We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False description of 5* hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Ranked #31 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“False description of 5* hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I thought I would try the 'secret hotel' option, as the reviews sounded great from other customers. So I went ahead and booked what was advertised to be a 5* hotel, rooms with city views etc, parking, generally boosting that the hotel was amazing - you see why i thought great just book it!

On arrival i would have expected someone on the door to meet and greet and take our luggage. Before checking in we had to park the car, note to future customers this is not on site, it is a NCP. This is not included in the price despite both companies saying it was, the hotel provides a 25% discount.

We checked in and in excited spirits we went up to our room.

The room was very small (premier inns have bigger rooms).

The bed was extremely hard.

The room and furnishings smelt of cigarette smoke.

The side draw fell apart on using it.

The TV cabinet door was barely attached to the cabinet.

The shower fitting was not fitted properly.

The city view was a joke.

I'm sure from this you see why my husband and I were extremely disappointed with this booking/hotel. I understand we got a great discount, this doesn't mean that its acceptable to just give us a sub standard room. A 5* hotel so not put guests in badly decorated, finished, tatty 3* rooms!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,275
    933
    316
    116
    52
See reviews for
289
1,081
132
650
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful time in Radisson Blu, the staff were very friendly, hotel is great and food is lovely, rooms werebvery comfortable and very bright with the large windows, hotel is right in the centre of everything, don't need taxi's for anything apart from we went to the Hydro to see Michael Bible :-) we will certainly return here again x

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LoobyLoo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello LoobyLoo34,
Thanks for the excellent trip advisor review.
I'm glad to hear that we could contribute towards an excellent stay in Glasgow and I hope to see you again soon!
Kindest Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I normally stay at this hotel when i am heading on holiday so really just use it as a place to rest my head. On this occasion i was down treating my mum to a weekend in Glasgow with Michel Buble!
Firstly, if anyone has anything on at the Hydro/SECC the hotel is perfect as it is about 2 seconds from Central Station where you catch the train from Platform 17 to Exhibition Way and are there in 3 minutes! Fabulous!
Prior to arriving at the hotel i had contacted them to arrange a booking for Afternoon Tea. Dale was extremely prompt to get back to me and back the process stress free. Upon check in he advised me of where the afternoon tea was taking place and also advised the staff that we had arrived earlier than expected so they got our table set up for us.
The room was modern, and bright. The only criticism i have is that the TV remote could do with new batteries and there was a wee bit of dust on the floor near the curtains but it didn't put a negative spin on my stay at all.
The only food we ate at the hotel was the afternoon tea and it was to die for!!! There was so much food that we didn't eat anything else the rest of that day! Fabulous!
Overall i 100% recommend the Radisson for any stay in Glasgow. It's the perfect location from everything and the service is always outstanding!
Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: I've always had a room facing away from the main street and never had any problems with noise at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurenza88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi Laurenza88,
Thank you for the excellent Tripadvisor review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed staying with us for the Michael Buble concert and that afternoon tea was a highlight! I will pass on your kind words to Dale
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed one night at this quality hotel on a B&B basis. On checking in we were a bit early and room was not ready. The receptionist was extremely nice and he had a look to see if another room was ready and promptly changed rooms for us. The room itself was lovely with tea and coffee facilities and mini bar. Robes and slippers also provided. We had booked this room on a discounted offer from Itison for £89. Fantastic value. The breakfast was exceptional and staff very courteous.
The only reason I did not give this hotel 5* was that are room was close to lift and we heard it going part of the night.
As I said all staff were excellent though I wish the security man at the front door would speak to guests and maybe smile occasionally, but I am sure he would think speaking and smiling would not be matcho enough for a big security guard. Mr manager get him to be a bit more people friendly.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello Bobdavie,
Thank you for the great Tripadvisor review.
I am delighted to read that breakfast was a highlight during your stay
We hope to welcome you back to the Radisson Blu Glasgow in the future
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Chose the mystery hotel from late rooms.com and to say I was impressed was an understatement. Close to all amenities and a great choice of pubs,clubs and restaurants close by. The hotel itself is decorated to a high standard and the staff were all very eager to please. Having the use of the gym and the pool was an added advantage. Distinct lack of children running about which is not a crtiticism. Would I return again in a heartbeat

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnstevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Hi Dawn,
Thank you for the fantastic review! Of all the positive points you mentioned, needless to say the most rewarding to hear is the appraisal of the staff you encountered. Customer service is always the most important part of staying in a hotel and I'm happy to hear you found us first class in this department.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Radisson Blu Glasgow on 28th February. We had Dinner Bed/Breakfast.
The food and service were excellent. Bedroom spacious and very comfortable.
Staff in the hotel were charming and very friendly and Staff training are to be congratulated.

Location of the hotel is perfect for shops bars etc. I would have no hesitation in staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stirling8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Hi stirling8,
Thanks for the excellent trip advisor review.
I'm glad to hear that we could contribute towards an excellent stay in Glasgow and you enjoyed dining with us
We hope to see you again soon!
Kindest Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Ideal location for visiting the shops and night life of Glasgow. Quiet rooms despite city centre location. Quite modern and stylish. Breakfast good and overal a decent quality place. It won't make you go "wow" but you won't go far wrong here either.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back. Quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Hello PKLH,
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us, we are very grateful for all the feedback we receive and appreciate the time you have taken to recognise our hotel. We hope that we can welcome you back to The Radisson Blu Glasgow, in the future.
Kind Regards, Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Address: 301 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trendy and sophisticated, Radisson Blu Glasgow is located in the heart of the culture-rich city. Shopping and popular attractions such as Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Riverside Museum and the SSE Hydro are all nearby. Each of the 238 elegant bedrooms and suites come with bathrobe and slippers, top-end toiletries and a mini bar. Enjoy the delectable and creative fare of Collage Restaurant offering a unique twist on the British Brassiere, then stop by the two on-site bars for perfectly poured cocktails, wine and beer. When you're not out exploring rejuvenate in the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. The exceptional meeting facilities are some of the best in the city, boasting 15 meeting rooms hosting up to 800 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Southall Travel and Prestigia so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Radisson Glasgow
Glasgow Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing