We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to eat.”

The Bungo Bar and Kitchen
Ranked #143 of 2,511 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South Side
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My fiancé and I enjoyed a great breakfast in here a couple of months back and so, when my friend from Portsmouth came to visit, we thought we would try their evening menu. The food was absolutely fantastic and the service was good. All washed down with some lovely WEST beer!

Thank jackarnold87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mangetout70, Manager at The Bungo Bar and Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Good to read you have come back with your friends at the bungo. Thank you for writing the review and spreading the word to you friends that we are the place to try out, when just visiting hear in scotland or just popping from around the corner. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 343 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is lovely and cosy. They have a small portion menu which is perfect for children that don't want the usual junior fayre. The burgers are massive (and the blue cheese addition to a burger is delicious) and the rosemary chips are a must! The food is reasonably priced and the staff are extremely friendly. Superb.

Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mangetout70, Manager at The Bungo Bar and Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Get booking a table!... Well what can I say but copy the words you put at the top of such a great review. Many thanks for taking the time out in writing the review in the beginning. We all look forward to you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We visited Bungo on a recommendation, while in Glasgow for the Commonwealth Games. We enjoyed ourselves. It's a lively, unpretentious, atmospheric eaterie, with interesting food enthusiastically and cheerfully served. Prices are absolutely reasonable (which cannot unfortunately be said for every decent restaurant in the city). Adequate wine list, but no proper beer alas "because our cellars are too warm". Mine host, though, sent us round the corner to the Mulberry (very good!) to get thirsts quenched before we ate! On a hot day (I know Glasgow doesn't have too many), the restaurant was definitely on the uncomfortable side of warm and the lack of any air conditioning was the only negative. No outside seating. Great in winter I should imagine. They don't take reservations, but it's spacious and we got seated very quickly. Exceptionally good home-made humous. Recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank forester99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mangetout70, General Manager at The Bungo Bar and Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Firstly can I say a big thank you for taking the time out in writing the review in the beginning. I remember you very well, the pint was the only thing on your mind at that point, and although we can not hold cask condition ales, I was very pleased to read you took my advice and went to the mulberry to enjoy a pint of cask ale to tackle that first before coming back to the bungo to enjoy our menu.
With you observation on the heat, we are looking to how we may let more air into the building as we are such an old building which certainly knows how to keep the heat.

We do hope when you may be visiting glasgow again you take the time in visiting us at the bungo to enjoy the good atmosphere we often create.

Again thank you for taking the time out for such a great review. Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very friendly and dog friendly local bar and restaurant located in strathbungo, really nice food, fabulous cocktail list, the espressotini is lethal but lush, the best bit is that we can gave dinner and our dog can come too, they cater for dogs and the southsiders of Glasgow, 10/10 VG xx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mangetout70, Manager at The Bungo Bar and Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Pam thank you for the time you took in writing a glowing review for us at the bungo. We are hear to look after all needs where possible and this review shows we are on the right track again and again. See you and your four legged friend at the bungo again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I ordered the chickpea and veggie haggis burger with chips, and an old fashioned cocktail to drink. The burger was excellent, 10 out of 10 -- crisp on the outside, and spicy within, like a large flat piece of pakora. The chips were excellent, and seasoned with rosemary salt. The cocktail was on the sweet side, but very enjoyable.

The service staff were excellent, and the restaurant is also dog-friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mangetout70, Manager at The Bungo Bar and Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

So pleased to read you enjoyed our vege burger. Do hope it filled a good gap. We look forward to seeing you again at the bungo when ever you may be in the area in the future. Again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bungo Bar and Kitchen also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Bungo Bar and Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing