We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Ranked #31 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed here for just one night but wished we had time to stay longer. This is a modern contemporary hotel in its décor, centrally located, so in an ideal location. The staff were really friendly and welcoming, the rooms were a good size with all of the expected amenities. The restaurant is worth a special mention; we had an exceptional meal here and although a little pricey, well worth it, the chocolate fondant dessert was ‘to die for’ and the staff in the restaurant made our experience even more special with their very friendly and cheerful banter, which is all too rare these days. I could not recommend this hotel enough, next time I’m in Glasgow, which I hope is very soon, I won’t be staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceefor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,273
    932
    316
    116
    52
See reviews for
289
1,080
132
649
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
skipton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

A large tour group of us had the misfortune to stay one night at this Hotel. Expectations were high as we had just had lovely stay at the Marriot Hotel further along Argyle St., and had no reason to expect a lower standard.
However despite having all the names of our party and several staff on reception it was a complete shambles, initially the staff looked completely disinterested. Eventually a more mature lady arrived and quickly took charge but by then others of our party and our tour guide were having to call out names and try to connect visitors with room keys.
It was a complete farce.
Yes they have all the usual facilities in the room and in working order.
But the decor in the room was very dark brown on three walls and brown curtains on the other so the all over impression was grim.
The beds were comfortable enough although not as wide as the Marriott, but the pillows were rock hard and the cushions like concrete. So a stiff neck in the morning was guaranteed.
We did not have breakfast so cannot comment on this. But it was a relief to leave and I would not visit again nor recommend.
We later found out that half of our party could not stay at the hotel as a whole wing had no power and they had been taken to the Menzies Hotel.
What a shame, but front of house is a guests first impression and should be more efficient than this.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cloverSkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saige S, Corporate Customer Service at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear cloverSkipton,

We apologize for the frustrations and inconvenience you encountered during your stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Glasgow.

We would like to review your situation further. Please contact us at customerservicesm@carlson.com to provide the dates of your stay and the name on your reservation.

We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to your response.

Corporate Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We had an extremely pleasant two night stay in midsummer. The hotel is big, modern, and sleekly attractive without being cold or institutional feeling. The rooms were spacious and comfy with plenty of storage and workspace. We ate in the room one evening and even our regular room had enough space for four adults to squeeze in at the table! The buffet breakfast is expensive but not unusually so for an urban hotel of this type and the food was very good with a selection for all preferences and good coffee and tea.
The town center location means that many things are walking distance and Central station is directly across the street.
The thing that really makes this Radisson special is the service. Every single person I interacted with was pleasant and professional. John at the door was extremely charming and helpful. Pamela in housekeeping retrieved my left iPod and made the extra effort to forward it by overnight mail to our next destination!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllTerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Stayed here for one night, quick walk from the central train station, signs for argyle street easy for follow. Quick check in, friendly staff. Room was a good size and clean, free toiletries etc. Free WiFi which is always good. Breakfast was very good, good choice with pastries, fruit and cooked options. Service very nice. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
162 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed here for a single evening whilst in Glasgow for an event.

First impressions were mixed. Whilst the hotel has an imposing glass facade and a very contemporary look to it, you need to consider its location. It is within view and 60 seconds walk from the Central Station and on a night you need to be wary of some of the people you may find on Argyle Street outside the hotel. We returned after our night out to find a group of 8-10 indivuals laid out directly infront of the rotating glass doors, clearly out of their minds on drink and if you're easily intimidated then I would suggest you look elsewhere.

The hotel can't be responsible for these people of course but the location does mean you will be exposed to the delights of a major City when the pubs turn out! That's the best way I can phrase it. Be aware.

I was approached outside the hotel within 60 seconds of going for a cigarette - by a woman begging me to give her money.

Inside the hotel was a little too clinical for our liking. It had a feel of a large corporate canteen/restaurant or an airport lounge.

Check-in, bar and restaurant service and all contact with staff was superb. They are to be applauded for their professional yet incredibly friendly manner. Out of all the 'large hotel group' City-centre hotels we've stayed in over the years I'd say the staff here were by far the best.

Unfortunately the hotel lets them down.

It was incredibly hot inside. The glass frontage, even on what wasn't a sunny day, meant that all public areas were very warm indeed. Uncomfortably so.

Upon arriving in our room (Junior Suite, floor 3) we can only really describe our first impressions as disappointing. It looked like a standard room to us. So much so that the first thing we asked the porter who'd brought our luggage was if it was a Junior Suite or not. If this is what they class as a Junior Suite then I'd hate to see a standard room.

The floor was wooden (laminate I suspect) with a very modern and contemporary look and feel to it - but it just hadn't been done well in our view. It didn't feel welcoming.

It had aircon - but it was useless. We left it on maximum for 5 hours, and throughout the night, because of the heat outside in the hallway but it still meant we had a rather uncomfortable nights sleep. It does cool the room down considerably compared to the public area temperatures, but it just didn't do the job well enough.

The bathroom was basic yet functional and clean. However, the shower pressure was frankly appalling. Utterly useless. You had to adjust it to 'luke warm' to get any amount of usable pressure and even then it wasn't anything but 'poor'.

Tea, coffee, etc are provided, along with an ironing board, safe and free internet access, so we couldn't complain on that side of things.

We ordered breakfast in our room and whilst it arrived on time we had to call room service to tell them that we had received marmalade...but not the toast....and that we only had one glass of fresh orange....not the two....and the food was rather rubbery in taste and all a little uninspiring. The coffee was nice though, and you did get plenty of it. A poor hotel breakfast from what we've experienced elsewhere in Scotland.

In summary, the staff saved the Radisson Blu from getting 2 stars and they elevated it to a 3. We won't be returning because there are better hotels for £160+ a night, much better.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

I've stayed in hotels for business for over 10 years (Probably 500-1000 different ones now) and I've never had course to complain until now.

It was the first night of our honeymoon before we flew out from Glasgow airport so we thought we would splash (Over £100) out and stay in a 5 star hotel for the first (and probably only time).

Check in was fine, staff were polite, we went up to the room where we discovered we were overlooking a skip, 10 mins later we were presented with a complementary bottle of water for someone else.

Ordered breakfast for in the room the next morning before we had to get to the airport, food finally turned up, after the 3rd phone call, 20 mins late and stone cold!!

As we no longer had time we set off hungry to the airport, its supposed to be 5 star hotel! You get better service in most 2 star hotels.

We did complain on our return and to their initial credit sent a voucher for a free night stay in line with their 100% satisfaction policy.

I have just tried to use it...
Despite rooms being available on their website and every other hotel website available, I was unable to use the voucher as they "Have limited availability".

As I type this the standard room offered is still available on all websites but I cannot use my voucher as the 100% satisfaction guarantee only works when its convenient to Radisson.

I work away from home a lot and at short notice so cannot book in advance and If the hotel was fully booked I would have no argument but as it's not it shows the sheer disappearance of customer service in the UK and the continued "Customer is always wrong" attitude in the service industry it's no surprise that we continue to be a worldwide laughing stock whilst even our 5* hotels behave like this.

I've just booked a room in the Carlton George on recommendation from a friend instead.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saige S, Corporate Customer Service at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
We apologize for the frustrations and inconvenience you encountered during your stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Glasgow, and continue to experience when attempting to book using the free night gift certificate.

We would like to assist you further in this matter. Please contact us at customerservicesm@carlson.com, and provide the dates of your stay at the Radisson Blue Hotel Glasgow, and the name on your reservation.

We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to your response.

Trisha, Corporate Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

I booked this hotel via the Expedia site and was able to access the 'business class' room rate of £190.00 per room per night (including breakfast/newspaper/wi-fi) - the room (floor 5; number 14) was VERY nice BUT there was a 'background-stench' of cigarette smoke in the room.
My Scottish girlfriend and I had travelled to Glasgow to watch the European qualifier at Hampden Park.
Because we were only staying in the hotel one night it did not seem 'logical' to make a fuss ... having said that, there were a few niggles that I mentioned to the 'front-desk' when I checked-out of the room on the Sunday morning AFTER eating a decent breakfast (= all the 'usual suspects' + haggis!!)..

Niggles -
(a) the shower water did not drain away very quickly; so ultimately water level would rise in the shower cubicle (double); and would over-flow onto the tiled bathroom floor;
(b)the room was clean; but it did smell of cigarettes
(c) the complimentary pool table in the bar area had two pool cues to use - BOTH without tips and none could be 'found' to replace the missing ones?

The restaurant was VERY, VERY good; the waiter-service was exceptional and the price was 'acceptable' ... I repeat, the food was great and worth paying that little bit more for!!

The hotel could not be faulted with respect to; service; restaurant food and liquor; and lager; and thus costs were at a level one should expect to pay at a 5 star hotel - and I can easily claim that these the hotel offered good '5-star' value for '5-star' money!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulchristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,066 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#43 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Address: 301 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trendy and sophisticated, Radisson Blu Glasgow is located in the heart of the culture-rich city. Shopping and popular attractions such as Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Riverside Museum and the SSE Hydro are all nearby. Each of the 238 elegant bedrooms and suites come with bathrobe and slippers, top-end toiletries and a mini bar. Enjoy the delectable and creative fare of Collage Restaurant offering a unique twist on the British Brassiere, then stop by the two on-site bars for perfectly poured cocktails, wine and beer. When you're not out exploring rejuvenate in the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. The exceptional meeting facilities are some of the best in the city, boasting 15 meeting rooms hosting up to 800 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Radisson Glasgow
Glasgow Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing