We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's billed as 5*, it's good, but it's not that good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We booked a last minute deal on a website and this was one of their 'top secret' five star hotels - so we booked it. The website promised parking... Alas no. It has a discount arrangement with a multi storey car park close by. It's a great location, yards from Central Station. We were offered a valet parking service, but Mr S decided that he would rather park himself and save the £19.50.
Our room stank of stale cigarette smoke, so we asked to be moved to a new room and they kindly obliged. We had some work to do and struggled with the dim lighting, but it would be perfect for a romantic evening.
The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean. The bed comfortable. The mini bar very well stocked. All in all, it's very peasant, but it is to five star to what I am to the Queen of Sheba! This hotel is more like Holiday Inn Express or Premier Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karenina_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,196 - 2,202 of 3,111 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. The breakfast is great- varied and you can also order a lot of stuff from th menu. The front desk is annoying as there is always a queue. The rooms are really clean but so small- I think that for their prices you would expect a bit more space. Overall I liked it as it was a business trip but I wouldn't book that hotel myself

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 223Lee223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Short notice booking. Very friendly staff and the dinner at the restaurant was really good. The bed was quite good but could have been a bit firmer. I would stay at other Radisson Blu hotels based upon that experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francissp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Excellent location in the heart of Glasgow and Glasgow Central train station is at the Hotel's doorstep which is Great for business travelers. The sightseeing tour bus stop right in front of the hotel which you can't miss. There are great cafes, restaurants and bars nearby and so close to the shopping centre too which was great. Hotel building itself is piece of great architecture!

The second time we stayed at this hotel coz of the location and great transport links plus the helpful doorman, reception staff, concierge and the great breakfast. The room were spacious, lovely and comfortable too. If you have any problem or need anything, must ask for reception! They focus much on customer service so they will be more than willing to help you.

Room Tip: Higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lipsytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

If you are staying here you won’t be disappointed. I stayed here 1 night while on business in Glasgow and can say it’s one of the better hotels I’ve stayed in. The hotel is 30 seconds walk from Glasgow Central rail station. The downside to this hotel is there is no parking available. There is an NCP car park a few minutes down the road which costs £7 per night. The room are a decent size and are very well maintained. There is a good selected of hot and cold food available for Breakfast so there is something for everyone. I didn’t get the chance for an evening meal so I can’t comment on that. There are plenty good restaurants within walking distance. If you like a beer in the evening the bar is expensive but there is a Wetherspoons across the road.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

This is a five star but you would be better off at a premier inn as staff try but I feel the staff and management even though on average wage they thing they are five star and above the guests.
The breakfast was also cold or dried out there was one person a small girl with reddish hair and ran rings round management she knew more than they did I found them all blunt I felt funny asking for anything.

Room Tip: You use a spa owned by another company and they are rude ,the swimming pool was dirty and had hair i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Fantastic hotel in a great location. Our room on the 5th floor was amazing with the most comfortable bed i think i have ever slept in and the staff were really friendly. I loved the Tunnock tea cakes being used as christmas decorations in the foyer!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evelyn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
4,180 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#28 of 93 in Glasgow
3,526 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Address: 301 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £74 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trendy and sophisticated, Radisson Blu Glasgow is located in the heart of the culture-rich city. Shopping and popular attractions such as Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Riverside Museum and the SSE Hydro are all nearby. Each of the 238 elegant bedrooms and suites come with bathrobe and slippers, top-end toiletries and a mini bar. Enjoy the delectable and creative fare of Collage Restaurant offering a unique twist on the British Brassiere, then stop by the two on-site bars for perfectly poured cocktails, wine and beer. When you're not out exploring rejuvenate in the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. The exceptional meeting facilities are some of the best in the city, boasting 15 meeting rooms hosting up to 800 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Radisson Glasgow
Glasgow Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing