We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Radisson Blu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Ranked #33 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Radisson Blu”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

A very nice, modern hotel with a very good weekend room rate. Room is very, clean, pleasingly quiet considering the location. Very well appointed room and comfortable bed. Excellent location for Glasgow city walking. Staff were very efficient and genuinely polite and helpful, a real pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdeldoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,355
    1,006
    346
    121
    60
See reviews for
323
1,170
138
685
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, England, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed here for one night on business.

Very good welcome from both the concierge and the girl on reception.

Room was lovely, modern and quiet. Room service was great and I had a good nights sleep except for the nagging thought that the view from my window was like a scene from Scooby Doo.......See below and sweet dreams...MWHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAA

Ps. The NCP car park round the corner is only a 30 second walk but its like the set of a gangster movie! You would want to walk in or out of it in the dark!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the old mill 'If it hadn't been for you meddling ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kohima
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

this hotel is well located as you can walk to all the happening places from the hotel. the main shopping areas are just a couple of minutes down the street. the rooms are a bit on the smaller side but the staff are professional. the check-in was smooth and so was the check out. in fact we requested for a late check-out which was done in less than a minute. there's a nice bar on the ground level from where you can relax and just watch the world go by as its on the street level and the wall are all glass. cant say much for the food as we ate out most of the time but the breakfasts were standard five star fare. The gentlemen at the concierge were helpful but a bit weak on information, especially in five star hotel. for example we took suggestions for a night club from the concierge but when we landed at the club, we were told the club is a students' only joint. we also requested the concierge to get us an exclusive tour for our group of eight where we could be picked and dropped at the hotel, but all they managed was a regular tour with other tourists on board as well with us having to report to the tour operator's pick up point early in the morning, despite the fact that we were willing to pay whatever it took.
when we arrived at Glasgow, and on our way to the hotel, our pick-up driver informed us that the Radisson Hotel in Glasgow was probable the best hotel in the city and deserved a seven star rating...so our expectations of the hotel did shoot up quite a bit. But all in all its is an excellent hotel with helpful and professional staff with the front desk being exceptionally friendly. its a hotel we will definitely stay in again if we visit Glasgow.

Room Tip: our room had a terrible view ... more like looking over an abandoned construction site ....so no com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbuMetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Cant really fault this hotel. Rooms were a tad small but they were very nice and there was a gym nextdoor (think LA fitness) which was good but the pool was a bit rubbish.

Staff were all friendly and the check in/ check out was very speedy. Would stay again for the price we paid!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We've stayed here on a few occasions can honestly say that everything about the place smacks of an understated professionalism from all the staff.
From the doorman to the concierge to the booking staff, they have always been friendly, helpful and efficient without making you feel as if they would sooner be away dealing with other things.
Only once have we had any issue and this was when the room we wer given turned out to be more of a business users room. Smaller than we'd had in the past and contained a large desk. This was a good room if you were on your own in Glasgow for a night or 2, but for 2 people, there wasn't enough storage space.
Rang reception and they arrived within 3 minutes with the passkey to another room and a guy to carry our bags.
The bar is a great place to have a quick drink prior to hitting the town, with a great choice of cocktails, all of which are professionally mixed and reasonably priced.
The breakfast choice is a thing of beauty - brilliant choice of just about everything you could wish for breakfast (and probably some you wouldn't expect).
All in all, a brilliant place to stay in a brilliant city with friendly and efficient staff - Thanks to everyone at the Blu, hope to see you all soon.

Room Tip: We've stopped on floors 3,4 & 5. On floor 3, try to avoid the rooms overlooking the roof of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The thing that sets this hotel apart is without a doubt its staff. The unassuming professionalism and attention to detail of the staff at the Radisson began when I booked a number of rooms on Booking.com (at a reasonable rate of £114 per room) under two separate booking references. Within minutes, the reservations team (Susan and Jasmeet) had contacted me to confirm the booking and check that I had intended to make the second set of reservations (by contrast, I have waited days for a response to email requests from “luxury” hotels elsewhere, and a request to change the dates of my reservation at the Balmoral in Edinburgh was met with a cold, impersonal, generic email). The reservations team also confirmed quickly that my special requests made on Booking.com had been noted, and when members of our party checked in at different times of day, we found that all of those requests (early check-in, quiet rooms away from the lifts, and a baby cot for one room) had been accommodated. I had also informed the hotel when booking that the reservation was for a family gathering to celebrate my brother’s birthday, and he was delighted to find a bottle of prosecco and a handwritten card welcoming him when he arrived at his room – a very nice touch. The service throughout our one night stay was consistent – professional, responsive, and never over-the-top or invasive.

The streets around the hotel are not the most salubrious part of Glasgow, but the location of the hotel is perfect for access to the city centre and Central Station, from which it is literally across the road. Rooms are comfortable and stylishly decorated, although the dark wallpaper of many of the rooms may not be to everyone’s taste and, combined with the generally low lighting, did make the room quite dark at night (it would be very difficult to work comfortably). Room service was as expensive as one tends to expect at UK hotels, but the selection and quality were good, and food was piping hot and was delivered quickly. Breakfast (not included in our room rate) did not feature the most expansive selection, but the choice was reasonable and the quality was very good (poached eggs ordered from the table were cooked perfectly!).

Although I think it’s classed as a five star hotel, in most respects the Radisson feels like a very good four star hotel when compared with true “luxury” hotels elsewhere in the world. That’s not intended to be a criticism – this is a very comfortable, good value hotel in a great location, and although I can’t speak from experience, I would imagine that it would be hard to beat in Glasgow (and my brother stated that he preferred it to the rather over-the-top service of the Hilton). It may not have the bells and whistles of some five stars hotel, but far more importantly, it has five star staff and service – and for that reason is my new first choice in Glasgow.

Room Tip: Request a room with lighter coloured wallpaper than the default dark grey for a brighter feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkw1451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

True to the Radisson brand, the Glasgow team also made my stay a relaxing and pleasing one. I'd say this Radisson almost surpassed the Manchester one by providing more individualized service and due to the more originally designed room I got. The only major downside was that the pillows were so uncomfortable I had a definitely stiff and sore neck when I left.

The only other point in need of improvement was the internet connection provided. The wi-fi prevented me from using my company's VPN when I needed it and the wired connection port was dead. Fortunately, I know the provider can do better, so fixing this should not be impossible.

Room Tip: Inward facing rooms are more likely to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gekkoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
3,905 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,300 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,295 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,670 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Address: 301 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trendy and sophisticated, Radisson Blu Glasgow is located in the heart of the culture-rich city. Shopping and popular attractions such as Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Riverside Museum and the SSE Hydro are all nearby. Each of the 238 elegant bedrooms and suites come with bathrobe and slippers, top-end toiletries and a mini bar. Enjoy the delectable and creative fare of Collage Restaurant offering a unique twist on the British Brassiere, then stop by the two on-site bars for perfectly poured cocktails, wine and beer. When you're not out exploring rejuvenate in the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. The exceptional meeting facilities are some of the best in the city, boasting 15 meeting rooms hosting up to 800 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Rezidor, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Radisson Glasgow
Glasgow Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing