We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Ranked #68 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Scotland
2 reviews
“Really Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 5 July 2010

went for a romantic weekend away, and was very happy with the hotel. The room was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was just what we needed. May not be the Hilton but who cares was still a lovely place to spend the night.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyChappyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    671
    475
    206
    171
See reviews for
212
723
170
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
greenock
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

after reading some reviews, i was a little unsure what to expect, my friend and i stayed here and could not fault it the rooms were clean comfortable with all mod cons ie, sky tv tea and coffee biscuits, hairdryer, iron, plenty of towels.included in the price was a full cooked breakfast,fresh juice, cereal, muffins,tea coffee, toast, and for the price we paid could"nt ask for any more,i would have no hesitation in recomending a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harveyGreenock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Area-General-Manager, Manager at Alexander Thomson Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2010
Greetings from the Alexander Thomson Hotel and thank you for your review.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay at our property.

We look forward to your visit in the near future and assure you of our best of services & personalised attention at all times.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

I quite liked this hotel. Very friendly staff, clean rooms and public areas, breakfast was very good the selection of food was great and of good quality and for the price paid, amazing value. There are plenty of friendly pubs and restruants in the immedate aera. The only bad points were, I was put in a standard room when I had booked and paid for an executive room (£69), no air-con and the room was hot so the window had to be left open and the noise of early morning traffic disturbed our sleep. That really is the only bad points I can think of. Over all I would have no hesitation staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billyboy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Area-General-Manager, General Manager at Alexander Thomson Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2010
Greetings from the Alexander Thomson Hotel and thank you for your review.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay at our property.

We look forward to your visit in the near future and assure you of our best of services & personalised attention at all times.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We had a great time at this hotel, having read some of the older posts I was concerned, but was pleasantly surprised! Fine spacious room with lcd tv, bottled water, tea and coffee, toiletries etc etc. Staff were more than helpful, breakfast was good, no complaints really.
The hotel itself is really close to the St Enoch centre so an early start to the shopping was in order.
We have bookd already to go back for a weekend in November.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sqidward55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Area-General-Manager, General Manager at Alexander Thomson Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2010
Greetings from the Alexander Thomson Hotel and thank you for your review.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay at our property.

We look forward to your visit in the near future and assure you of our best of services & personalised attention at all times.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I booked this hotel at the last minute for a trip to Glasgow with my sister for her birthday thinking that we had got a good deal for the location. First off the credit card machine wasn't working on arrival, second it took almost half an hour to get an iron in our room, third the room was in the processof being refurbished. If all this wasnt bad enough after we came back from our night out my sister was outside having a cigarette when she was approached by the doorman who offered her a drink, he then tried to touch her inappropriately and followed her into the elevator and to our room. She was so scared we had to put the chair against the door and I couldnt leave her.

I complained in the morning and was told that this hotel had had problems with this member of staff before and if I left my details they would be in touch with me. They never did.

So girls, take this as a warning, do not stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemissdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Stayed here for three nights in June 2010. Public areas are fine. Rooms are fine . No air con so open window may be needed - but front rooms are on busy street. This hotel is a few minutes from Central Station. Best thing about this place - value for money. It's not a luxury place so don't expect it but the staff are friendly and it's very central and way cheaper than anything else. Free WiFI throughout and the HUGE cooked buffet breakfasts add to the the value. Its in a lively part of town so shrinking violets stay away. Gay bar next door and working girls on the street add to the colour. But it's safe and friendly and the location and value make up for any niggles.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swhw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Area-General-Manager, General Manager at Alexander Thomson Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2010
Greetings from the Alexander Thomson Hotel and thank you for your review.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay at our property.

We look forward to your visit in the near future and assure you of our best of services & personalised attention at all times.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

This didn't look to promising from the outside. It was chosen for it's proximity to Glasgow central station and the street it is in has some boarded up properties and is generally a bit run down.
The entrance to the hotel didn't look much bur once we got in and to our room it was a pleasant surprise. The room was of an adequate size, clean and the bed comfy. the bathroom was quite big with a shower over the bath.
Breakfast was not cooked to order but was a hot buffet but it was okay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragonlady57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Area-General-Manager, General Manager at Alexander Thomson Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2010
Greetings from the Alexander Thomson Hotel and thank you for your review.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay at our property.

We look forward to your visit in the near future and assure you of our best of services & personalised attention at all times.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#17 of 95 in Glasgow
1,110 reviews
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#72 of 95 in Glasgow
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 95 in Glasgow
3,379 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#31 of 95 in Glasgow
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Property: Alexander Thomson Hotel
Address: 320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing