We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Glasgow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Ranked #32 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The Radisson Blu is an impressive, luxurious hotel in the heart of Glasgow. The staff were unbelievably friendly and helpful - our bags were carried for us, any queries were dealt with and we were allowed to check out late at no additional cost. Fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hello Tom H,
Thank you for the excellent Tripadvisor Review
Of all the positive points you mentioned, needless to say the most rewarding to hear is the appraisal of the staff you encountered. Customer service is always the most important part of staying in a hotel and I'm happy to hear you found us first class in this department. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future Kind Regards, Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,680 - 1,686 of 3,024 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night. Room was spotless, location was great steps away rom train station, shops and pubs. The hotel room has everything you need iron, hairdryer and mini bar. Will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RUTHIE915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hi Ruthie915,
A review like this is exactly what we are aiming for! Thank you for the glowing recommendation and I hope we see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed here February 2014 for five days through work. After an efficient and welcoming check-in, to be honest first impressions of the room weren't that great. Although the rooms have been refurbished relatively recently they're already looking a little tired with a number of small chips in the dark wood fittings and scratches around the sink. Perfect clean and servicable, probably just the wrong choice of materials for longevity. The other thing that was immediately disconcerting was the lack of hanging space - there was room for three shirts and a couple of suits and that's it. OK for a single person for a night or two but couples and long-stay guests will doubtless be partially lving out of their suitcases. The (standard) room was a decent size with a slightly unusual pillar unit in the centre housing the tv and drinks making facilities; although at first it seemed to get in the way it did have a significant practical advantage in that you could watch tv easily from the bed. Decent choice of channels (freeview plus Sky Sports) although the remote control wasn't the easiest to master. Here's a suggestion for the hotel - move the suitcase stand to the dead area behind the pillar and extend the wardrobe/hanging space out and you'll kill two birds with one stone. You can send me my £250k consultancy fee later...

The other thing that will probably divide guests is the bed. Both the mattress and the pillows were on the hard side of firm; it suited me absolutely fine but those who like a bit more give might not be so appreciative.

After that it's pretty well all positives. The well-designed bathroom was a pleasure to use with a proper walk-in shower, great toiletries and big absorbant towels. Another highlight was the breakfast which for a hotel buffet was about as good as it gets in the UK. A wide choice of hot and cold items, overall very good quality and quick and attentive staff. For a change the coffee, fruit juices and bread were all first rate. If you get fed up with the buffet you can get a limited number of dishes cooked to order; the smoked haddock is highly recommended.

Service from the staff throughout was very helpful and polite and couldn't be faulted. The hotel's also very well situated too with an easy walk to the central railway, subway, shops and restaurants.

Overall it's mostly a five star experience but the one big caveat is...noise. Not from the other rooms (absolute silence there) but from the ouside of the building. I was up on the fifth floor overlooking the back and there was a constant drone, both day and night, from what I believe to be the air-conditioning units for the hotel. Even with the window closed it was still there in the background.With the tv on it was barely noticeable but it was certainly an issue when I woke up during the night and more than once I had to resort to my trusty wax earplugs to get back to sleep. I've noticed that some other reviewers have commented on ths too whereas for others it wasn't mentioned so I suppose it depends on how sensitive you are to noise and where your room is. It certainly wouldn't stop me from recommending the hotel (particularly at the generous sub-£100 a night which I got it for) and I'd happily return but I'd want to make sure I had a room in a different part of the hotel next time

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jdian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hi Jdian,
Thanks for the honest appraisal of your stay with us at the Radisson Blu Hotel Glasgow. We do offer 3 different styles of standard room at the hotel so next time you’re in maybe we can offer you something more to your liking and have more wardrobe space than the room style you were in.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon
Kind Regards,
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Booked a junior suite which at £220 per night was expecting a modicum of luxury. Unfortunately the room was furnished like a travelodge and was rather cold and unwelcoming. The hotel looks great architecturally and service attentive, but the room was looking a bit tired. Thankfully the bed was comfortable!

The breakfast was plentiful (buffet) but quality was rather low and we were shoehorned into a small cramped space which led to us hurrying out to grab a proper breakfast elsewhere.

It's not really a top 4 star experience...

Room Tip: Don't book a family room or junior suite - over priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiltedHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed one night at this hotel. I was in Glasgow on business but my wife travelled with me. The room wasn't ready when we arrived but the staff allocated us a different room immediately. Our bags were taken to the room. The room was spotlessly clean. We ate in the restaurant which was excellent. Excellent hotel in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Hello,
A review like this is exactly what we are aiming for! Thank you for the glowing recommendation and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

As a lone female traveler on a business trip I found the whole experience extremely enjoyable and secure. the business meeting was held at the same location and was well run. The breakfast was very enjoyable and the service friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Sheridan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Hi Sheridan,
Thank you for the lovely Tripadvisor review. It was great to read that you enjoyed staying with us whilst on business we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again. Kind Regards, Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel for the third time and once again standards were high. The staff In both the hotel were excellent and friendly. The only thing that we could complain about was the bed wasn't the most comfortable and the price of the drinks in the bar.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Hello David F,
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us, we are very grateful for all the feedback we receive and appreciate the time you have taken to recognise our hotel. We hope that we can welcome you back to The Radisson Blu Glasgow, in the future.
Kind Regards,
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,087 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
3,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,370 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
2,022 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Address: 301 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £75 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trendy and sophisticated, Radisson Blu Glasgow is located in the heart of the culture-rich city. Shopping and popular attractions such as Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Riverside Museum and the SSE Hydro are all nearby. Each of the 238 elegant bedrooms and suites come with bathrobe and slippers, top-end toiletries and a mini bar. Enjoy the delectable and creative fare of Collage Restaurant offering a unique twist on the British Brassiere, then stop by the two on-site bars for perfectly poured cocktails, wine and beer. When you're not out exploring rejuvenate in the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. The exceptional meeting facilities are some of the best in the city, boasting 15 meeting rooms hosting up to 800 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Radisson Glasgow
Glasgow Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing