We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Different From the Usual Chain Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Ranked #32 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Myself and my mother stayed here as we were going to a concert at the Hydro.

I really can't fault the place but in particular their staff are excellent. So friendly and nothing is a trouble to them. God knows what they do to incentivise their staff but many other large hotel chains could learn a lesson here.

We didn't have dinner but did have breakfast, which was excellent and good value at £12 pp. When we arrived at the restaurant, the gent at the entrance showed us to our table, asked if we'd stayed before and when we told him no he explained everything to us.

Next time I'm in Glasgow with my partner, this will most certainly be the hotel I stay in.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotty_Trix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Hi Scotty_Trix,
Thank you for the excellent review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your kind words about all employees you encountered
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind Regards,
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,690 - 1,696 of 2,950 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

The rooms are completely sealed: you can't open a window for fresh air but must rely on whatever stale recirculated vapour the buzzing air con decides to let you breathe.

The mattresses are shallow, unpadded, unconforming rock hard springs on a hardboard slab base. Strictly bottom of the market and horribly uncomfortable.

No fripperies can compensate for waking up with a sore throat, sore back, and sore head.

Never again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John Gilmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Hi John Gilmore,
Thanks for the honest appraisal of your stay with us at the Radisson Blu Hotel Glasgow.
I am afraid due to health and safety legislation the only floor that windows can be opened is the second floor.
I hope this experience will not detract you from choosing Radisson Blu and hope you will choose Radisson Blu in the future.
Kind Regards,
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Just back from christmas shopping trip staying at the Radisson Blu. The staff who checked us in and out were very nice and friendly, probably the nicest reception staff I've ever dealt with.
The room was nice and clean and quiet considering we were just across the road from the train station.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonjovilover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Hello Bonjovilover,
Thank you for the great Tripadvisor review
I am delighted to hear that your Christmas Shopping trip was a success .I will pass on your kind words to our Reception team
Have a lovely Christmas when it comes
Kind Regards,
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Visiting Glasgow for my cousin's wedding my partner and I stayed in the Radisson for four nights and were not left disappointed. The hotel is located perfectly beside Central station and is a short walk from the city centre - cinema, bars, shopping mall and pretty much everything you could want.

The hotel concierge organised a taxi for us and it arrived quickly, which was brilliant seeing as we were a bit unsure of where we were going but got there in plenty of time (Glasgow really has some beautiful venues, the wedding day itself was wonderful!). All staff members were as helpful as could have been asked of them and the hotel itself was perfect, from the super-soft sheets and free wi-fi to the adjoining gym and pool (which although busy at times was really kitted out with top of the range equipment).

Would definitely recommend most to stay there when visiting the city (maybe suited a bit more to couples and older people than those with small children as the bar area is right in the lobby - but that can definitely be a positive depending on how you look at it) - you won't find a better base for your trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 320WilliamC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Hello 320WilliamC,
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel for your cousins wedding.
We hope to welcome you back to Glasgow for future visits
Kind Regards,
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is a very nice modern hotel, in an excellent location on Argyle Street, in the middle of Glasgow City Centre. The hotel is very central for the main shopping / restaurants in Glasgow - Argyle Street / Buchanan Street / Princess Square / Merchant City etc..

I have stayed in this hotel at least once per year for the past 5 years. The standard of room and service has always been consistently good, Clean rooms, friendly staff (excellent Concierge service) and the food has always been excellent.

It is a two minute walk from Glasgow Central Train Station, and a 10 minute walk from Queen Street Train Station - the two main train stations in Glasgow.

(FYI the Airport bus stops on Bothwell Street which is also a two minute walk from the hotel. The Airport bus runs every 15 minutes and takes around 15 / 20 minutes from airport to the City Centre).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackster50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Hi Jackster50,
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us, we are very grateful for all the feedback we receive and appreciate the time you have taken to recognise our hotel. I will pass on your kind words regarding our staff and our concierge team. We hope that we can welcome you back to The Radisson Blu Glasgow, in the future.
Kind Regards,
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We normally enjoy staying here. However, on this occasion we were a tad disappointed because two of the lights in our room weren't working and nor was the TV. (Not that we watch TV much, but the News is always welcome in the morning). The bed was brick hard - think sleeping o. Cement bricks. Today's top tip -avoid room 559.... Unless you like ultra hard mattresses.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karenina_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Hello Karenina_J,
Thank you for your recent Tripadvisor review
Thanks for the honest appraisal of your stay with us at the Radisson Blu Hotel Glasgow. It sounds like we could have provided a higher level of service during your visit. The 2ns,3rd and 4th floor have softer matresses than the 5th floor which may be more to your liking. I have passed on the information regarding the TV issues and in early 2014 all TV's in the hotel are being upgraded.
I hope this experience will not detract you from choosing Radisson Blu and hope you will choose Radisson Blu in the future.
Kind Regards,
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and the best by far. I was there with my Husband who was in Glasgow on business. The room was large and extremely quiet despite being in the centre of Glasgow. I really could not fault the service we received it was excellent nothing was too much trouble. I can’t comment on the restaurant food as we only eat breakfast but that was good, an extensive range with continental as well as an English breakfast. Also a great base for sightseeing in Glasgow almost next door to Central Station and very close to the Glasgow subway (aka the Clockwork Orange due to the fact its round and orange, according to the locals). Well worth a trip just to experience it. A great few days and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Inside rooms facing the inner part are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wakefieldwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Hi Wakefieldwomen,
Thank you for the fantastic review! Of all the positive points you mentioned, needless to say the most rewarding to hear is the appraisal of the staff you encountered. Customer service is always the most important part of staying in a hotel and I'm happy to hear you found us first class in this department.
We hope to welcome you and your husband back to the hotel soon
Kind Regards,
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
3,988 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,373 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
835 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Address: 301 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £85 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trendy and sophisticated, Radisson Blu Glasgow is located in the heart of the culture-rich city. Shopping and popular attractions such as Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Riverside Museum and the SSE Hydro are all nearby. Each of the 238 elegant bedrooms and suites come with bathrobe and slippers, top-end toiletries and a mini bar. Enjoy the delectable and creative fare of Collage Restaurant offering a unique twist on the British Brassiere, then stop by the two on-site bars for perfectly poured cocktails, wine and beer. When you're not out exploring rejuvenate in the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. The exceptional meeting facilities are some of the best in the city, boasting 15 meeting rooms hosting up to 800 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Radisson Glasgow
Glasgow Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing