We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs overhaul badly”
Review of Kings Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kings Park Hotel
Ranked #82 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs overhaul badly”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I booked this hotel for a four night stay over new yr we found staff at reception nice and helpful and breakfast was quite good we had no complaints but when we arrived we found two empty cider cans left in the room and the rooms are very cold i had to as for extra bedding for the children on the first night when i asked for the heating to be looked at we were told that the heating had only come on an hour before and was given a small portable heater to plug in .... this is totally unacceptable for the price we are charged... the bathroon in my daughters remained freezing cold for the stay she had to refrain from bathing the children i would definatly not stay here at this hotel again it was not a good experience and i would certainly not recomend it to my friends jean hilliard dublin

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhll1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    75
    69
    45
    43
See reviews for
78
71
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We had a quick stop here as we were visiting friends, The hotel is in need of some refurbishment and felt 'tired' but I would have to say the staff were excellent, very friendly and very helpful! It was ok for one night and seemed very busy with a wedding and 30th birthday on. The breakfast was very good and again great service from the staff. I felt that only a few pence change from £10 for a small glass of red wine and a white wine spritzer was a bit steep though for a bar of this type!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australind, WA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed at the Kings park hotel in Glasgow as part of our Honeymoon . We found the staff and surrounding lovely. It was old world charm which added to the character of the hotel which we loved.

The food was lovely - very tradional and dinner came with a pint of beer or a glass of wine which was a nice finish to the evening.

The rooms were neat, clean, spacious and very comfortable, for the price we paid compared to others we looked at - it was a great little hideaway.

The hotel is only a short drive to the centre of Glasgow and very central to the surrounding areas.

We were originally only going to be there for a day or so and move on but we ended up using the hotel as our base for our entire stay in Scotland.

We would definitely stay there again given the chance.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lainlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Falls WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stayed at the Kings Park Hotel on a Saturday night. They had a wedding booked there and the band played until after 1 am. You could hear every song they played from your room. In addition to the loud music, someone hit the fire alarm which went off approximately 12:45 am. No staff came to reassure that it was in fact an accident. When checking to see if it was a false alarm, discovered that there had been a brawl at the wedding and blood was visiable on one of the staff''s shirt. In the morning, I was told they often have events with loud music and basically to bad for you if you want to sleep before 1 am. They also stated that the brawl was the result of a patron and so was the false fire alarm and that they are not responsible for the behavior of other even when it effects their guest. The only positive I have for the hotel is that the staff that serves breakfast were wonderful and thoughtful. A direct contrast to the attitude of the management. I would strongly suggest that you ask if any other events are booked for the nights you are planning to stay there, and if so pick another hotel. And if you want safety, apparently you are on your own at that hotel because they are not responsible for what guests do on their property.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2011

i would like to thank all the staff at the kingspark hotel for making my daughters wedding a special day the manager mr gibbons made the day go withought a hitch the food was excellent and the rooms were very nice thank you mr&mrs carrigan

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leannecarrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

First of all i read the reviews of this hotel and was dreading staying here, i can say the staff were very friendly, the food (we only had breakfast) was ok, the rooms were clean and tidy. The bar downstairs under the hotel is a no go, we went down there and had a very quick drink as been female felt very intimidated as there was only males in there, most looked like locals who had been in there most of the day, the lady serving was't very friendly either.
Right to the main bit, there was a wedding in the hotel on the Saturday night we stayed there (if i had known i WOULDN'T have booked), we stayed in the main bar area watching them gradually getting louder, knowing we would be having a sleepless night. We went to bed around 11pm closely followed by a few of the wedding party. We heard shouting around 3am then again around 3.30am then again around 4.30am, all been very drunk and noisy, the hotel needs a night porter on to keep the noise levels down when a wedding is been on as this is not fair on other people staying in the hotel!!!

Room Tip: Take ear plugs just incase
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angeljan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This is another hotel stuck back in the 80's. I am stuck booking hotels last minute and during the peak holidays I get stuck in too many hotels like this. 

The decor was dated but not too ragged. The shower was poor it ran between scalding and cold. The Walls are paper thin and I had a family with young baby next door. 
The most shocking thing was another split electrical cable. The sheath had spit completely bearing the 3 wires. The earth had broken completely. 

The staff for breakfast were nice enough. The breakfast was ok. 

If they would refurb the whole hotel and not just the reception it would be  better. 

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcsb36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Number 10 Hotel
#27 of 93 in Glasgow
764 reviews
Orchard Park Hotel
#62 of 93 in Glasgow
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Redstones Hotel
#72 of 93 in Glasgow
75 reviews
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#69 of 93 in Glasgow
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Park Hotel

Property: Kings Park Hotel
Address: Mill Street, Glasgow G73 2LX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kings Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Park Glasgow
Kings Park Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing