We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Impressed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Ranked #31 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
North Ayrshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

My Mum and I stayed at this hotel on Saturday night, this was a Christmas gift. On arrival at the hotel we were most impressed, staff were both friendly and helpful and we were pleasantly surprised as we were able to check in when we arrived at 11.30am (check in time advertised as 3pm). Rooms were very modern and had all of the nice touches including a fully stocked mini bar!! The hotel bar was nice and relaxing to sit and have a drink within, with staff being most attentive. We both had a good nights sleep too.

Breakfast in the morning was disappointing. We were situated in the furthest away room where we were greeted by unmade and untidy tables. I ordered my main breakfast off of the menu supplied. Mum went to get a cooked breakfast and there was very little choice available at that time, staff advised items were on way - to which the chef did bring an additional plate when ready. Staff within this part of the hotel were not so polite, with two staff members having a 'disagreement' at one point. This however did not impact on our stay.

Overall, most enjoyable and would certainly return.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hello Jennifer D,
Thanks for the review.
I'm glad to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your stay eith us at The Radisson Blu Hotel Glasgow. I will pass on the feedback regarding breakfast and ensure it is discussed with all concerned. We are very grateful for all the feedback we receive and appreciate the time you have taken to recognise our hotel. We hope that we can welcome you back to The Radisson Blu Glasgow, in the future.
Kind Regards, Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,273
    932
    316
    116
    52
See reviews for
289
1,080
132
649
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

had one night here this month to attend the forget me not ball and cannot say a bad word about this lovely hotel - check in faultless, room had all you needed, service and food at the function was superb (even though we had the last table to be fed but then someone has to be !!) and the location is great - I usually take my daughter to Glasgow for a few days in the school hols and will be staying here next time

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kateamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hello kateamy,
Thank you for the great Tripadvisor review, It is great to read that you enjoyed the forget me not ball. We hope to welcome you back during the holidays with your daughter Kind Regards, Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Two nights at the Radisson Blu - absolutely fabulous - very friendly staff, lovely room. Little things made it perfect like well stocked mini bar, tea, coffee etc. ironing board and iron so you didn't have to ring and ask. Huge comfortable bed, clean and well kept was quiet too which made a difference no noise in the corridors which you can experience in some hotels. Breakfast was an experience in itself - catered for cooked and continental and catered for everyone's preferences - no-one could say there wasn't anything on the menu that they didn't like. And Ryvita which for me was a 110% bonus as I usually have to take my own. Couldn't fault breakfast or the great service with tea/coffee/and toast for partner coming within minutes. Request for porridge was met with "large bowl or small bowl" like I say just couldn't fault anything about this hotel - will definitely be my hotel of choice next time we are in Glasgow.

Room Tip: Tell them you've not stayed before and Reception will ensure you get a good choice of room - ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hello Janet M,
Thank you for the wonderful Tripadvisor review.
I am delighted to read that breakfast was a highlight! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in Glasgow Kind Regards, Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

As a business traveller, all you want is a smile and a room where you want it. You get that here and with a smile too! A room with no noise, away from the lifts and top floor, no problem. I did eat out as although it looks good, plenty more outside. The lifts are really good here too.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Doug_421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hello Doug_421,
Thank you for the great Tripadvisor review. We are delighted to read that you enjoy staying with us when on Business in Glasgow. We hope to welcome you back soon Kind Regards, Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

The Radisson Blu is an impressive, luxurious hotel in the heart of Glasgow. The staff were unbelievably friendly and helpful - our bags were carried for us, any queries were dealt with and we were allowed to check out late at no additional cost. Fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hello Tom H,
Thank you for the excellent Tripadvisor Review
Of all the positive points you mentioned, needless to say the most rewarding to hear is the appraisal of the staff you encountered. Customer service is always the most important part of staying in a hotel and I'm happy to hear you found us first class in this department. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future Kind Regards, Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night. Room was spotless, location was great steps away rom train station, shops and pubs. The hotel room has everything you need iron, hairdryer and mini bar. Will definately be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RUTHIE915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi Ruthie915,
A review like this is exactly what we are aiming for! Thank you for the glowing recommendation and I hope we see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed here February 2014 for five days through work. After an efficient and welcoming check-in, to be honest first impressions of the room weren't that great. Although the rooms have been refurbished relatively recently they're already looking a little tired with a number of small chips in the dark wood fittings and scratches around the sink. Perfect clean and servicable, probably just the wrong choice of materials for longevity. The other thing that was immediately disconcerting was the lack of hanging space - there was room for three shirts and a couple of suits and that's it. OK for a single person for a night or two but couples and long-stay guests will doubtless be partially lving out of their suitcases. The (standard) room was a decent size with a slightly unusual pillar unit in the centre housing the tv and drinks making facilities; although at first it seemed to get in the way it did have a significant practical advantage in that you could watch tv easily from the bed. Decent choice of channels (freeview plus Sky Sports) although the remote control wasn't the easiest to master. Here's a suggestion for the hotel - move the suitcase stand to the dead area behind the pillar and extend the wardrobe/hanging space out and you'll kill two birds with one stone. You can send me my £250k consultancy fee later...

The other thing that will probably divide guests is the bed. Both the mattress and the pillows were on the hard side of firm; it suited me absolutely fine but those who like a bit more give might not be so appreciative.

After that it's pretty well all positives. The well-designed bathroom was a pleasure to use with a proper walk-in shower, great toiletries and big absorbant towels. Another highlight was the breakfast which for a hotel buffet was about as good as it gets in the UK. A wide choice of hot and cold items, overall very good quality and quick and attentive staff. For a change the coffee, fruit juices and bread were all first rate. If you get fed up with the buffet you can get a limited number of dishes cooked to order; the smoked haddock is highly recommended.

Service from the staff throughout was very helpful and polite and couldn't be faulted. The hotel's also very well situated too with an easy walk to the central railway, subway, shops and restaurants.

Overall it's mostly a five star experience but the one big caveat is...noise. Not from the other rooms (absolute silence there) but from the ouside of the building. I was up on the fifth floor overlooking the back and there was a constant drone, both day and night, from what I believe to be the air-conditioning units for the hotel. Even with the window closed it was still there in the background.With the tv on it was barely noticeable but it was certainly an issue when I woke up during the night and more than once I had to resort to my trusty wax earplugs to get back to sleep. I've noticed that some other reviewers have commented on ths too whereas for others it wasn't mentioned so I suppose it depends on how sensitive you are to noise and where your room is. It certainly wouldn't stop me from recommending the hotel (particularly at the generous sub-£100 a night which I got it for) and I'd happily return but I'd want to make sure I had a room in a different part of the hotel next time

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jdian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi Jdian,
Thanks for the honest appraisal of your stay with us at the Radisson Blu Hotel Glasgow. We do offer 3 different styles of standard room at the hotel so next time you’re in maybe we can offer you something more to your liking and have more wardrobe space than the room style you were in.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,066 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#43 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Address: 301 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trendy and sophisticated, Radisson Blu Glasgow is located in the heart of the culture-rich city. Shopping and popular attractions such as Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Riverside Museum and the SSE Hydro are all nearby. Each of the 238 elegant bedrooms and suites come with bathrobe and slippers, top-end toiletries and a mini bar. Enjoy the delectable and creative fare of Collage Restaurant offering a unique twist on the British Brassiere, then stop by the two on-site bars for perfectly poured cocktails, wine and beer. When you're not out exploring rejuvenate in the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. The exceptional meeting facilities are some of the best in the city, boasting 15 meeting rooms hosting up to 800 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Radisson Glasgow
Glasgow Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing