy, very clean, modern and trendy. There was complimentary bottles of water, toiletries, tea & coffee, and biscuits. Large flat screen TV, hairdryer, lovely large bathroom, and comfortable clean beds. What more could you want?

Breakfast was spot on, hungry teenagers and a help your-self buffet goes very well. A nice selection of both hot and cold food, potato scones, hash browns, plus the usual breakfast fayre. Couldn't fault it.

And the price? Superb - £114 for a night, two rooms, 5 people, what a bargain.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soozintheshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,127 reviews
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#71 of 93 in Glasgow
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,418 reviews
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Property: Alexander Thomson Hotel
Address: 320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing