We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family stay ( stay away)”
Review of Kings Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kings Park Hotel
Ranked #81 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“family stay ( stay away)”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

we stayed here for 1 night on a friday.A noisey disco directly underneath us kept us awake until 1 am.Nothing on there website warning us , never told us at the time of booking, never even told us at the time of booking in. No suitable alternative offered to us. The receptionist was abrupt and offered no help or appology at all.Even after emailing them they have not even had the decency to offer an appology. Thanks kings park for putting scotish hospitality and tourism back 25 years.

Room Tip: Rooms in a different hotel would be recomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    74
    67
    42
    42
See reviews for
74
69
16
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

Four of us attended the grand Hogmanay ball at the Kings Park Hotel. Firstly there was too many folk crammed into the Function Suite. Our orders were taken quickly, and first two courses arrived within minutes. The main course for three of us was steak which was huge but very dry and no gravy or sauce provided. The sweets arrived and my Cranachan was soggy for probably being left out for some time. The band came on at 10pm and went off for a break some 40 minutes later. Their choice of music did not lead to folks dancing. When it came to the bells it was an extremely damp squib with the band saying oh well happy new year. Spoilt what was going to be an enjoyable evening!!!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

An excellent Christmas night out was had by all with the usual entertainment . Both the dinner and entertainment was more than adequate with plenty to eat and of good quality. Beer prices were £4 a pint but shorts were reasonable , with mixers normal prices. We stayed overnight and the room was while a little dated was clean and roomy with tea and biscuits . Breakfast was fairly normal as per most hotels and the dining room was clean and tidy . For under £60 for 2 it was more than adequate. Would stay here again and probably will as we have many friends in and around Glasgow.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear were quieter the front rooms suffer from noise of revellers and taxis
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcnicol12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Just had our Christmas Night out here,Take That tribute band,who were very good,nice meal but huge issues with prices at the bar and the repeated short changing every time we went to the bar for a round of drinks. We noticed we were not alone and witnessed other tables complaining about this also,a real let down on what was a good evening. Correct change was given when you complained,sometimes without the staff member even looking at what had been registered on till. We will no longer be using this as a Works Night Out venue due to the extortionate Bar prices,I spoke to one lady who had paid £6.50 for a Malibu and dash of coke,was this the real price or had she been accidently short changed too!!

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MAGI47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beauly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Yes, I spent one night at this delightful hotel just outside Glasgow Central, the room was perfectly adequate, and tidy...........the service was excellent, but there again we are in Glasgow the "friendly city"

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim Nicholson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We booked over the Internet because this hotel was near the crematorium (sadly the reason for our visit). We wished we had gone to the Premier Inn. The hotel is very down at heel - carpets are rucked, stained, threadbare and dirty. The decor is dated - really dated and strange in places. We didn't really want to walk on the bedroom carpet in bare feet. Neither of us fancied the Jacuzzi bath or shower because it was all grubby. The chambermaid had done her best, but the room was decaying. The central heating was out of the arc and made noises all night. My 82-year-old-mother got no sleep in her room down the hall, because the bed was cold, the heating didn't work and the people in the next door room were chatting and watching TV and doing other things until 2 am. Another member of my family could hear the person breathing deeply (not snoring) through the wall and had to wear earplugs to sleep. The food was very average and it was just as well that breakfast was included in the price, because we would not have paid for it. My partner had to move seats, because the bench seat he was sitting on for breakfast was stained and greasy and he felt grubby just sitting on it. Having said all this, the staff were nice and helpful and cheerful. But I would not recommend this or stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms with names, such as 'Lomond' and 'Kintyre' were the nicest, but the number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I stayed in the hotel over night while visiting friends in Glasgow and found it good value for money, clean and tidy the staff is very friendly especially Alistair and Heather who kept me amused during breakfast the full Scottish was fantastic

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Belhaven Hotel
#50 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Orchard Park Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Number 10 Hotel
#25 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#74 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Park Hotel

Property: Kings Park Hotel
Address: Mill Street, Glasgow G73 2LX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Park Glasgow
Kings Park Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing