We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design Classic and good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Ranked #32 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Maybe the TV control was slightly tempramental - perhaps the bar prices were slightly eye watering - but this hotel is a design classic.
I liked the layout of my room - the view - the bathroom. All good.
Ofcourse what really makes a stay are the staff - and they are all excellent with professional good manners and keen to impress.
The lift controls are a bit different to the norm as you have to select the floor you want rather than just "up" or "down".
I absentmindedly entered my room number the last time and had a real tour of the floors! Luckily the last number of the room was the same as the first so I got where I wanted to go.
I did meet one lift traveller with a terrified look on his eyes who eventually got out murmuring "at last the floor I wanted" so the concept is still a bit strange to the guests.
Have to say the Collage Bar is a fantastic place for Glasgow people watching - and again the bar staff are engaging and helpful.
Enjoyed the stay which was just for business

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jezlowprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Hello Jezlowprice,

Thanks for the Tripadvisor review!

Our Collage bar area is something we are particularly proud of in the hotel, I'm glad you enjoyed the setting and people watching!

Next time you're in Glasgow I hope we shall see you again.

Kindest Regards,
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,891 - 1,897 of 2,950 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2013

Glasgow is a city that myself and my husband visit regularly but we usually stay over at the Hilton, this time we had the opportunity to stay at the Radisson.
What a lovely modern hotel, on entering there are small desks for a more personal service rather than the long desk that you usually get at a hotel reception. Check in was very quick and easy and we were given our key, the lift is an unusual one in that you press for your floor number on the outside of the lift and it then tells you which lift to expect.
The room itself was modern and reasonably sized, I thought there was plenty of storage space and the bathroom was very clean with under floor heating, the complimentary products in the bathroom were arran aromatics which are wonderful. The only criticism that I have for the room is that the bed was a bit hard for me, but that is a personal thing and my husband had no problem.
The breakfast in the hotel is excellent with so much choice, from cereals to cooked breakfast and you can order your eggs, Scottish porridge or kippers from your waiter.
I found the staff at this hotel excellent very friendly whilst being polite and professional at all times.
This hotel has an excellent location, a minutes walk from central station and not more to the shopping area of argyle street and Buchannan street.

All in all a wonderful nights stay and will be my new choice of hotel in Glasgow in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicki m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Hello elsier,
Thank you for the fantastic review! Of all the positive points you mentioned, needless to say the most rewarding to hear is the appraisal of the staff you encountered. Customer service is always the most important part of staying in a hotel and I'm happy to hear you found us first class in this department.
Next time you're in Glasgow I hope we shall see you again.

Kindest Regards,
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Having not been to Glasgow City Centre before, I was intrigued to know what it was like and had arranged to stay at the Radisson Blu in the centre of town. Wow, what can I say, other than fantastic. I arrived at the hotel and was greeted by the friendly and cheerful staff (pleasant surprise at the end of a long day!). On the way to my room, they even had a shoe shine machine (not seen one of those for ages!). The room was modern, well furnished, clean and was well above average in my opinion. The bathroom was excellent with a huge bath and nice shower. Plenty of towels and there were also nice touches like a bath robe and slippers. Despite the hotels location, the noise was minimal (apart from the occasional siren/car horn). The location is great if you're looking to explore Glasgow city centre - very close to shops, bars and restaurants. The concierge at the front desk (very chirpy Scot in a kilt!) recommended a local curry house (the Dhabba) which was exceptional. He even rang them and made sure we were able to get a table. I had a great nights sleep and the morning presented me with one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had - great quality and plenty to choose from - in fact almost too much! Nice atmosphere too. My flight home wasn't until the afternoon so following breakfast and a stroll around the town (literally 1 minute away!), I thought I'd try out the pool. This is located in the adjacent LA Fitness, and the hotel has it's own lift/entrance which I found very handy. The staff there were also very helpful and provide you with a towel and locker free of charge (you just have to sign in/out). The pool was lovely (and I was the only one there, which was nice!), with the added bonus of a sauna. After signing out I chose to take the number 500 bus back to the airport, the bus stop only a short walk from the hotel. The bus was only £6 one way, which is considerably cheaper than a cab, plus it runs every 10-15 mins. Overall, a great hotel and staff, good value for money, excellent location, nice friendly people, fantastic overall experience. Next time I'm in Glasgow I know where i'll be staying!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Hi Alan B,
Thanks for the excellent trip advisor review.

I'm glad to hear that we could contribute towards an excellent stay in Glasgow and I hope to see you again soon!

Kindest Regards,
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

What a great hotel. An excellent nights sleep in very comfortable rooms with all the things you need for a quality stay, whether it's one night or more. Smack dab in the heart of the city with all local amenities within walking distance. It has a small but comfortable restaurant with an excellent choice of menu for those who like the finer things in life. Also used as the breakfast bar which serves probably the best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel. All the usual fry up for breakfast along with local square sausage, black pudding, white pudding and of course haggis. The bar area is spacious and all the staff are pleasant and helpful, definitely worth spending that little bit more for.

Room Tip: If you are not sure what to do in the evening, the staff are always on hand to give good advise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Hello Andrew C,
Thanks for the excellent Tripadvisor review!

Our Atrium bar area is something we are particularly proud of in the hotel, I'm glad you enjoyed the setting.

Next time you're in Glasgow I hope we shall see you again.

Kindest Regards,
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed for the second time this past weekend and had a fantastic time. Helpful and friendly staff, beautiful room with lots of little special touches. Fab central location. Slightly pricey for room only but will return again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hengus1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Hi Hengus1804,
Thanks for the excellent trip advisor review.
I'm glad to hear that we could contribute towards an excellent stay in Glasgow and I hope to see you again soon!
Kindest Regards,
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed there for the weekend and I thought that it was excellent on all counts, staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, the rooms were spacious, well maintained and furnished to a high spec. The location was excellent for all amenities in Glasgow.
Would definitely recommend and would go again and stay without question.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinster1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Hello Vinster1969,
Thank you for the fantastic review! Of all the positive points you mentioned, needless to say the most rewarding to hear is the appraisal of the staff you encountered. Customer service is always the most important part of staying in a hotel and I'm happy to hear you found us first class in this department.
We hope that we can welcome you back to The Radisson Blu Glasgow, in the future.
Best Regards,
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, on a Saturday and Sunday. It was excellent.
When we arrived the hotel was extremely busy, however the very friendly concierge assisted us and took our bags to our room whilst we were checking in.

Once we got to our room, it was very modern, clean and warm.

Glasgow itself was ok, been lots of times so cannot really comment. Hotel was excellent though and I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Hello Steven D,
Thanks for the excellent trip advisor review.

I'm glad to hear that we could contribute towards an excellent stay in Glasgow and I hope to see you again soon!

Kindest Regards,
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
3,991 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,375 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
836 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Address: 301 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £82 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trendy and sophisticated, Radisson Blu Glasgow is located in the heart of the culture-rich city. Shopping and popular attractions such as Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Riverside Museum and the SSE Hydro are all nearby. Each of the 238 elegant bedrooms and suites come with bathrobe and slippers, top-end toiletries and a mini bar. Enjoy the delectable and creative fare of Collage Restaurant offering a unique twist on the British Brassiere, then stop by the two on-site bars for perfectly poured cocktails, wine and beer. When you're not out exploring rejuvenate in the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. The exceptional meeting facilities are some of the best in the city, boasting 15 meeting rooms hosting up to 800 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Radisson Glasgow
Glasgow Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing