We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbearable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Ranked #32 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed at the Radisson Blu for 2 nights from 13th-15th August. We had requested a double room as opposed to a twin room. Being a 5 star hotel, we had no doubts that we were going to have a lovely stay. Unfortunately, this was not the case. The bed was unbearably uncomfortable - they had pushed two single beds together and put a double sheet on top (no mattress topper underneath). The mattress was really hard and as the beds were pushed together, the tufted ends of the bed were right down the middle of my husband and I which was really painful to lie on - if you wanted to lie on the middle of the bed. The mattress was that hard that my whole body had swollen up by the time we left (especially my knees). The room was also far too hot, we had to continuously have the air conditioning on which gave us a sore throat by the end of the trip. We also noticed when walking past some rooms that were being cleaned - they also had twin beds pushed together. So must be standard practice throughout the hotel!

The staff were pleasant but we found it very difficult to pay for our drinks/snacks etc at the bars. They are supposed to give you a slip to sign each time you order something which would be charged to the credit card you checked in with. On the first occasion, the barman left the slip on our table to sign but with no pen (had to stand in the bar cue to get a pen), on the second and third occasion we weren't given a slip at all to sign so we had to stand in the cue on both occasions to request one (we could have quite as easily walked away without paying, without question).

As for the breakfast - it was nice but not worth the money they are asking. It is quite a small buffet - not much choice in comparison to other hotels I have stayed in (at a lower star). Had to wait 10 minutes on our first morning before being asked if we wanted tea/coffee or toast - second morning was better service.

I don't normally complain if I have had a bad experience on any trip I have had but as this was so bad with virtually 48 hours of no sleep - for a 5 star hotel, it is an absolute joke.

On the plus side, the location of the hotel is excellent but that is the only plus. We would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie270582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hi Debbie,
Thanks for the Tripadvisor review.
I can see we never managed to get it right on your last visit. Excellent customer service is something we strive to achieve here at the Radisson and I'm sorry we never got it right for you this time around.
Please contact me directly if there are any points you would like to discuss further.
Kindest Regards,
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,434 - 1,440 of 2,948 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

I was here for 2 nights to celebrate my birthday with my husband. We were able to check in early which was great for us and get on with our day. Room was spotless overlooking central station bridge not noisy at all. Staff all lovely and friendly. Breakfast is a buffet which had everything you could possibly want. Will definitely be going back to stay we enjoyed it so much.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank luvubecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hello luvubecks,
Thanks for the excellent trip advisor review.
I'm glad to hear that we could contribute towards an excellent birthday trip in Glasgow and I hope to see you again soon!
Kindest Regards,
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Booked the hotel for one night on a business trip. Had noticed the hotel on previous visits and was intrigued by the look of the hotel. I wasn't disappointed. My room was a suite and excellent value for the rate I paid and room service was very good. However, the least said about the stains on one of the chairs in room 241 though, the better....

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank hammeredwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello Hammeredwire,
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us, we are very grateful for all the feedback we receive and appreciate the time you have taken to recognise our hotel. We hope that we can welcome you back to The Radisson Blu Glasgow, in the future. Kind Regards, Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here last weekend as a group of 6.
The main course on the first night was horrible... 5 of us had the beef dish which was nothing only fat and not fit to be ate. The starter wasn't nice, very minimal and not pleasant. The dessert was lovely. We did say when they were lifting our dinner plates that the beef was too fatty but nothing was done about it. We couldn't complain at the beginning of the meal as we were in a hurry to get to a show which the staff were aware of. We thought maybe we would be invited back the following night to have a replacement meal, but this didn't happen. The following night we ate elsewhere. for a 4 star hotel, this shouldn't happen and should be better dealt with.
The breakfast was excellent, though the staff never asked us throughout the breakfast if everything was ok, or if we wanted more tea and coffee.
Reception staff very nice and helpful.
Rooms were clean and tidy
Hotel very central

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dawniou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hello Dawniou,
Thanks for the honest appraisal of your stay with us at the Radisson Blu Hotel Glasgow.
It sounds like we could have provided a higher level of service during your meal in Collage Restaurant. All comments have been passed on to the restaurant and the kitchen to ensure the issue is rectified. It is great that you enjoyed breakfast and that all of the staff were nice and helpful. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon Kind Regards, Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

love this place..... staff are amazing, honesty the best hotel on the UK and it's because of the staff. great service and great hotel, also a perfect location of experiencing glasgow, it's an amazing city

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi Andrew D,
A review like this is exactly what we are aiming for! Thank you for the glowing recommendation and I hope we see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked out 5 rooms for a surprise Birthday Party. All of our group thoroughly enjoyed their one night stay at this centrally located 5 star hotel. Breakfast was particularly enjoyable & available until 11.00am with no fuss attached. check out not until 12.00 on Sunday so all very relaxing.Only disappointment was that the Leisure Facilities were unavailable after 4.00pm during the weekend. Although these facilities are operated outwith the hotel we would have expected a 5 star hotel to ensure longer opening hours. Car Parking is not available free of charge, although city parking is available within a 5 minutes walk although it is rather dingy & not in keeping with the hotel standards so Valet Parking provided by the hotel is advisable.

Room Tip: Higher buildings surround this hotel so the higher the floor the more chance of a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aaromacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello aaromacc,
Thank you for your recent Tripadvisor review it is great to read that you enjoyed staying with friends for a birthday celebration. Unfortunately the lesuire club is run by Fitness Direct formerly LA Fitness and they have their own opening times due to demand periods. It is something at the hotel we have been trying to change however at the moment it is outwith our control. It is great to read that you enjoyed breakfast we also offer no tray charge for any room service if people wish to stay in bed longer at the weekends. We hope to welcome you back again to the Radisson Blu Glasgow Kind Regards, Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed here for 1 night with my family of 5. We had an inter-connecting room which was modern, clean and spacious.

We had views of the station but the room was quiet.

There is not much area to pull out the front and unload your car. The porters were quite slow to come over and give us a hand.

The hotel was close to the main shopping street other various eateries. My husband said walking around the area at night was pretty shady and he didn't feel comfortable taking our children out walking.

It was fine for an overnight stop. I feel that this might be the only good option in Glasgow though. I would probably stay here again, as the hotel was spotlessly clean and the service was very good too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samanthajmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello Samanthajmck,
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us, we are very grateful for all the feedback we receive and appreciate the time you have taken to recognise our hotel. We hope that we can welcome you back to The Radisson Blu Glasgow, in the future.
Kind Regards, Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
3,988 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,370 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
829 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Address: 301 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £84 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trendy and sophisticated, Radisson Blu Glasgow is located in the heart of the culture-rich city. Shopping and popular attractions such as Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Riverside Museum and the SSE Hydro are all nearby. Each of the 238 elegant bedrooms and suites come with bathrobe and slippers, top-end toiletries and a mini bar. Enjoy the delectable and creative fare of Collage Restaurant offering a unique twist on the British Brassiere, then stop by the two on-site bars for perfectly poured cocktails, wine and beer. When you're not out exploring rejuvenate in the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. The exceptional meeting facilities are some of the best in the city, boasting 15 meeting rooms hosting up to 800 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Radisson Glasgow
Glasgow Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing