We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Ranked #33 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
EDINBURGH
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed 17 November 2008

We ordered room service on the first night. It cost 48.80 and we had three courses with the starter and cheesboard being shared it was no better than pub grub the 8.00 + cheesboard had 4 oatcakes and 3 small slices of cheese. The chips were not cooked properly and I am sure that all the chefs had gone home although it was just 9 oclock. Why did we not complain because we were tired and did not want to get off to the wrong start as we had just booked in and were staying another night. Next morning the breakfast was wonderful and we were very impressed with the staff service so decided not to complain about the previous night.
We had one set of drinks on the Saturday night but it was taking almost 20 minutes to be served a whiskey and coffee so went to bed early without having more.
On the Sunday morning we were put into a different restaurant for breakfast which was in no way the same as the one offered the previous day. Excuses were that there were a lot of children in the one that we had been in before and we would maybe prefer piece and quiet. Almost half the items were missing that we had the day before and we had to walk into the other restaurant in order to obtain a piece of black pudding. The waitress put everybody as far away as possible from there in order to save money for the hotel as when we entered the restaurant with more items it was empty. Why not put the children that were not paying the same rate as us in the restaurant of lesser quality!!!
My final complaint is that the mini bars cans of diet coke are 2.80 each. We all understand these cost a bit extra but come on!!!
I have never written a review before but we spent 350.00 for two nights at this hotel and I feel like telling everyone about our disappointing experience.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BSHJILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,352
    1,005
    345
    121
    60
See reviews for
323
1,166
138
684
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2008

Very good hotel in a pretty good location, close to Glasgow's most interesting shopping streets and the main railway station. We came by car, but a good, reasonably safe parking facility is just down the road. The hotel operates a valet service which means you basically pay someone to park at the very same facility.

The hotel itself is great, friendly and helpful staff, nice, clean, modern rooms - a bit on the small side, but not claustrophobic. The full cooked breakfast is pretty good - maybe not Scotland's best, but a good choice of tasty food, and the staff manages to work wonders with what is essentialy a much too small restaurant space.

Our only real beef with this hotel is the ridiculous wall that separates the bathroom from the sleeping area. Which is made partly of glass bricks. Albeit it looks stunning, but it means that if your partner goes to the bathroom at night, and they don't want to do their business in complete darkness, the entire room is flooded with the lights from the bathroom. How stupid isn't that? Also, the railings in the elevator came loose. Of course, that did add to the excitement a bit, as it's all glass and very speedy. We will definitely return.

  • Liked — Good location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Stupid glass bricks
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pastryslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2008

We stayed at the hotel for one night,the main reception area was a great clean open space,the staff were very friendly and efficient,we stayed on the 5th floor in a city room over looking central station,which was great,the room was superb,spacious,clean with all mod cons,the air conditioning was good as it was a cold night outside but we werent! Cant wait to go back and would recommend it to anyone for value for money at top quality.

  • Liked — spacous,clean,warm,good mod cons.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gazza90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Stayed one night on 1st Nov 08. Check in very efficient. Room spotless. Would reccommend good value for money. Every member of staff we came into contact with very proffessional, friendly and effecient. Central.

  • Liked — Valet parking and central
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank niki1l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

We stayed at the Radisson for the first two nights of our extended tour of Scotland and it set the bar high. Extremely friendly staff who, front of house at least, were mostly Scottish. The room was lovely, although my husband felt that the TV unit in the middle of the room took up too much space and we had to crane our necks to see the tv. The bathroom was very swish and everything was lovely and clean. Location wise, this hotel could not be better and it provided an excellent base for touring Glasgow. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Usually stay at the top end of the town when visiting Glasgow, but tried the Radisson for the first time on Argyle Street.
Great location for shops/bars/restaurants and Central Station.

Hotel staff friendly and helpful, rooms spacious, clean and well equipped. Excellent Breakfast and all round good value for Money.

Couldn't ask for anything more really, would definitely use the Radisson again.

  • Liked — Location standard/comfort of rooms
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedRob66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2008

After reading some of the very average reviews of this stunning hotel, I felt compelled to share my own exemplory experiences of the Radisson SAS Glasgow. As a regular visitor, I can safely say that the Radisson SAS is easily one of the best hotels in the city. The rooms are modern and amazingly well insulated, the gym is superb, discounted parking is available adjacent to the hotel, the location is about as central as is possible and the Central Railway Station is just across the road. A definate must for any visitor to the City!.

  • Liked — Excellent Service, Style and Glamour!
  • Disliked — The rooms are looking a little tired these days - but this is only a very monior niggle!!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glamourpuss-Tourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
3,897 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,289 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,663 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Address: 301 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trendy and sophisticated, Radisson Blu Glasgow is located in the heart of the culture-rich city. Shopping and popular attractions such as Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Riverside Museum and the SSE Hydro are all nearby. Each of the 238 elegant bedrooms and suites come with bathrobe and slippers, top-end toiletries and a mini bar. Enjoy the delectable and creative fare of Collage Restaurant offering a unique twist on the British Brassiere, then stop by the two on-site bars for perfectly poured cocktails, wine and beer. When you're not out exploring rejuvenate in the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. The exceptional meeting facilities are some of the best in the city, boasting 15 meeting rooms hosting up to 800 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Radisson Glasgow
Glasgow Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing